We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location is very good. Close to the airport but very quite place. No rain is almost guaranteed at this place regardless what is happening on the other side of the island.

Excellent service (as usual with Four Seasons). Everyone tries really hard in here to make your stay comfortable. When they make a mistake (not very usual) they try to fix it themselves.

Family friendly hotel. Rooms are close to pools. A broad choice of activities for kids.

Fish pond makes snorkling fun and easy. In fact, it is fantastic!

Four Seasons is never cheap. Unlike other FS resorts they charge for quite a lot of activities they would normally be for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai,

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely vacation and were the happy recipients of our staff's aloha. We hope you will choose our resort as your vacation destination many times in the years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    142
    49
    30
    13
See reviews for
450
826
20
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We honeymooned 43 years ago at Kona Village and have wanted to return all these years. When we realized a few years ago that it probably was not going to reopen, we decided to come to Kona for our anniversary and chose the Four Seasons since we knew from previous stays at other Four Seasons, that we would not be disappointed. And we were not! From the moment we arrived, and they informed us that they had upgraded our room, to the next few days, when were constantly made to feel so special, we knew we had chosen the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. We were treated so great by pool staff, waitresses, room attendants, and golf course helpers. They all have a great way of communicating and it is obvious they are comfortable with talking with hotel guests. They seem like very self assured individuals.

We were made to feel very special by any number of employees. We were given champagne in our room to celebrate our anniversary and were invited to a reception given by the hotel manager. Everyone we talked to, was impressive in their enthusiasm for this resort. Everything we have experienced here has exceeded our expectations, and we are already talking about returning here for our 45th anniversary

We couldn't have chosen a better place to spend our time in Hawaii celebrating our anniversary. Can't wait to come back to this beautiful resort!

Room Tip: Any room is probably great here, but ocean view is sure nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai,

Congratulations on 43 years of marriage! We are thrilled to hear that you chose our resort to celebrate such a special occasion and we are doubly thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time. As you discovered, we are fortunate to have a truly dedicated, personable staff who thoroughly enjoy working here and meeting our guests.

We hope you will return many times in the months and years to come and look forward to welcoming you back for your 45th anniversary!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Aministrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stay at 5-star properties around the world, and this resort is right up there with the very best. The Kings Pond was particularly memorable, which is a giant artificial salt-water lagoon stocked with thousands of fish for the viewing pleasure of hotel snorkel enthusiasts. Every part of the hotel operation is beyond superb except for one--their billing dept. This is the second year that our 16 person So Calif group has organized a visit, and both times the hotel messed up the billing. Our group leader told them many times to bill him for all costs, yet the hotel still charged our personal credit card over $700 by mistake. So if you're going as an individual you have little to worry about, and will have the time of your life. If you're going as a group, you'll also have the time of your life-- just make sure they get the billing straight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I am so happy to hear that you, your wife and your group had a lovely time here at our resort, however, I most sincerely apologize that we made an error (for the 2nd year) and charged your personal credit card for items that should have been billed to your group leader. I shared your comments with our accounting people who will be more diligent in the future about charging the correct accounts. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do for you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are wrapping up our 2d stay here (1st in 2004) and this one only served to enhance our memories and confirm our desire to return to our favorite place, the Big Island. As the many reviews attest, everything here is top notch, but what will continue to bring us back is the beauty & tranquility of the expansive property as well as the genuine & gracious service by the entire staff. Mahalo FS Hualalai for a 60th birthday celebration that I will remember for the rest of life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here with my family last month. Not much to add that hasn't already been said. It is a wonderful property in one of the most beautiful and special places on Earth. And the service is impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It never ceased to amaze us how many small ways the staff could find to "go the extra step" in trying to make us feel special and like a trusted friend - literally the best hotel experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

We are most grateful for the positive feedback you offered in your review, and we are thrilled that you had "the best hotel experience." Please plan a return trip to allow us to build another happy memory for you!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort last week and we loved it! Her brother got married on the property (beautiful) and we stayed 3 nights. If you want to experience about as close to perfection in a beach resort look no further. The room, pools, beaches, food, drinks, service, etc. was top notch. You know the old saying "you get what you pay for"? If you think the Four Seasons is pricey, then you've never stayed at a Four Seasons and experienced true high-end value. We hope to get back to Hawaii some day and, if so, we will definitely stay at this Four Seasons resort.

P.S. - I loved my pillow so much that I purchased one through a most helpful Concierge.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai,

I am so happy a family wedding brought you to the Big Island and to our resort. Thank you for your kind words. I like to tell people that I am already living in heaven and from your comments, you too felt the Hualalai magic.

As you rest your head on your new Four Seasons pillow, dream of returning to visit with us again soon!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.