We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, view and unit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, view and unit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed two years in unit 2002 and one year in 1901 and enjoyed both units. Unit 2002 is right on the water and we saw whales everyday as well as dolphins and great sunsets. This property has a great location in that you can walk to the beach, shopping, movies and restaurants yet you are really out of the way. It is very quiet and well kept. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and it has been a joy to stay there. The unit is bright, clean and well furnished. It is well stocked with beach equipment, kitchenware etc. all making our stay very easy and fun.

Room Tip: check out the pictures on the website. Some are designated ocean view and some ocean front. The oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kanaloa Condo 3702 in January of 2013. I would not recommend anybody stay at this condo in its current condition.
First the positives. The unit is a very large condo located on a rocky shoreline with a wonderful view of a small bay on the west side of the big island. The view from the lanai is wonderful. If all you expect is a great lanai to sit on and watch the waves, this is the condo for you. If you have a little higher expectation read on.
The negatives were cleanliness, maintenance and bugs. When we first took occupancy, the place was full of little ants and roaches. They were everywhere, on the kitchen and bath counters, in our beds, soon in our clothes and bags, everywhere. My wife just about moved out. I relayed this situation to the manager on Saturday who promised to have the place sprayed on Monday, well, we couldn’t wait that long. I had to spray 2 cans of Raid Ant Killer around the place to control the population of ants. Cleanliness was also poor. There was black mold all over the ceiling of the master bath shower, there were mystery stains behind the toilet and on the wall, it looked like a better cleaning service was needed. Lastly, there was a bunch of deferred maintenance on the place. The master tub was broken, with a sign on it saying don’t use, repairs in progress. It was a pretty old dog eared sign, I don’t think the tub will be fixed any time soon. It isn’t that I take a bath every day, I am a shower guy, but for the money we paid to rent the unit, I expect more than a sign saying that the tub was broken. The microwave was broken, I could go on and on. There were lots of little things that were broken, holes in drywall, etc. This unit was a once glorious unit that has fallen on hard times. The current owner obviously doesn’t want to put a dime into maintenance. If you have low expectations and don’t expect much more than a great view from the lanai, this is the place for you. If your wife freaks out at ants in her bed, consider another place to rent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreginAlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Each unit is individually owned and the owner has a choice with whom they use to rent, maintain, and manage their unit. Unfortunately this unit is not in the Outrigger rental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very clean well maintained resort. Highly recommended for a comfortable, home away from home vacation. Ideal for familiies. Our favorites - tennis court and ping pong tables, the 3 very clean and relaxing pools and the BarBQ areas which we used nightly

Room Tip: Ocean front condo's have amazing views. Look for one without carpeting if possible - we had cera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed the property. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If it weren't for the view, I'm not sure I would have enjoyed this location very much. Our unit was rather tired and the carpets were in desperate need of replacement. It was, however, enormous and the view was stunning. The grounds are clean and the ocean pool is a wonderful location to relax. I walked along the rock shoreline for a bit to take pictures of the surfers. The units around the ocean pool seemed to be in much better condition than was ours. No AC in our unit and it got very, very warm. Our daughter could barely sleep in the loft, it was so warm up there, even with 2 fans going. I highly recommend renting their AC units (though am not sure of their cost or availability). Also recommend ocean front. Not sure what other view there are!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the best, but the noise of the surf may keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aig63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes, the view is pretty nice there. We have forwarded your comment to the owner and changes have been done. I am sure if you make a return trip, you will be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful, clean property. Great location near town without being in the middle of too much activity. We had golf fairway views, but the ocean was nearby, with beautiful views. A beach would have been terrific, but it was still wonderful. We rented two two-bedroom condos for a three generation family vacation and loved it all. Each condo had its special perks, including beach chairs, a small cooler, a boogie board, etc available for use. My only complaint would be lack of wi-fi service at our condo (although the other one had it) and a fee to print from the computer in the lobby (seemed a little unnecessary since we had already paid over $3,000 for the rooms). It would have also been nice to know exactly what size beds were in each condo, since each one was different and due to the number of families sharing the facilities it would have helped us decide in advance who would stay in each one. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments, we have since upgraded our wi-fi service and provide high speed "roadrunner" internet service FREE. Also all units have a wireless router for interior use. We also installed wireless service at all 3 swimming pool areas. We are glad that you had a good time during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for the first week in December of 2012 in the ocean front, loft suite (amazing!) Can't say 1 negative thing about it! The suite was so much fun! Loved the lanai with the wet bar and the pools. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were absolutely beautiful...lush and manicured. The kitchen was fully equipped and we opted to get the air conditioning ( for $15 a day) which was a good idea. The bedrooms were in the back of the suite...just far away from the roaring ocean to hear it enough to sooth you to sleep.
Really liked having the option of daily maid service or just have them bring you new towels.
Brilliant! Close to everything.
Our stay on the Big Island was extra special because of staying here.
Will rent condo # 2204 the next time we go back...sooner rather than later...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al0ha6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom partial ocean view room through Expedia for 4 nights the week of Christmas and received a nice, ground floor ocean view condo overlooking the ocean pool. The condo was a little dated tile-wise in the bathrooms, but very clean, well-stocked, and very spacious. If you want a beautiful, quiet location close to Kailua/Kona, this is an excellent choice - great value for the price we paid. We love the Keauhou area, the nearby KTA grocery store, Long's drugs, L&L Hawaiian BBQ, and other restaurants. We booked a manta ray night dive on the Fairwind Hula Kai (excellent!) and Seaquest morning snorkel to Place of Refuge and Captain Cook Monument (also excellent!), and loved that we could walk to the Keauhou harbor from our condo. Very convenient. Kahalu'u Beach is just a mile up the road (great snorkeling) and Magic Sands beach is about 5 minutes. If you drive to the Place of Refuge or the volcano, be sure to eat at The Coffee Shack - excellent food and desserts. The kids loved the condo pools and the ping pong table. The staff is very friendly. Tip: They charge $15/night for air-conditioning. Don't take the a/c key until you're sure you need it - they charge you whether you use it or not -and you can always go back to the front desk (or call security after 5pm) if you decide you do need it. We didn't need it in our unit. They also charge for maid service, but we didn't need it, so that was not an issue for us. Overall, a great stay. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I would book at least a partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#10 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,310 reviews
18.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#15 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing