We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular area, right near all the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kona Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Popular area, right near all the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I only stayed here 1 night but will certainly consider coming back. This is a quaint little hotel, it's a little dated but serves it's purpose. It's within walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. If you don't drive this is the place for you.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The only negative things I can say about this place is the pool is small but you have the big huge ocean nearby and the parking spots are very tight and there aren't very many.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    285
    155
    43
    37
See reviews for
117
258
58
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tawatinaw, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Kona Seaside for ten days. The location is fabulous... just steps from the pier and the beach, we could see the ocean from our room.

Located at the end of Alii Drive, we were a few minutes walk from dozens of quality restaurants and shops.

The rooms are dated, and need some TLC but the housekeeping staff did a great job keeping things clean and tidy.

Free lobby internet and computer access was nice and room access was available for a fee.

My only complaint was that the front desk staff did not seem to be very knowledgeable about the area, the island, or any of the excursions. On the upside they directed is to the concierge at the King Kam across the road and Dana, the concierge there was fantastic.

I would absolutely stay at the Kona Seaside again and would recommend it to anyone who is willing to sacrifice frills and decor for location and price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we stayed here three nights. we booked two double rooms with breakfast, so when we checked in one of the girls from the "friendly" staff didn't want to give us the breakfast..so we had to discuss about that fact. At the end you have three choices for breakfast in the restaurant next door: 1. just fruit with yogurth 2. macadamia/banana pancake 3. toast, bacon, sausages... its huge and tasty, coffee and water is for free.

rooms are okay, a little bit old and its very loud if you get a room to the street side.
bathroom is fine, towels are very small...furniture need a replacement.
free (slow) wifi is only available in the lobby, for the rooms is 9 dollar and car parking is 5 dollar (if you ask about the car parking - if not..you don't have to pay anything ;-) )

its okay for a short stay.

PS: I hope the constructions site opposite the hotel won't be here at your stay;-)

Room Tip: not on the street side...then it would be kona street-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel gives you what you pay for on the Big Island. We asked for 1st floor, and got 3rd floor. Stayed for 8 nights, and had a view of the street, not the garden. As expensive as things are on this island, I guess it was ok for the decent price. The lobby was the most comfortable place to sit, not the room. Don't pay for parking unless you are there over the weekend. The free lot nearby was easy to get to, and only got full on Saturday. Will probably look at other options next time, but the location is convenient...so it will still be an option. It was nice to have a laundry room, but apparently the staff bring their laundry in the morning, so plan to wash at night if that is a service you are going to opt for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We thought this place was terrible. Out dated. Front staff not friendly.
Yes, it is by the ocean and walking distance to great bars and restaurants.
It was part of a great Expedia hotel, airfare, rental car deal. No we see why.
A/C outdated. Wi-if only in lobby, or $8.95 a day in your room, plus parking $5.00 a day.
Our deal said "breakfast every morning " as well and there is none. In fact, no restaurant at the hotel at all. Towels in the room were small, thin, rough. And the bed sheets felt like paper towels.
Hotel has obviously renovated or given any tlc in a long time...!!

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the street! Heavy traffic and construction noise. A bank is going up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here January 14 through 19th 2013. Room2020 was clean; airconditioner rather outdated but we didn't need it so that wasn't an issue. Fabulous view of ocean. Coffee maker; small fridge - all adequate. Friendly, helpful personnel. Parking $5.00 a day but there is a free parking area near the hotel so I gather. Our package included breakfast at Splashers and the food was fabulous - enough so that we didn't need lunch. We also ate dinner at Splashers twice and we experienced excellent food and customer service. Prices were reasonable, too. If you want resort-type hotels - go north of the airport; if you want a good deal for your money, consider this hotel - you won't be disappointed. Do ask for a room that faces AWAY from the pool - facing the ocean/bay - otherwise you won't enjoy your balcony time. All rooms are non-smoking, although we DID see some of our neighbors out on their balcony smoking......:(

Room Tip: As stated, we stayed in Room 2020; I believe that if you stay on a higher floor the view may be even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for over a week here during Xmas and we loved this place. The room we had (3rd floor) had a lovely and private balcony facing the garden and giving you views of the town and the ocean, we spent quite some time sitting here. The room itself (we were apparently in a renovated room) is well designed, with good bedding (I liked the ceiling-floor windows!). The only thing I was missing was a room safe, but there are some available free of charge at the reception where we could keep our things during the whole stay. Staff could be friendlier, but they are helpful nevertheless. There is plenty of shopping nearby, and the place is quiet (we kept our balcony door open all night - however, there seems to be some construction going on in the streets nearby on work days and the A/C is a bit loud too). Tips: 1) Parking at the hotel is paid, but if you choose to park at a public lot nearby, it is free and we ALWAYS found a free place there. 2) Breakfast is served at a restaurant nearby which tends to be full in peak times and you may wait to be seated. However, if you are OK with sitting at the bar, let them know and you are seated and served rightaway, no need to wait. 3) Try to get a corner room to minimize the risk of loud neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.