We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, I Can't Wait To Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow, I Can't Wait To Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Absolutely and unbelievable experience. A step above every other resort in Hawaii, no touch is missed. From checkin to checkout, the staff is unmatched, and the activities were spectacular. Just a wonderful visit, with memories galore. This is a must do trip, and now I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha!!

And we can't wait for you to return! Thank you (mahalo) for your high praise. We will do our best to make every vacation here at Hualalai just as memorable.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    156
    56
    30
    15
See reviews for
493
885
24
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is not one thing about this resort they should change; it is absolutely perfect. Expensive yes but worth every $1k! Really it's is my favorite hotel in the world!!

I have been there twice in the past 3 years! It is beyond perfect!

Go!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

We are delighted to hear that Hualalai is your favorite hotel in the world, and we loved your parting message to TripAdvisor followers ... "Go!" What a lovely compliment. Mahalo!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Amazing to say the least! We have stayed in many island resorts and Hualalai is above and beyond. My husband and I stayed in the Hawaii Loa Presidential Villa. A perfect view of the Pacific Ocean from our luxurious lanai. 5000+ square feet of Beauty and Peace! The staff was so attentive but not obtrusive. We were alone unless we needed anything! We treated ourselves to the complimentary massages in our own villa and enjoyed the beach and pool. Played golf and tennis. Had lovely meals at all 3 of the Restaurants located on the grounds. At the end of each beautiful day, watched the sunset from the lanai and made our way to the bedroom that was gorgeous, comfortable and romantic.
We found ourselves not wanting to leave. Work permitted that we must. But we will return next year! Thank you to the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for. We wanted to get away and be alone. So we chose the Villa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai during your recent visit to Hawaii.

We all truly enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your return.

Hopefully work will permit you to visit us more often.

A hui ho,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This last trip to the four seasons Hualalai was my fifth visit in four years, so to say that I love this place is an understatement.

I'm going to point out a few negative things my Wife and I noticed this trip, this is the first time I've ever been disappointed with my trip to this resort. However, when you pay well over 2k per night, I think that gives you the right to express your concerns.

Again, since we frequent the hotel quite a bit, we're pretty up on things in regards to this resort. The one thing we noticed right away was the lack of experience at the sea shell swimming pool.

1.It's plainly obvious that most of the pool attendants are fairly new because the incredible pool service we've been accustomed to was greatly lacking. There was def a lack of leadership out there, too many new people without direction. This is not acceptable!

2. The rugs in our room had a lot of stains on it, and the outdoor shower was looking weathered.

3. I noticed more litter on the property than I have ever seen. Again, very disappointing.

Some positives

1. Food has gotten a lot better (the beach tree especially).

2. Housekeeping was great.

3. As always, the staff is extremely polite.

4. Still the best hotel that I've ever been to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The resort is amazing, he food exceptional and the service top notch! The turtles lounging on the ocean's edge is a special treat! We love the views, the easy airport access and the Hawaiian charm of Hulalai.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've stayed at many five star hotels in Hawaii and elsewhere. We really love smaller, more catered boutique style hotels. We came to the Four Seasons Hualalai with very high expectations and we were not disappointed! This resort sets the standards by which we're going to measure every other. The location, the service, the rooms, it was all just amazing. Everything is so well thought out that we didn't have to worry about anything. Relaxation per minute was amazing.

We did have a minor issue at the spa, but the hotel handled that very well and the treatments were fantastic.

We'll be going back as soon as I can take more time off from work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have stayed on all islands in many resorts & Hualalai sets a new standard for resorts. Unmatched by any in Hawaii....it is the BEST resort in the Islands

Uli is great restaurant - staff is attentive - rooms are great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai - The Place of `Uhane inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.