We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Four Seasons was a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Four Seasons was a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding annniversary at this resort. We were a little concerned as there was a PGA tournament at the resort while we were there. Nothing to fear. The resort was quiet and peaceful. We didn't even know it was going on other than the fact that one of the restaurants was closed/reserved for our stay. The service was great. I am gluten intolerant. The menu had many gluten free options and they would modify the dish to accomodate me. They had gluten free bread, scones, buns etc. They even made me a special gluten free happy anniversary dessert. Spa was excellent.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view near the Kings Pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,302
    130
    44
    27
    13
See reviews for
405
735
17
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, gorgeous property and individual casitas (hawaiian name for them is...) and picture perfect pools with FS service though cabanas face the pool I prefer they face the ocean like FS Wailea. But there is literally no beach, and the Big Island has amazing beaches like at the Mauna Kea. OK that aside, the restaurant, I have my issues. The waiter graciously pushed a fish special. He kind of over pushed it. Two of us got it and then we understood why. The fish was probably not fresh, not rotten but certainly not fresh, rubbery and overly salted. They were clearly trying to get rid of inventory in my opinion, (I worked in restaurants in college and this was common). There is no lobby so forget about getting on your couture and showing off, not like FS Wailea which is a bit of a fashion show with movie stars sprinkled about its glorious lobby. This location is for people whom like golf, and want to hide away in their rooms, and have a more primative experience, ( I know that doesn't jive with a FS) as Kona is definately less commercial than Wailea. But for others it'll be too quiet. I think the best thing is a 2-3-4 approach. Two nights in Waikiki to pick up some energy and they have Allan Wong's restaurant the best in the state, three nights at Kona FS to neutralize Waikiki, then finish with four nights at FS Wailea to get the best of both and park yourself in an ocean view cabana and send gloating pics to your buds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don't know if I can stay at a "normal" hotel again after experiencing the Four Seasons. Service and quality were truly exceptional. We stayed here two nights for our honeymoon, and it was such a perfect way to spend it. If you book through a preferred travel agent (you can find them via travel blogs of sorts), you can get additional perks like free brunch (REALLY GOOD) and meal credit at their fancy restaurant. Although their brunch is almost the same as that of the Mauna Kea Lodge Hotel a bit further up the coast, though Mauna Kea is overall "more affordable". I'm not normally one to want to stay on the resort grounds during a vacation, but that's all I wanted to do while at the Four Seasons. I was also surprised at how kid-friendly the hotel was, but they also have adult-only areas. Not that it was a problem to have kids around, since you rarely ever feel like the resort or its grounds are crowded. We also got a Lava Flow drink in the adult-only pool, which cost something like $16, but it was so worth it. So delicious. The waves were too strong for us to snorkel away from the shore (January), but they have the "King's Pond" which is an enclosed pool that has 4,000 fish apparently. They also offer various activities throughout the day, so sign up for those. There's staff manning every section of the resort, so you always have someone who offers you water or service -- very well-organized and a tightly run business. I would stay at another Four Seasons on my next vacation.... if we can afford it!

Room Tip: Again, if you book through a preferred travel agent, you might get lucky and get upgraded to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family and I have visited this resort many times before and we just love it. It's a beautiful,outstandingly laid out hotel with so much to do! We booked the villa and it was magnificent. It was huge and had its own pool! We try to save up so we can come back here every other year. It's expensive, but most definitely worth it. Watch out for celebrities too! We once saw Hilary Swank here back in 2010!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've traveled widely for over 40 years. The service and attention to detail here combined with the setting make one great resort. The dinner menu needs minor help.
Go off ground to Volcano national park, populu valley or scuba with Big Island Divers for more beautiful things to see

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, fantastic staff, great service. Lots to do. All extras cost lots. I guess this is what you'd expect. The restaurant menus tend to get boring after a week. Not enough daily specials. However with four swimming pools and the beach, plus 18 hole golf course I'm not complaining.
Fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had hesitated to come here from New York as we had heard that the beach was not very appealing (which is true). Guess what? It did not matter one bit. This property is amazing in every way and we certainly hope to return. We had a great room overlooking the ocean and the King Pond. Sleeping to the sound of crashing waves was hypnotic. The pools are all incredible. The spa and sports center were fantastic. Take classes with Beth...she makes them fun and effective at the same time. Loved the 7 am fitness walks each morning. The resort is first rate in every way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for your recent vacation to Hawaii.

We will be sure to let Beth know that you enjoyed her classes.

I am happy to hear that you experienced the Kings Pond, with 3,000 fish and the resorts Ocean Pool - a large protected beach and ocean area that allows our guests to safely experience the beach and ocean.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Hualalai.

With warmest aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.