We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNBELIEVABLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the best Four Seasons that I have ever been to!! The service was absolutely phenomenal, setting gorgeous, and food amazing! The rooms we got were great and the spa and fitness center were top notch. One annoyance: the gym was open air with fans, but no air conditioning. Though you get a more authentic workout that way. Otherwise, no complaints and I really did feel like I was in paradise.

Room Tip: Ocean view can't be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    142
    49
    30
    13
See reviews for
450
825
20
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week in the beginning of February, I've never stayed at a resort that had such good service, along with picture-perfect grounds and of course, stunning scenery all around. The food was incredible if pricey, but most hotel food in hawaii is much higher priced than we're used to. This was a cut above anything we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the warm greeting with real flower lei and cocktail in a coconut shell, to the perfect room, to in room dining delicious and elegantly served... One perfect encounter to another. The pool service is exceptional, from offering sunglasses cleaning from your lounge chair to cool cucumbers to press on your eyes. All with a warm aloha spirit. The whale and dolphin watching was a treat! Suggestion: come during whale season with a pair of binoculars. No boat b
Needed you will see them from your lounge chair. Perfection!,

Room Tip: Adult only pool side if traveling without kids is much quieter, but all rooms amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've been going to Hawaii several times a year for over 15 years. The Hualalai has been on our wish list for a long time. The property was incredible, but what we were more impressed by was the staff. From the dining experience, to the spa treatments, fitness facility, pool side service, and housekeeping services.....this hotel delivered on everything. We spent only 4 days there, and I've recommended it to numerous people over the last several months. What ever you do, take time to walk the path along the beach in the evenings. Its really a fun way to unwind after dinner and to enjoy the surf, especially if it's a clear sky with the stars out. Make sure to unplug your mobile phone and enjoy this special place. Once you leave, you count the days until you return.

Room Tip: We had a room near the adult pool and it worked out very well. It was quiet, convenient, and easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for sharing your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai experience.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Hawaii.

With warmest aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What an amazing stay we had at the Four Seasons Resort! We have travelled extensively and stayed in some luxurious hotels, however this hotel is definitely the best we have stayed in! Upon our arrival, we were blown away by the grounds of the resort, it was simply immaculate! The pool, gardens and beaches were all spectacular and so well kept! The room itself had a gorgeous view, was unbelievably clean and the bed was huge and comfortable! The resort was aware that our young son was traveling with us and provided a complimentary welcome pack for him, including a toy seal which he just loved (and still does)! An added bonus was a sealed nappy bin which was fantastic (those who travel with young children will understand just how good this is)! Another thing that sets this hotel apart from others was the staff! My husband and I were so very impressed the way all staff members from concierge to housekeeping to grounds keepers always said Aloha and made us feel so welcome! They were so friendly and no request was too big! The only disappointment we experienced was at the the Beach Tree Bar and Lounge where we had lunch twice, and both times there were problems. The first was a completely incorrect bill at the end of the lunch which took far to long to rectify and the second was when my young son's meal was forgotten! The food itself was fine, but the service was disappointing. This was completely the opposite at breakfast where the staff went above and beyond to provide an enjoyable experience! Overall, we had a fantastic stay, and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai during your recent vacation to Hawaii.

We were so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay but were disappointment to hear about your specific experience in Beach Tree.

Your feedback is extremely valuable and will take immediate action.

We hope to welcome you back to Hualalai soon.

With warmest aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon, and we are SO grateful that our travel agent suggested it, not to mention got a great deal for us on our room!
Upon arrival, we were greeted with a gorgeous lei of flowers for me and of kukui nuts for him, plus the most delicious mai tai out of a coconut shell!
Every single meal we had was exceptional!
The servers by the pools were constantly stopping by to make sure we were happy and to offer little things to make our stay more comfortable (i.e. a fruit smoothy shot, cold water, sunglass cleaning, coolers filled with goodies to stay cool under the hot sun, etc.)
The room, the service, the food, and the attention to detail... This hotel has thought of it all!

Room Tip: Room 2811 had the best view of the ocean and the quiet lagoon, in a quiet area overlooking the adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My daughter and I have been going to the Hualalai for the last five years in a row both staying in the hotel or renting villas at the resort. The surfing there is amazing (but not for beginners) and the whole beach/pool nexus is incredible. My kid loves their Camp Program that is available pretty much all day. She met super nice kids and immediately had a close knit group of play mates for the whole time. Since we know the island so well, we choose to always stay put on the property with Kukio next door providing an interesting beach break for surfing from the Four Seasons reef monster. Can't wait to see what Michael Dell and his friends do with the next door neighbor property, another stunning setting. If you can get the breakfast package, it is really worth it since their buffet satisfies every whim and you can eat later in the day to pass on lunch and stay near the water. Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: Ideally the beach views are the best but pricey. We like to stay on the golf course because it give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.