We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and practical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Kona Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Wi-FI, NO RESORT FEE
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and practical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel for four nights in August, the location cannot be better for the price. Situated right near Kona Pier and a short walk from all the bars, restaurants and shops. My toilet cistern was leaking and it was repaired immediately. Tante's restaurant was great for breakfast looking out on to the water. The only matter of note were the pool towels, they were rather tiny!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    306
    165
    46
    37
See reviews for
129
286
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The three of us enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was located just off Ali'Drive, easy to walk everywhere. Our rate included a breakfast at Tante's Restaurant overlooking the ocean which was a five minute walk from the hotel. We found parking at the public lot and avoided the $5 parking fee at the hotel lot.

The rooms were clean, and we didn't need the air conditioning as we could open the windows and run the fans. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, efficient. Location is great. It's right along the beach bit which is funky and there are paddleboards ect. The small 25 passenger boats leave from this dock. The rooms were clean and adequate. We kept the air on off because it was a window unit (I always find them so noisy). The ceiling fan was just fine. Expedia s rate was $98 for both of us with the breakfast that makes it really a deal for a hotel. I was going to book hostel but very happy with this. I loved "Tantes" restaurant open air with a fun view to watch things go by.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I wasn't able to stay there last week after my flight from LAX was canceled. The hotel quickly refuned my cost for the night and they were a pleasure to work with which was appreciated. I drove past the hotel numerous times during my trip. It looks GREAT! I'm eager to go back and check it out. the price and location are ideal and the staff couldn't be more freindly and professional to deal with. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I couldn't believe the room was only $100. The ocean and Aliʻi Drive are right around the corner, so lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance. A/C in the room, pool, who could ask for more? Parking is $5 a day, but that was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived a few hours earlier than check-in time and were checked in right away with a warm welcome and genuine smiles. The ladies at the front desk were so friendly and helpful. They offered lots of suggestions on local eats, fun spots, called for taxis, gave computer assistance and even helped me pronounce the 'Hawaiian Word of the Day'. Our room, which overlooked the garden area was quiet and spotlessly cleaned daily. We enjoyed both of the pool areas - also spotless. There's also two convenient walkways leading right to the pier, shops and restaurants along Palani Road. We stayed for a week and totally loved it! Great value and wonderful service! We are definitely returning to Kona Seaside!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for several days..and was impressed with how clean the rooms are! The upkeep of the room by the staff is fantastic! They don't reuse the bedspreads...they clean everything including the mattress topper!! Luv it! They also clean the shower curtains...who does that? I am so happy that Kona Seaside takes pride in Cleanliness! It's true Cleanliness is next to GODLINESS! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.