We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing resort for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An amazing resort for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 8 nights in a two bedroom suite with our 5 and 8 year old kids. Even better than the usual Four Seasons service (if you haven't stayed at a FS before - don't! as it will ruin you for other hotel chains). Heaps for kids to do, turtles on beach in front of the room (we counted 8 one day) were a highlight along with the kids fishing in a stocked golf course pond. Can't really fault it, expensive but good.

Forgot to mention we saw whales jumping not that far offshore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    154
    56
    30
    14
See reviews for
487
877
23
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our special 10th anniversary trip to the Big Island of Hawaii was made even more memorable by our stay at the 4 Seasons Hualalai. From the minute we arrived, the friendly staff (from concierge to housekeeping) was welcoming, helpful and efficient. And our room was the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in - ever! The outside shower was such a highlight that we found reasons just to take another shower. The view of the ocean from our room was spectacular and we were right next to the Infinity "Quiet" pool which was gorgeous. Beach service for lunch and other amenities (people even came by and offered to clean our sunglasses for us!), were exceptional.

We loved every minute of our time at this 4 Seasons, even cancelling some trips we had planned on the island just so we could enjoy every moment of this beautiful place. We can't say enough about this hotel and are already planning our next trip. If you are looking for a truly spectacular place to stay - this is the place.

Room Tip: If you are traveling without children, stay at the building next to the Infinity "quiet" p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is best resort I have been to. I never want to leave they make us so happy here. Great for families near the kids pool, also have two other quiet pools for adults and honeymooners. You could have any kind of experience you want here. It doesn't get much better than this at any price. Poolside service is best I've ever seen. Food is most expensive, like French prices, but we dined at every restaurant and enjoyed it. We had such a great time, we didn't even get to Roy's a few miles up the coast or go into Kona for cheaper eats so that says something about how well they do things at Four Seasons. We never want to leave! Wish I could live here! : )

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to discuss your needs, especially if you have a large party or multiple r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I wish you could live here too! Thank you for your kind words, especially for letting us know that you discovered Hualalai has a spot for everyone - families, honeymooners, couples traveling without children. Our food and beverage team was pleased to hear that you found all of our restaurants and did not feel the need to leave "campus." We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I did not stay here, however we ate @ Ulu on July 14th (40th wedding anv.) We were given very special treatment. Champaign and a special desert were presented (on the house), and the service & view magnificent ! We wish we would have stayed here instead of where we did. In the past we have eaten and stayed at some of the best resorts in the U.S. , and this Four Seasons is certainly at that level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I am so happy to hear that you celebrated your special 40th wedding anniversary by dining at 'Ulu and that we helped you build a beautiful memory. We hope you will consider staying here at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, perhaps to celebrate other special occasions. Thank you for your positive feedback!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is our favorite hotel -- great location, awesome pools, and the service is impeccable! The food is very good (if expensive), and the resort offers lots of options for dining and activities. We drove to a few of the other Waikoloa/Kohala area hotels, and none of them seemed to be in the same league. Wish it wasn't such a long flight away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Well, once again I find myself in my favorite spot in the world! If you have not been to Kona, you need to come!
The Four Seasons Hualalia continues to captivate me, however the attention to detail is lacking.

We love to come here, as many do, and stay on property and never leave. So they have a captive audience for sure!
The first night I was here, I was not that hungry and just wanted a salad, so I ordered a chicken Ceaser. Mind you, I travel the world and the best Ceaser is by far Boa! It is served table side and is reason for me to sit in 2 hours traffic, and costs with chicken $14.00! The Huala'li costs $26.00 and was unedible! No table side service, no flavor and really expensive!
They seriously need to work on the good options!
The resort is amazing, but I have to go looking for good food elsewhere which is not what we want to do on vaca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for sharing your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai.

You have provided excellent feedback that is being reviewed by our culinary team to make immediate corrections to our Caesar Salad offering.

We hope you will return to give us another chance to wow you with our Food and Beverage.

Mahalo

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our daughter was married there last month. Confident, calm and collected, Jenna Giles, the wedding coordinator helped us put together a sweet little, yet gorgeous, ceremony and memorably fun-filled and beautiful evening reception - a months worth of planning and coordinating that culminated in a fabulous time for about 80 of our families and friends.
Music, flowers, food, drinks, ceremony site - nothing was less than a warm "Hawaiian perfect" (well, okay, we would have enjoyed a nice breeze at the reception site).

Now that the wedding is over we are looking forward to returning. Ulu, the Beechtree, the beautiful grounds, pools... and the whole staff - all were welcoming and relaxing. A very beautiful experience.
The only thing I will do different next time is get a room in a better location. Room 2010 was a beauty inside and with a decent view - but (and this is my only but) it is to the rear of the Beechtree restaurant and grill. At night, when we went to open the balcony doors so we could hear the ocean, all we could hear was the restaurant venting (it was tucked into the garden between our room and the restaurant). It was only obvious at nights - and once during a day when some smoke and BBQ wafted out !
So - I'll be a little more choosey about the room location - but I'm in.! Best "vacation" and wedding ever!
Thanks so much, Jenna. You and your crews made it all look so easy. You're tops in our book :-)

Room Tip: Our first room had a tree blocking the ocean view. They were happy to move us. Our second room I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai - The Place of `Uhane inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.