We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Great property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our 10-day vacation. We stayed at a couple of other resorts before we came here. We had rented a condo, and we were not too sure what to expect. We found our way here easily and were happy to see that it was a quiet neighborhood, and off the beaten path, but yet close to all of the town's amenities. The office staff were very sweet and the security guards were very respectful, telling us "welcome home" every time we returned.

Our condo was an ocean view, but we could also see the golf course. Our unit was on a 2nd floor (no elevators), and we were amazed by the size of the unit. For just the two of us, we had more room that we knew what to do with... it was a three bedroom, 2 bath condo with a large living room, dining room, galley kitchen, and gorgeous patio with a small kitchenette off of that, as well. The best part was that there was an in-unit washer and dryer, so we were able to wash everything and have clean clothes for the rest of our trip. Yay!

The condo was a bit dated, but well-maintained. Whenever we had a question, the front desk staff was very helpful. The best part of staying here was the beautiful view and just a chance to relax and unwind. It was a very different and positive experience from a typical hotel.

The negatives were minor... they upcharge you to have the key that turns on the air conditioner, and there is also an upcharge for maid service each day. We were given an assigned parking spot, which was great, but twice we couldn't park there.... the first time, the car in the neighboring spot took up both spaces (sheesh) and the second time, a local had parked in our spot when they came out to watch the sunset. However, the security guards were doing their best find the drivers and get them to move, so it was nice to see that something was being done.

If we come back to this area, I would assuredly stay here again. This was our first experience with the Outrigger properties, but I have a feeling we will look to see if they have locations on our future trips.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the property during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    198
    39
    27
    12
See reviews for
237
205
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

First visit to the big island. Must say though it is very nice, not my favourite island. Not a lot of long sandy beaches for swimming or strolling. Not really any swimming within walking distance of the resort. Still a beautiful spot, stayed in unit 2403 overlooking the ocean front pool. Great views from the lanai, sunsets and whales galore. Had a chance to see a few other units, all were different, some a little dated. This unit was very well done, granite and tiles throughout. Huge master bath, nice bedrooms and a loft as well. Could probably handle 6 people pretty easy. Our unit had everything you could ask for kitchen wise, except a teapot,(Second time I've run into this in Hawaii, was odd because there were all kinds of teas in he cupboard) The grounds are very well maintained, clean and secure. 3 pools, tennis and BBQs spread out over the area.
Pools were cleaned regularly and refreshing, not heated I don't think. One thing I feel they should change would be having the oceanfront pool be the adult pool. Little kids really don't care about the view when they are swimming whereas we would have enjoyed the view with a little less screaming in the mix. Since we rented from the owner directly through Aloha condos, we had very little interaction with any of the staff, they seemed friendly enough. Shopping centre about a 10 minute walk away for groceries and a couple of places to eat, but you really need a car to get anywhere decent. (Sam Choys was not good, see my review if interested) All in all it was a great holiday, glad we've seen the island, but probably won't be back. Would stay somewhere closer to a swimming beach if possible.

Room Tip: Not all ocean front rooms will get a sunset, some face the bay to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will make a return visit in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at the Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona. The staff are amazing and always so helpful and friendly. Everything about the resort is wonderful - we stayed in unit 2703 this year and the ocean front view is perfect. Every day we were able to watch whales from the Lanai This unit fit all our needs for 6 people and we were very comfortable. Our only concern is that the unit desperately needs painted and new carpet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have forwarded it to the owner. We use comments to assist us to better service our guests. We hope to see you again in a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our stay at this resort was perfect and amazing!!

Upon our arrival, although no one had been to the front desk, doorman gave us the keys with basic instructions. After coming to our condo we were surprised by this beauty. As the overall look and spectacular views from Lanai.

We would definitely like to return in the future!!!!

Room Tip: Condo 2301 is close to Ocean Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and may be returning again. We will look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Kanaloa at Kona Unit 2904. This one bedroom unit has a wonderful ocean front view. Sleeping at night is never a problem as the site is quiet, secure with someone always on the gate at night. Waking every morning to the sound of tropical birds can't be beat! The grounds are immaculately kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Nice to hear that you enjoyed the property, we hope you will be able to make a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and 6 members of my family stayed here in Aug 2012 and had the use of 2 units during our stay. The standard of both units were out of this world, extermely comfortable, every amenity you could wish for and masses of space to relax after a long day exploring. Both of our units overlooked the golf course, which was a very nice view.

We did use one of the pools while we were there and we found these to be of a very good standard.

This resort is in a great location and is only a short drive from great shopping and restaurant locations.

I really could not recommend this place more highly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will visit with us on a return trip???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed two years in unit 2002 and one year in 1901 and enjoyed both units. Unit 2002 is right on the water and we saw whales everyday as well as dolphins and great sunsets. This property has a great location in that you can walk to the beach, shopping, movies and restaurants yet you are really out of the way. It is very quiet and well kept. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and it has been a joy to stay there. The unit is bright, clean and well furnished. It is well stocked with beach equipment, kitchenware etc. all making our stay very easy and fun.

Room Tip: check out the pictures on the website. Some are designated ocean view and some ocean front. The oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanaloa at Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.