We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just returned from staying 8 nights at Kanaloa At Kona #1902. The view was excellent directly on the ocean. The Lanai was large and the patio furniture was new and comfortable. We watched whales and dolphins from the lanai daily. The grounds are very well maintained and the staff are very helpful and if we called for anything they were right there to assist or bring more towels, ect. The kitchen was OK but the pots and pans need to be replaced. The furniture either needs to be replaced or at steam cleaned. Over all this is a great place for the view, location and the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    194
    37
    27
    12
See reviews for
231
201
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Four of us stayed a week at #1603 at Kanaloa at Kona. Absolutely wonderful! This condo complex is right on the coast and this unit has ocean views from the Lanai, yet also is not directly facing the breakers so the sound isn't overwhelming. It also looks out over hole 12 on the adjacent golf course. The unit was clean and comfortable. A grocery and drug store are only a few blocks away as well as quick access to Highway 11. Very convenient and we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Kanaloa at Kona #1804 in August 2011 for 4 nights, on the first leg of our 3-island Hawaiian vacation. Dealing with Kathy George (owner) through Aloha Condos.com was convenient and easy. Everything in the condo was as promised and it is a truly lovely "home-away-from home"! There was even a "welcome" package including pancake mix and coffee waiting for us! Many thanks!

When we first arrived it was quite hot inside the condo, but switching on the A/C fixed that in no time....we went out for a quick bite and when we returned it had cooled off comfortably. The condo is quite spacious, and accommodated my family of 5 very comfortably. The ocean views from the main living room and off the lanai were spectacular! We enjoyed breakfast each day on the lanai and saw spinner dolphins and a sea turtle from this vantage point. The sound of crashing waves lulled us to sleep every night. The master bathroom is the most spectacular bathroom I have ever seen....had I not been on vacation in Hawaii with many sights I wanted to see, I just might have lived in that bathroom for 4 days.

We did a Fairwinds snorkelling tour to Kealakekua Bay(amazing viewfinder boogie boards for little ones, and slides off the boat into the ocean...my kids had a blast!). We also travelled to Volcanoes National Park for a day, and spent a day at Hapuna Beach.

Overall we had an action-packed few days on the Big Island, with a most comfortable and enjoyable stay at Kanaloa at Kona. The grounds were beautiful and the condo was lovely with unbeatable views. We didn't get a chance to use the pools at the complex, however they were quite nice. If we return to the Big Island, I hope that this condo will still be available!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a unit that has A/C available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in 603, one of the condo's run by Outrigger. It was very nicely appointed, clean, with any and all amenities. The owners even included plastic plates etc for dining down by the pool or a picinic. We did go for the A/C which was just $5 more a day and the three days we stayed it was pretty humid so I'm glad we did. The master bed was a little hard, but I actually liked it as our last place had a bed that was too soft. It was also very nice to have a washer/dryer and dishwasher to use!
The multiple pools were excellent and using the spa's allowed us to meet some interesting other guest staying there. Overall all the other guests were very friendly, and we ended up having our last night BBQ with a Canadian family we met. We thought about the idea of having a family reunion here, it was fantastic!

Room Tip: I booked through hotel.com, but if you can choose your condo, aske for 603!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My mom and I went to the Big Island to celebrate our birthdays the first week in December. These condos, although off the beaton path, are well worth checking out. The rooms are extremely clean as are the grounds. They are also very large. The condos are actually privately owned so some of them are owner/occupied. Although privately owned they look just like the pictures provided in Outrigger which manages the rental services. Some of the really nice things are even with only one bedroom there were two baths, large rooms, full kitchen and gated/active guard on duty community. This was nice for two female travelors. Our room had a full ocean view which is well worth the additional cost. Note if you want air you have to call and request a condo with it. There is not an option on the site. We were actually fine without it given the time of year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011 via mobile

I've stayed 4 or 5 times at the outrigger on Kauai at Poipu so I trusted this brand. I would say this property is very nice, nicely landscaped and maintained. However the condo ended up in had some drawbacks.

First, the plusses - more spacious than the one in Poipu beach. The bedroom was big with ensuite bathroom. I liked that I could close the door if my husband wanted to stay up watching TV. There were TWO lanais, each with a table and chairs and the one in front also had a wet bar with a fridge. A second full bath and washer/dryer in the condo were also a plus.

On the minus side, the bed was not very comfortable and I woke up with a slightly stiff back each day. I have been practicing yoga daily for 25 years so I have a good strong, flexible back and can sleep most anywhere, so if you have a delicate back be careful.

Also the place was wonderfully clean except for the details - the chandeliers and fake flowers were dusty, the faucets not polished and the crannies around the faucets needed a good going over with a stiff toothbrush.
There was rust on the handles of beautiful wood kitchen cabinets and on the chandelier that fine steel wool would take care of. At this point they all need replacing.

A few faint stains on the white carpet were also visible. Nothing major, but if these things bother you, worth mentioning.

The living room could have been more comfortably furnished. Just one short wicker couch and two wicker chairs. Not ideal for lounging. Some lounge chairs one the lanai would have been nice, too. However, other units did have them I noticed. We were in Unit 2501.

No DVD player was a disappointment as was no CD player or place to dock your iPod. But we did have a most amazing view of the ocean and sunsets from our lanai!

Last thing - we had 2 cockroach sightings in 5 days. Not an infestation but disconcerting. Our friend who lives on Oahu says they are just a part of life like Geckos here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. This unit had the best fitted out kitchen I have ever come across - absolutely everything you could want when staying in a self-contained unit. Though the fridge was a tad loud at night when filling the ice. Very spacious and nice and quiet. Pool facilities were fantastic and the free wi-fi by the pool was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.