We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property away from the crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Summerland, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very nice property away from the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

First visit to the big island. Must say though it is very nice, not my favourite island. Not a lot of long sandy beaches for swimming or strolling. Not really any swimming within walking distance of the resort. Still a beautiful spot, stayed in unit 2403 overlooking the ocean front pool. Great views from the lanai, sunsets and whales galore. Had a chance to see a few other units, all were different, some a little dated. This unit was very well done, granite and tiles throughout. Huge master bath, nice bedrooms and a loft as well. Could probably handle 6 people pretty easy. Our unit had everything you could ask for kitchen wise, except a teapot,(Second time I've run into this in Hawaii, was odd because there were all kinds of teas in he cupboard) The grounds are very well maintained, clean and secure. 3 pools, tennis and BBQs spread out over the area.
Pools were cleaned regularly and refreshing, not heated I don't think. One thing I feel they should change would be having the oceanfront pool be the adult pool. Little kids really don't care about the view when they are swimming whereas we would have enjoyed the view with a little less screaming in the mix. Since we rented from the owner directly through Aloha condos, we had very little interaction with any of the staff, they seemed friendly enough. Shopping centre about a 10 minute walk away for groceries and a couple of places to eat, but you really need a car to get anywhere decent. (Sam Choys was not good, see my review if interested) All in all it was a great holiday, glad we've seen the island, but probably won't be back. Would stay somewhere closer to a swimming beach if possible.

Room Tip: Not all ocean front rooms will get a sunset, some face the bay to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will make a return visit in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    195
    37
    27
    12
See reviews for
233
201
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at the Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona. The staff are amazing and always so helpful and friendly. Everything about the resort is wonderful - we stayed in unit 2703 this year and the ocean front view is perfect. Every day we were able to watch whales from the Lanai This unit fit all our needs for 6 people and we were very comfortable. Our only concern is that the unit desperately needs painted and new carpet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have forwarded it to the owner. We use comments to assist us to better service our guests. We hope to see you again in a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our stay at this resort was perfect and amazing!!

Upon our arrival, although no one had been to the front desk, doorman gave us the keys with basic instructions. After coming to our condo we were surprised by this beauty. As the overall look and spectacular views from Lanai.

We would definitely like to return in the future!!!!

Room Tip: Condo 2301 is close to Ocean Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and may be returning again. We will look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Kanaloa at Kona Unit 2904. This one bedroom unit has a wonderful ocean front view. Sleeping at night is never a problem as the site is quiet, secure with someone always on the gate at night. Waking every morning to the sound of tropical birds can't be beat! The grounds are immaculately kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Nice to hear that you enjoyed the property, we hope you will be able to make a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and 6 members of my family stayed here in Aug 2012 and had the use of 2 units during our stay. The standard of both units were out of this world, extermely comfortable, every amenity you could wish for and masses of space to relax after a long day exploring. Both of our units overlooked the golf course, which was a very nice view.

We did use one of the pools while we were there and we found these to be of a very good standard.

This resort is in a great location and is only a short drive from great shopping and restaurant locations.

I really could not recommend this place more highly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will visit with us on a return trip???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed two years in unit 2002 and one year in 1901 and enjoyed both units. Unit 2002 is right on the water and we saw whales everyday as well as dolphins and great sunsets. This property has a great location in that you can walk to the beach, shopping, movies and restaurants yet you are really out of the way. It is very quiet and well kept. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and it has been a joy to stay there. The unit is bright, clean and well furnished. It is well stocked with beach equipment, kitchenware etc. all making our stay very easy and fun.

Room Tip: check out the pictures on the website. Some are designated ocean view and some ocean front. The oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kanaloa Condo 3702 in January of 2013. I would not recommend anybody stay at this condo in its current condition.
First the positives. The unit is a very large condo located on a rocky shoreline with a wonderful view of a small bay on the west side of the big island. The view from the lanai is wonderful. If all you expect is a great lanai to sit on and watch the waves, this is the condo for you. If you have a little higher expectation read on.
The negatives were cleanliness, maintenance and bugs. When we first took occupancy, the place was full of little ants and roaches. They were everywhere, on the kitchen and bath counters, in our beds, soon in our clothes and bags, everywhere. My wife just about moved out. I relayed this situation to the manager on Saturday who promised to have the place sprayed on Monday, well, we couldn’t wait that long. I had to spray 2 cans of Raid Ant Killer around the place to control the population of ants. Cleanliness was also poor. There was black mold all over the ceiling of the master bath shower, there were mystery stains behind the toilet and on the wall, it looked like a better cleaning service was needed. Lastly, there was a bunch of deferred maintenance on the place. The master tub was broken, with a sign on it saying don’t use, repairs in progress. It was a pretty old dog eared sign, I don’t think the tub will be fixed any time soon. It isn’t that I take a bath every day, I am a shower guy, but for the money we paid to rent the unit, I expect more than a sign saying that the tub was broken. The microwave was broken, I could go on and on. There were lots of little things that were broken, holes in drywall, etc. This unit was a once glorious unit that has fallen on hard times. The current owner obviously doesn’t want to put a dime into maintenance. If you have low expectations and don’t expect much more than a great view from the lanai, this is the place for you. If your wife freaks out at ants in her bed, consider another place to rent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Each unit is individually owned and the owner has a choice with whom they use to rent, maintain, and manage their unit. Unfortunately this unit is not in the Outrigger rental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.