We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best resort in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed at many luxury resorts across the Hawaiian Islands including the Ritz Carlton at Kapalua, Princeville, and the Four Seasons on Lanai but the resort that I keep returning to is the Four Seasons Hualalai. I think it is the best resort anywhere in Hawaii. First the architecture of the resort is different from all other resorts - it is built in a series of two story buildings with 4 to 12 units laid out in four semi circles facing the ocean as opposed to typical large hotel buildings. This gives the resort an ambience unlike any other as instead of walking along hotel corridors you walk along pathways surrounded by tropical plants and torches for lighting. Service is consistently superb. Low density - only about 220 units. Beautiful beach, great golf course, spa and fitness facility. It is simply the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,612
    159
    58
    30
    14
See reviews for
498
903
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa in the Hualalai resort right next to the Four Seasons. The villa was great (Cameron who owns it was very helpful), and the Four Seasons is fabulous. The only problem was that they decided a couple of months before our stay that villa guests would not have access to the pool decks during August because they get too crowded. So we had to sit either on the grass near the pools, or on the beach. It's not the end of the world, but we had expected to be able to use all the amenities of the Four Seasons, and we felt like we were second class guests when we were told we couldn't sit in certain chairs by the pool. If we'd known when we booked, we would have had nothing to complain about, but as it was we felt like they changed the terms of the contract after we had signed it. The resort always had the right to lilmit access, and they informed those who were renting villas directly through them, but unfortunately we only found out shortly before we arrived. So my advice is to not rent a villa during peak periods as you may find you can't use the pool chairs. Otherwise, if you're going any other time of the year, this is a fantastic place to go.
We had a great time, almost everyone was super-nice, the facilities are awesome, the weather is fantastic, and really we had no complaints except the lack of access to the pool deck.

Room Tip: Don't rent a villa in peak seasons - stay in the resort itself if you can. If you have to trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for a week as part of a company trip and the place was great. The breakfast buffet each morning was outstanding, and dinner was equally outstanding. You don't want to leave the resort, but there are definitely some beautiful places to see not too far away from the property. The hotel organized a road rally for our group which took us to locations around Kona which was a surprisingly fun activity. The golf course and the spa were fabulous if that's your thing. The rooms, beds were all great as you would expect, and the staff would help you at the drop of a hat. I'm not sure you can find a nicer resort on this island, but it's definitely not the least expensive.
If you're not on a budget and really want a resort to get away, then I'd give the slight nod to the 4 Seasons in Bora Bora. Bungalows over the water at Bora-Bora were nicer, but there's more to do at Hualalai. 5 Stars no matter which you choose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

While we enjoyed our stay at this resort, overall I have mixed feelings about it and for this reason probably wouldn't return, instead favoring some other establishments. The resort is beautiful and the grounds are just lovely. Staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming and we loved loved the Beach Tree restaurant! Our golf view room was lovely although was a hike away from the beach/pool/restaurants....not ideal with a toddler in tow! So I would definitely rethink this room category if this is a problem for you. The pools were lovely although our toddler really didn't like the toddler pool (and maybe this was only our child?!?) but he hated the sandy bottom because it wasn't nice and soft but was a kind of gravel instead which was uncomfortable as it embedded itself into your skin and between your toes. Also not pleasant walking on this wet 'sand' out of the pool and unfortunately this sand found itself everywhere, even in the bigger pools. The adult pool however was apparently devine....or so my husband reports as I didn't get a chance to experience it! The beach was also not greatest, not terrible just rocky in most places and on a sharp incline, except for the beautiful turtles in the water! Of course I liked the no charge for cabanas but on the other end of scale found some things were pricey - had in room breakfast dining one morning and along with 2 meals ordered 2 hard boiled eggs by themselves and 1 banana for our toddler - was charged $12 for the eggs and $3 for 1 banana....really? Overall while it was lovely, for me it didn't add up to or was was worth the price tag with which it came with, especially when compared to competing same star resorts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not sure I can add much more to all the glowing reviews here, other than to say they're all right! From the moment you arrive--when they know your names as you step out of the car--they treat you right. Cold bottled water in the car's cup holder's every time valets bring it up for you. Quick check in with cold towels, beverages, leis. Excellent service on the beach, at all the pools, in all the restaurants. Yes, there are quite a lot of families--and children--at the resort, but kids seem to stay at the main, family pool, leaving the quieter--and in my opinion, nicer--other 2 pools for the grown-ups. Kids were not really an issue on the beach either. My one knock on the hotel would be that the swimming/snorkeling/water sports off the beach are rather limited; however, great snorkeling beaches are short drives away. The rooms themselves are excellent. We splurged on an oceanfront room, and were absolutely thrilled to be upgraded to an oceanfront suite, which was huge. However, I'm sure we would have been happy in any of the rooms on the resort. I love how it didn't at all feel like a large Hawaiian resort but rather like a small, luxury boutique hotel. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great vacation. We are both wishing we were still there. Excellent service at the beach and pool. Beautiful property and no reason to leave the resort. Unfortunately, we had a few things that I think are unacceptable for the Four Seasons Resort. The bed in room 3404 was the worst bed we have ever tried to sleep in. We definitely should have complained about it and given the resort a chance to fix it, but we didn't. Our room was in a building that was next to the parking lot and probably the least desirable and it made us think that they just hadn't gotten around to replacing the beds in that building. Not so good when your paying $800.00 a night.
One night we had dinner at the beach grill and my boyfriend ordered the ribeye steak. It was pretty pathetic. We both were shocked. It was probably a 1/8 inch thick....if that!! Again, worst steak we have ever had! The last thing I will say is that we were not impressed with the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I am happy to hear that even with a few missteps on our part, you and your boyfriend had such a great vacation at our resort that you wish you were still here! I am so sorry to hear that the mattress in your guest room was not comfortable and that your boyfriend was disappointed with his steak dinner. On future visits, please, please let us know if there are any areas which need our attention, and we will quickly respond to correct the situation. It is always our intention to have our guests leave the resort with only positive experiences, and I apologize that we did not exceed all of your expectations.

We hope you will return soon to give us a chance to provide a flawless visit. We sincerely appreciate your feedback!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I were completely spoiled. Every need was catered to. All three onsite restaurants are excellent. Save your nickels and go here just once in your life! We participated in a Stargazing trip and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai - The Place of `Uhane inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.