We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View was simply breathtaking - #2803” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“View was simply breathtaking - #2803”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If it weren't for the view, I'm not sure I would have enjoyed this location very much. Our unit was rather tired and the carpets were in desperate need of replacement. It was, however, enormous and the view was stunning. The grounds are clean and the ocean pool is a wonderful location to relax. I walked along the rock shoreline for a bit to take pictures of the surfers. The units around the ocean pool seemed to be in much better condition than was ours. No AC in our unit and it got very, very warm. Our daughter could barely sleep in the loft, it was so warm up there, even with 2 fans going. I highly recommend renting their AC units (though am not sure of their cost or availability). Also recommend ocean front. Not sure what other view there are!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the best, but the noise of the surf may keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes, the view is pretty nice there. We have forwarded your comment to the owner and changes have been done. I am sure if you make a return trip, you will be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    215
    47
    30
    13
See reviews for
263
221
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rupert, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful, clean property. Great location near town without being in the middle of too much activity. We had golf fairway views, but the ocean was nearby, with beautiful views. A beach would have been terrific, but it was still wonderful. We rented two two-bedroom condos for a three generation family vacation and loved it all. Each condo had its special perks, including beach chairs, a small cooler, a boogie board, etc available for use. My only complaint would be lack of wi-fi service at our condo (although the other one had it) and a fee to print from the computer in the lobby (seemed a little unnecessary since we had already paid over $3,000 for the rooms). It would have also been nice to know exactly what size beds were in each condo, since each one was different and due to the number of families sharing the facilities it would have helped us decide in advance who would stay in each one. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments, we have since upgraded our wi-fi service and provide high speed "roadrunner" internet service FREE. Also all units have a wireless router for interior use. We also installed wireless service at all 3 swimming pool areas. We are glad that you had a good time during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for the first week in December of 2012 in the ocean front, loft suite (amazing!) Can't say 1 negative thing about it! The suite was so much fun! Loved the lanai with the wet bar and the pools. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were absolutely beautiful...lush and manicured. The kitchen was fully equipped and we opted to get the air conditioning ( for $15 a day) which was a good idea. The bedrooms were in the back of the suite...just far away from the roaring ocean to hear it enough to sooth you to sleep.
Really liked having the option of daily maid service or just have them bring you new towels.
Brilliant! Close to everything.
Our stay on the Big Island was extra special because of staying here.
Will rent condo # 2204 the next time we go back...sooner rather than later...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom partial ocean view room through Expedia for 4 nights the week of Christmas and received a nice, ground floor ocean view condo overlooking the ocean pool. The condo was a little dated tile-wise in the bathrooms, but very clean, well-stocked, and very spacious. If you want a beautiful, quiet location close to Kailua/Kona, this is an excellent choice - great value for the price we paid. We love the Keauhou area, the nearby KTA grocery store, Long's drugs, L&L Hawaiian BBQ, and other restaurants. We booked a manta ray night dive on the Fairwind Hula Kai (excellent!) and Seaquest morning snorkel to Place of Refuge and Captain Cook Monument (also excellent!), and loved that we could walk to the Keauhou harbor from our condo. Very convenient. Kahalu'u Beach is just a mile up the road (great snorkeling) and Magic Sands beach is about 5 minutes. If you drive to the Place of Refuge or the volcano, be sure to eat at The Coffee Shack - excellent food and desserts. The kids loved the condo pools and the ping pong table. The staff is very friendly. Tip: They charge $15/night for air-conditioning. Don't take the a/c key until you're sure you need it - they charge you whether you use it or not -and you can always go back to the front desk (or call security after 5pm) if you decide you do need it. We didn't need it in our unit. They also charge for maid service, but we didn't need it, so that was not an issue for us. Overall, a great stay. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I would book at least a partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Where do I start. First of all, Chuck was great to deal with. He answered all emails promptly and filled our requests with no issues whatsoever. From other reviews we knew we would have a good view BUT until you actually arrive and enjoy the view for yourself, you have no idea. It is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed our coffee on the lanai every morning.The kitchen was stocked with all utensils and appliances we needed..even a coffee grinder which was perfect !! The bed was very comfortable. We did wake up to birds every morning, but if you don't like that you can always bring earplugs. There are two bathrooms so we had our own (my husband and I) which was nice. They could use a bit of an upgrade but they were clean. My husband used the BBQ's on site and he was very please. They were kept clean and had all the utensils down at the BBQ stations. We met the owners from the condo above us and they were extremely nice and helpful. Gave us lots of great tips on what to do and see.
Check in was very easy. We arrived late but the condo was very easy to find on site once we arrived. We did get a bit lost on our way from the airport. It was late and the directions threw us off a bit but nothing a stop at a gas station couldn't fix :). Kanaloa had everthing we needed. An ocean front pool which was our favorite and not busy at all (could've been the time of year). We checked out the adult only pool also but the view at the ocean pool can't be beat !! There were tennis rackets/balls for our use. Lots of towels and linens. Washer/Dryer and soap.There's not much about this condo that we didn't like. Maybe just a few upgrades to the bathroom and new coffee maker. We did a hike/walk into Kona Town one day and it is far to walk but hey, we were on holidays. But even as far as it is, we wouldn't pick any condo on Alii Drive just be closer to town because of all the traffic and noise.
KTA grocery store was perfect and a short walk up the road. Highly recommend for fresh fish.
Do the Manta Ray Snorkel.... absolutely amazing !! We saw a total of 6 manta rays. We highly recommend The Fairwind II tour. They are right there at Keahou Bay. We walked from our condo over to the boat in 10 minutes. They may be a bit more expensive BUT definitely worth it.
We also recommend Blue Hawaii Helicopter tour over the Volcano. You'll never see it like this. It was amazing.
Don't eat at Humpy's....my husband calls it Grumpy's and the drinks (mai tai's,mixed drinks) weren't very good at all. The Sheraton has great mai tai's and a great view to watch manta rays from the ocean bar. The Canoe Club at Kona Inn also had an amazing view and the mai tai's were also good.

Room Tip: Top floor would be good...wooden building so you can hear people walking above you if they are heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went with friends in January/February of 2012. The condos conditions depends on how well the owners have upgraded and kept it up. Our condo was clean and fully equipped including a washer and dryer (though our dryer needed replacement). Our unit was right on the ocean and we spent most of our time on our lanai. We walked at night and felt very safe. We met many of the condo owners down at the adult pool and they were extremely nice and welcoming. Many of our meals were made in our kitchen after visiting the grocery store a short drive away. We would highly recommend Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona as it is affordable and has amazing views.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fabulous lanai offered hours of pleasure watching boats, dolphins, birds, surf and sunsets. The condo complex is well located, just outside of the busy tourist town of Kona in a quiet, private cul de sac. Easy jumping off spot to lots of great activities. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,138 reviews
18.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
0.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#6 of 34 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanaloa at Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.