We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Kona!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kona Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Kona Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 OFF&FREE ROOM UPGRADE
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Iowa, United States
1 review
“Best place in Kona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The staff here is very polite and was very helpful. We had to check out by noon but were going to a Luau that night. They let us use the hospitality suite to get ready for the Luau and keep our van parked there even though we had already checked out. Definitely worth the money. Within walking distance to the beach and shops. Check it out!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    295
    161
    45
    37
See reviews for
125
276
61
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The Kona Seaside was a wonderful place to stay. The room was adequate, nicely furnished, with a balcony where you could sit and enjoy the soft Pacific breeezes. There was a refrigerator but no microwave. The owners recognize that in this day of excessive electronic gadgets that need constant recharging, electrical outlets are important. There were two power strips in the room that were very accessible - no need to go searching behind beds or dressers and unplugging lamps or clocks.

When our room was not ready as promised at 3 pm, we were given vouchers for free breakfasts in the attached restaurant. And speaking of the restaurant (Tante's), I would recommend it highly. We ate there for several breakfasts and dinners and found the service friendly and the food delicious.

I only had a few complaints. The room was very bright at night due to the outside lighting on the buildings. There was free Internet in the lobby but I was unable to access it on my tablet (and tech support was no help at all.) in addition, we are early risers and then prefer to come back early afternoon to enjoy the room. We usually got back before the room was made up.

Brut all in all we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night as we were flying out early the next day, so chose it because it is close to the airport. It was cheap so we paid the few extra $ for the premium room. Glad we did because I would not like to stay in a lesser room. Rooms are basic but did seem clean, and had a nice view over the garden and ocean.

Parking is a real issue - its free but there isn't enough for everyone so get there early or be prepared to park on the street and walk (a bit of an issue either way with a rental car - the carparks at the hotel we soooo narrow we were concerned that someone would not be able to avoid hitting us with their door as they got out / in).

However the staff were quite friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast included was at a quaint little cafe on the ocean front. Food was nothing special but quite edible and filling, a good start for the day.

All up good value for the price, and the location, whilst certainly nothing compared to Waikaloa beach village, is decent especially as its within walking distance to the cafes and shops by the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Beach, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is not glamorous but a clean. well kept and pleasant place to stay in Hawaii. Even though not situtated on the beach, we had an ocean view from our room, without having to pay extra. Staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. The room included free breakfast-there are there menu choice items. It is close walking distance to the pier, shops and resturants. The room was good size and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay here again if I was to go back to the Kona.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

It was an older hotel but well kept. A lot cleaner then you would think from first glance. No free wifi in rooms $9 charge if you wanted it. Also if you don't check in early then you won't get a parking spot pass in the hotel parking. You will have to park down the street in a free lot.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsville, Ont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed the first night in Hawaii as our flight from Toronto was very late getting in and we were going to Volcano Village the next day. It is walking distance to shopping and the beach. We paid less than $100.00 for the night. We would stay there again. My only complaint was we did not know breakfast was included until after we left as we were not told.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Want to be where the action is? Or coming to get some advanced training for the Ironman World Championship? And not really looking for a resort? Then this is your place to stay.

When you arrive don't be disappointed by the "normal" look of the towering hotel building in "downtown" Kailua. Soon you will discover that the hotel site extends to the bay and has several smaller motel style buildings, two swimming pools and small garden areas. The hotel's terrace overlooking the starting area for the swim event of the Ironman also serves as a vantage point to check on the tourist life on Ali'i Drive along the sea.

Breakfast is included in the room price: A minimal choice is offered at Tante's Restaurant, and is just right for you, if you don't want to get overweight. We think the symbiosis of the hotel with this restaurant is very positive. We also had dinner there: The food was tasty and inexpensive, and the service very friendly.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room on the fifth floor of the tower and definitely enjoyed the view on the Kailua Pier and the sea; the somewhat higher price was fully justified. Hotel parking was an extra five dollars per night.

Free WiFi works only in the lobby and could have been more reliable; from our experience in Hawaii it seems to be quite common that "free WiFi's" either are unreliable, under-dimensioned or forcing nasty, repetitive login procedures.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.