We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experiance at Kanaloa 3702 in January 2013” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad Experiance at Kanaloa 3702 in January 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kanaloa Condo 3702 in January of 2013. I would not recommend anybody stay at this condo in its current condition.
First the positives. The unit is a very large condo located on a rocky shoreline with a wonderful view of a small bay on the west side of the big island. The view from the lanai is wonderful. If all you expect is a great lanai to sit on and watch the waves, this is the condo for you. If you have a little higher expectation read on.
The negatives were cleanliness, maintenance and bugs. When we first took occupancy, the place was full of little ants and roaches. They were everywhere, on the kitchen and bath counters, in our beds, soon in our clothes and bags, everywhere. My wife just about moved out. I relayed this situation to the manager on Saturday who promised to have the place sprayed on Monday, well, we couldn’t wait that long. I had to spray 2 cans of Raid Ant Killer around the place to control the population of ants. Cleanliness was also poor. There was black mold all over the ceiling of the master bath shower, there were mystery stains behind the toilet and on the wall, it looked like a better cleaning service was needed. Lastly, there was a bunch of deferred maintenance on the place. The master tub was broken, with a sign on it saying don’t use, repairs in progress. It was a pretty old dog eared sign, I don’t think the tub will be fixed any time soon. It isn’t that I take a bath every day, I am a shower guy, but for the money we paid to rent the unit, I expect more than a sign saying that the tub was broken. The microwave was broken, I could go on and on. There were lots of little things that were broken, holes in drywall, etc. This unit was a once glorious unit that has fallen on hard times. The current owner obviously doesn’t want to put a dime into maintenance. If you have low expectations and don’t expect much more than a great view from the lanai, this is the place for you. If your wife freaks out at ants in her bed, consider another place to rent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Each unit is individually owned and the owner has a choice with whom they use to rent, maintain, and manage their unit. Unfortunately this unit is not in the Outrigger rental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    197
    39
    27
    12
See reviews for
236
203
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very clean well maintained resort. Highly recommended for a comfortable, home away from home vacation. Ideal for familiies. Our favorites - tennis court and ping pong tables, the 3 very clean and relaxing pools and the BarBQ areas which we used nightly

Room Tip: Ocean front condo's have amazing views. Look for one without carpeting if possible - we had cera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed the property. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If it weren't for the view, I'm not sure I would have enjoyed this location very much. Our unit was rather tired and the carpets were in desperate need of replacement. It was, however, enormous and the view was stunning. The grounds are clean and the ocean pool is a wonderful location to relax. I walked along the rock shoreline for a bit to take pictures of the surfers. The units around the ocean pool seemed to be in much better condition than was ours. No AC in our unit and it got very, very warm. Our daughter could barely sleep in the loft, it was so warm up there, even with 2 fans going. I highly recommend renting their AC units (though am not sure of their cost or availability). Also recommend ocean front. Not sure what other view there are!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the best, but the noise of the surf may keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes, the view is pretty nice there. We have forwarded your comment to the owner and changes have been done. I am sure if you make a return trip, you will be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful, clean property. Great location near town without being in the middle of too much activity. We had golf fairway views, but the ocean was nearby, with beautiful views. A beach would have been terrific, but it was still wonderful. We rented two two-bedroom condos for a three generation family vacation and loved it all. Each condo had its special perks, including beach chairs, a small cooler, a boogie board, etc available for use. My only complaint would be lack of wi-fi service at our condo (although the other one had it) and a fee to print from the computer in the lobby (seemed a little unnecessary since we had already paid over $3,000 for the rooms). It would have also been nice to know exactly what size beds were in each condo, since each one was different and due to the number of families sharing the facilities it would have helped us decide in advance who would stay in each one. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments, we have since upgraded our wi-fi service and provide high speed "roadrunner" internet service FREE. Also all units have a wireless router for interior use. We also installed wireless service at all 3 swimming pool areas. We are glad that you had a good time during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for the first week in December of 2012 in the ocean front, loft suite (amazing!) Can't say 1 negative thing about it! The suite was so much fun! Loved the lanai with the wet bar and the pools. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were absolutely beautiful...lush and manicured. The kitchen was fully equipped and we opted to get the air conditioning ( for $15 a day) which was a good idea. The bedrooms were in the back of the suite...just far away from the roaring ocean to hear it enough to sooth you to sleep.
Really liked having the option of daily maid service or just have them bring you new towels.
Brilliant! Close to everything.
Our stay on the Big Island was extra special because of staying here.
Will rent condo # 2204 the next time we go back...sooner rather than later...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom partial ocean view room through Expedia for 4 nights the week of Christmas and received a nice, ground floor ocean view condo overlooking the ocean pool. The condo was a little dated tile-wise in the bathrooms, but very clean, well-stocked, and very spacious. If you want a beautiful, quiet location close to Kailua/Kona, this is an excellent choice - great value for the price we paid. We love the Keauhou area, the nearby KTA grocery store, Long's drugs, L&L Hawaiian BBQ, and other restaurants. We booked a manta ray night dive on the Fairwind Hula Kai (excellent!) and Seaquest morning snorkel to Place of Refuge and Captain Cook Monument (also excellent!), and loved that we could walk to the Keauhou harbor from our condo. Very convenient. Kahalu'u Beach is just a mile up the road (great snorkeling) and Magic Sands beach is about 5 minutes. If you drive to the Place of Refuge or the volcano, be sure to eat at The Coffee Shack - excellent food and desserts. The kids loved the condo pools and the ping pong table. The staff is very friendly. Tip: They charge $15/night for air-conditioning. Don't take the a/c key until you're sure you need it - they charge you whether you use it or not -and you can always go back to the front desk (or call security after 5pm) if you decide you do need it. We didn't need it in our unit. They also charge for maid service, but we didn't need it, so that was not an issue for us. Overall, a great stay. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I would book at least a partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Where do I start. First of all, Chuck was great to deal with. He answered all emails promptly and filled our requests with no issues whatsoever. From other reviews we knew we would have a good view BUT until you actually arrive and enjoy the view for yourself, you have no idea. It is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed our coffee on the lanai every morning.The kitchen was stocked with all utensils and appliances we needed..even a coffee grinder which was perfect !! The bed was very comfortable. We did wake up to birds every morning, but if you don't like that you can always bring earplugs. There are two bathrooms so we had our own (my husband and I) which was nice. They could use a bit of an upgrade but they were clean. My husband used the BBQ's on site and he was very please. They were kept clean and had all the utensils down at the BBQ stations. We met the owners from the condo above us and they were extremely nice and helpful. Gave us lots of great tips on what to do and see.
Check in was very easy. We arrived late but the condo was very easy to find on site once we arrived. We did get a bit lost on our way from the airport. It was late and the directions threw us off a bit but nothing a stop at a gas station couldn't fix :). Kanaloa had everthing we needed. An ocean front pool which was our favorite and not busy at all (could've been the time of year). We checked out the adult only pool also but the view at the ocean pool can't be beat !! There were tennis rackets/balls for our use. Lots of towels and linens. Washer/Dryer and soap.There's not much about this condo that we didn't like. Maybe just a few upgrades to the bathroom and new coffee maker. We did a hike/walk into Kona Town one day and it is far to walk but hey, we were on holidays. But even as far as it is, we wouldn't pick any condo on Alii Drive just be closer to town because of all the traffic and noise.
KTA grocery store was perfect and a short walk up the road. Highly recommend for fresh fish.
Do the Manta Ray Snorkel.... absolutely amazing !! We saw a total of 6 manta rays. We highly recommend The Fairwind II tour. They are right there at Keahou Bay. We walked from our condo over to the boat in 10 minutes. They may be a bit more expensive BUT definitely worth it.
We also recommend Blue Hawaii Helicopter tour over the Volcano. You'll never see it like this. It was amazing.
Don't eat at Humpy's....my husband calls it Grumpy's and the drinks (mai tai's,mixed drinks) weren't very good at all. The Sheraton has great mai tai's and a great view to watch manta rays from the ocean bar. The Canoe Club at Kona Inn also had an amazing view and the mai tai's were also good.

Room Tip: Top floor would be good...wooden building so you can hear people walking above you if they are heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanaloa at Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.