We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Kona Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF plus Room UPGRADE
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First time to the Big Island and lucked out by picking a good place to crash! If your young and smart, you don't spend much time in the hotel anyway, so Kona Seaside looks great while I'm sleeping! During the day its fine too, and the free breakfast at the very nice little restaurant was an awesome way to start the day! Proximity to other restaurants, shopping, and sites make this a great value. The staff was professional and helpful, but I didn't run into many problems with the room, or pool, or laundry facility.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast either very early, or a little later in the morning. Rush hour can take awhile. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    352
    182
    48
    41
See reviews for
144
330
75
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Kona can be expensive, with Car rentals, dinners and so on. This place is clean, comfortable, close to most of it, a great starting point. If you plan to camp then this is the first and last place to call home for sure. The big Island is large enough to stay in two or three places so you can spend less time driving. Why drive 4 hours in a day? Way to much to see to waste your time.
One review here said old old old, needs a reno. I disagree, the reviewer needs a different hotel.
This place has charm and great staff who I can feel have worked their way up to manager etc. They care about guests and try hard to accommodate. Here you don't need a car. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The elevators are a tiny bit slow so perhaps the 2nd or third floor ( but your in Hawaii, SLOW down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel room was very clean and smoke-free. Location was quiet and convenient to all the restaurants and shops. It was very roomy. The restaurant for the breakfast (Splashers) was a difficult walk for my mom who was using her walker. There were so many stairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are basic, but clean. We were camping for most of our time on the big island, so even a basic hotel seemed luxurious! I like that the room had a balcony, overlooking the pool, and it is located just steps from shops, bars and restaurants. I think it is fine if you are staying for a couple of nights and don't need anything fancy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

we stayed for one night. i choose that hotel because of the reviews I read online, location and the price. since its family owned, basically everything is very, very old and needs urgently a renovation.

everything was clean though, staff very friendly.

the room had a ceiling fan, and a very small AC on the window. below the AC their was a window that we couldnt close the curtain completely , because it would block the AC, so the sun entered the room very early.

they charge for parking ($5 per day), is not that expensive.

basically you get what you pay..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is my second stay at Kona Seaside. The hotel continues to live up to my expectations of great value and location with just a couple issues this time. The back gate was locked, requiring access from the front only - the back access on Ali'i was really convenient. The second day I was there, was displaced for a party from the upper pool, which has the best sun. Boo. Was a little disappointed because the pool is one of the reasons I choose this hotel. Last disappointment was the in room internet - which I paid for was very unreliable. The hotel likely contracts these services and should look in to improving these. The hotel is incredibly clean (even that dated blue carpet), has awesome staff and overall this is a really great place to stay for the value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room a month ago, and we specified 2nd or 3rd floor rooms preferred. I called a week before our arrival, and they said they received our request, i assumed that means we'll be staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor. When we got there, we found out we need to pay parking or we have to park far. And they gave us the poolside room which means we were booked at the ground floor, looks more like a basement to me. When we said we specified a different room online, they said they're fully booked and cant do anything about it.
At least the room was clean, the blue and green shaggy carpet feels clean, bathroom is tiny but its fine. When you open the AC you wont hear the outside noise.
The location was great, everything was close by.
Overall i say the experience and the stay was okay, but i dont think we'll come back next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.