We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons Kona is an exceptional resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Four Seasons Kona is an exceptional resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This resort is amazing. This was our first visit. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The property is large and the buildings with the rooms are only two stories tall. No elevators for the rooms - just a very short walk up or down the stairs from the resort path to your room. The restaurants were fantastic. This resort is not next to any other resorts and hotels. Gives the feeling of privacy. Very relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Green Features: Wonderful landscaping. The resort setting gives the feeling of being in a beautiful tropical island, which is literally true.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    134
    45
    27
    13
See reviews for
427
766
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas,TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We finished our trip to Hawaii on the Big Island after 5 night at the Four Seasons in Maui. Quite honestly, we have stayed in Maui at the Four Seasons many times and it blew away Hualalai. Don't get me wrong, Four Seasons Hualalai was extremely nice, but not like we had anticipated. I guess the build up was too much. We had 2 kids--17 & 14 --and my wife and I. We had connecting rooms that were on the 18th hole near the clubhouse on the ground floor. It was about 10-12 min walk to the breakfast restaurant, Ulu and another 3-5 min to King's Pond--which was excellent and we enjoyed very much. The rooms were very nice and the outdoor shower was nice. We had a great view of the 18th hole and a small sliver of ocean. I guess we were expecting a more of a wow factor from the rooms and the resort. Plus, we felt very removed from the heart of resort. The staff while nice, felt very out of touch. Just not the quality and care Maui gives. The restaurant, Ulu, at breakfast was decent the first 3 mornings and then dropped horribly the next 2 mornings. The birds were terrible as is the case in most Hawaii outdoor breakfast settings. The food was good, but not excellent. We tried a couple times to get into restaurants for dinner and we had no success. We finally had dinner at the Beach House, but had to eat at the bar. Our $200 bills resulted in very mediocre food and very slow service. Again, not what we expected from a 5 star hotel. The lack of reservations is tough because is a bit of a drive to go into Kona. I did golf one day and while the course is very, very nice, they had just sanded the greens and i was not told when i had made a tee time. Paying $275, you expect almost perfection. The round was to include unlimited play and unlimited non alcoholic drinks. I saw that person 1 time in 27 holes of play. Again, just average service for the money paid.
The best thing we encountered was the Kings Pond. We all enjoyed the complementary snorkel equipment and we did this several times. The views from all pools and restaurants were terrific.
We always finish a vacation with "would we return to this resort?" Our family was split 2 for and 2 against. That basically matches our rating of 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Greetings from Hualalai,

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent sharing your observations regarding your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. I truly regret there were several areas which disappointed you and your family, including the location of your guest room and not being able to make dining reservations. We hope you will visit with us again to give us an opportunity to provide an exceptional vacation. Our reservations team will discuss various room locations and our concierge staff will be happy to help you plan an itinerary, including dining reservations, spa appointments, golf tee times, etc. when you hopefully will plan a future visit to our resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this resort 11 years ago and from that experience we promised ourselves we would return. This trip we were not disappointed; from the moment you arrived to the sad time when you have to leave the staff was always there to make your stay one of the most memorable experiences you will ever have.

Room Tip: the rooms at the very end of the resort # 101 and 110 were the best for views and privacy. Room 110...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Things have deteriorated dramatically at this once great hotel. We have been coming here for 10 years. This year the service has deteriorated. We were served food without utensils and did not get water despite requesting it. Staff seems less attentive. The biggest issue is that if you are renting a villa you are now considered a second class citizen ( despite spending $2000/ night!) The new policy is that villa renters cannot get a lounge chair at any of the pools. I had to stand in the hot sun while my 5 & 7 year old snorkels at the Kings Pond pool , even though there were 20-30 open lounges because we were villa renters and not staying in a standard hotel room! I was told I could have a lounge chair at the beach . Hello! How am I supposed to watch my kids from the beach when they are in the pool. Not to mention there is no lifeguard on duty. Oh..and by the way, villa renters can no longer get hotel reservations during prime time. Do yourself a favor- do not rent a villa here and seriously consider nit staying at the hotel . For $1500-$2000 / night there are many places you can go where you will be treated like a king... Not a second class citizen

Room Tip: Never ever rent a villa here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Greetings from Hualalai,

We most sincerely appreciate your sharing your thoughts regarding your most recent visit to Hualalai and value your patronage and feedback.

We do want to address your comments regarding the new pool policy. When the resort is at full capacity, it has become difficult to accommodate the number of guests renting homes at Hualalai in addition to our in-house guests and homeowners. In order to find a resolution, we now reserve the pool decks for in-house guests and homeowners, still providing access to the pool lawns and beaches to all guests on a first-come, first-serve basis. The use of our pools is still available for all of our guests with full pool and beach services.

The feedback from our in-house guests and homeowners has been quite positive as chair availability satisfies the demand. We hope you will understand that this new policy was born out of our responsibility to provide the best possible experience for everyone. We also hope that you and your family will continue to make Hualalai your vacation destination.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This has to be one of the premier Four Seasons I have ever been to. An amazing mix of elegance, comfort, service and culture.

The Magic Big Island is very special and I highly recommend you stay here.

If you have time to explore Hawaii, do it. But if your on a quick holiday discover this property. It really brings all the Island to you.

Mahalo to the entire staff from chefs to housekeeping. WELL DONE!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had an incredible stay here in June 2014. We have stayed in a handful of Four Seasons previously, but this resort ranks right at the top. There is a "feel" here that we did not experience on any of the other islands, but it hits you immediately when you arrive. I really like how the resort is situated so close to the beach. Sitting at the Beach Tree or Ulu and being able to watch and listen to the waves never did get old. One morning we saw a pod of dolphins jumping and spinning.

We had connecting rooms in building #2. We had a great view of the water and sunset. It was so nice we that we had room service for dinner every night after some exhausting days. The rooms feel more like you are in a house than a hotel - except for the outdoor shower which you don't find in many homes. My only wish with Four Seasons is that they would provide more complimentary items in the rooms like snacks, drinks, etc.

The kids loved the snorkel pond and didn't seem to mind how cold the water was. There was an eagle ray and many different types of tropical fish. I was surprised at how big and deep it was. There was a second pond, but it was knocked out of commission in the tsunami of 2011.

If the beach was a little more swimmer-friendly I would have probably stayed here forever. The coast is pretty rocky, but there is a small swimming beach. Also the sand is pretty narrow all the way down. But the service - food, chairs, towels, and drinks - was what you expect from Four Seasons. At no point did the resort seem crowded.

We saw a lot of sea turtles, both on the beach and in the water. You have to hunt for them on other islands, but here they seem to be everywhere, especially at low tide. It was one of the highlights of our stay.

We used the concierge to arrange a couple of different trips that were spot on. One required a taxi cab down to the marina, but they arranged it all and it went really smooth.

My only "lesson learned" results from an exchange that happened prior to our arrival, when trying to schedule a private dinner under the stars. The availability of these dinners goes quickly, so if you are interested in scheduling, I recommend calling. Relying on an email thread to reserve what was previously available didn't work out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Four Seasons Hualalai exceeded every expectation we had. The staff - so friendly and helpful. The room - spacious and clean and every amenity we could need. The spa - like no other experience I've ever had. The food - Ulu breakfast was fantastic (the french press Kona coffee... heavenly). Dinner at Ulu was also excellent, dinner at the grill was wonderful. The beaches and pools - always met with a smiling staff member to cover chairs, provide fresh towels and offer water. In short, no request was turned down and we've never felt so well taken care of. Just wish we were still there!

Room Tip: Upstairs for privacy, downstairs for outdoor shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recyclable cups at the pool, refillable pump bottles for all shampoo/sunscreen/soap etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.