We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night of travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Kona Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% OFF plus Room UPGRADE
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Newstle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Last night of travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Booked the hotel and went into the cleanest, almost the most friendly place I've been in my recent 3 months of traveling. The front desk and security people are absolutely amazing. We lost our car keys and the hotel security officer went above and beyond helping us find them. The only down side is that they close the pool to early at night, 8 pm and open it up too late in the morning, 10 am. We like to swim in the late evenings in the pools and early in the morning. Aside from that - go and stay here it is really a nice place to visit!

Room Tip: The air conditioners are wall mounted so they are a bit noisy, but I am use to that type of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    351
    180
    48
    41
See reviews for
143
329
75
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Pretty basic hotel but quite nice
Location is great
We had a room with a balcony and could see entertainment from hotels close by, we could also get ocean views
Parking was ok, small cost compared to others
Room was clean
Reception was nice
Also has laundry facilities
Great coffee shops just a minute or 2 away
Kona Brewing Company across the road
Everything within walking distance
Value for money
Would highly recommend

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

To noisy to sleep. There is a lot of street noise, cars, trucks, motorcycles just outside the window. I wish I could post a sound clip so you could hear how bad the noise is here. The refriderator buzzed all night as well. We were using it. The ac system was loud, but not loud enough to soften the other noise. It was Terrible. The pool closes at 7:30 pm. That is just unfortunate and bad business for families traving with children. The room seemed clean and had wi fi. It is located walking distance from shops and resturants. A bad experience given I wanted to sleep. The street light outside comes in through the thin curtain. It was just an awful room. The front desk staff is courtious.... The pillows are thin and hard.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place is really good for the price.The location is great and you can just step out into the "downtown" area. I loved it that there are really nice places to eat, shop, rest, hang out all just outside the hotel. There is a very nice beach area just outside, it might be a part of the hotel across the street but it is open to public. The parking is paid and there are no water fountains in the common area but we were okay with that. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff was very courteous and helpful! Very clean rooms, and good location comfortably just outside the main downtown strip so you still get a quiet sleep. The parking spaces are quite narrow, but otherwise, no complaints - parking was only $5 per night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

1) Parking is awful, but manageable. The spaces seem to be a foot narrower than every other place. The $5 parking fee is too low in my opinion. If I was guaranteed a normal spot, I'd pay $10 per night.

2) Perfect location. My favorite restaurant, the Kona Brewery, is kiddie corner to the hotel, and so are many other restaurants. It's nice to be able to walk around the area from this location.

3) The value can't be matched. Even though my room had ants, the price was great for the value I received. Just remember that you're paying for the cheapest hotel on the island, but you're getting a very reasonable deal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very Cheap, and great location. definitely book this hotel if you don't want to spend a lot on a hotel so you can spend that money for restaurants and lots more in kona. I stayed in the standard room on the second floor garden wing. Has cold A/C. Also good to book if you aren't spending a lot of time in the hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.