We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Pampering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pure Pampering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pure pampering - anything that you wanted they made sure it happened. Very relaxing. Room was amazing. The meals were excellent - especially the seafood beach side buffet. Probably the best massage I have ever had. The spa is excellent. Would love to go back one day!

Room Tip: ask for ocean front instead of golf course view - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for sharing your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai.

We would also love to see you again.

Since you stayed with us, the Pahu i'a restaurant underwent extensive renovations. It re-opened in October 2012, with a new fabulous energy and new name - 'ULU Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge. Another aspect of changes was to convert the Seafood Buffet into a Farm to Table experience on Saturday evenings to celebrate the bounty of the Island of Hawaii. Our guests have loved the change and I trust you will as well upon your return.

With warmest aloha

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    134
    45
    28
    13
See reviews for
431
773
19
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Incredible physical property which is meticulously maintained. Absolutely over the top customer service experience. The staff is focused on every detail of the guest experience. They are well trained and do an excellent job of taking care of you and making you feel special. Stayed in an ocean view prime room and was very pleased. Truly a full service resort with every amenity I could want. Feat spa and gym. Many yoga and exercise classes. World class concierge. As good as any Asian or European customer service with physical facilities and amenities exceeding them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai.

Thank you, for taking the time to post your review and for choosing our resort for your recent vacation.

With warmest aloha

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Relaxing - amazing staff, beautiful grounds. The adult pool is ideal. I loved the walking path along the ocean, and opportunity to snorkel in one of the 7 hotel pools with exotic wildlife. The food was optimal, and I always left meals satisfied. The staff is amazingly nice and helpful, from the bartenders to the grounds people. The weather was a bit iffy - much better in Maui, but the experience was still great. The natural grounds are also a treat and allow for more of an authentic feel. (as authentic you can get at a 5 star resort)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Sixth year staying here and almost everything was perfect but upon check out encountered a rude male desk clerk. Same one that was rude last year. All in all, not too bad overall!


Massage was supposed to be 80 min but lasted 62 min and was blah and one of the worst I have ever had.

Other than this the stay was fantastic, food, wine, cocktails, pool service was flawless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai during your recent vacation to Hawaii.

I apologize that you had a poor experience with our front desk.

We value your feedback and will be looking into this matter in order to take corrective action.

I hope that the "flawless" service you experienced during the majority of your stay with us will prompt you to return to Hualalai.

With warmest Aloha

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of a short weekstay the the Four Seasons Hualalai. I'm not sure what else I can add to the prior reviews. If you want amazing food, beautiful views, a gracious staff, pleasant pampering, and more... then this is the place to stay. Was it a bargain at the price we paid? While perhaps not a bargain, the value was obvious! My lady friend and I had an amazing time... and neither of us are easily impressed.

Room Tip: We loved our high corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What can I add that hasn't been said: this is the best of the best. Our time there was fantastic. Our room, the food, the weather [always summer], the spa, everything. And, of course, I asked by beloved, Emily, to be mine. Bended knee, engagement ring [bought at the resort's jewelery store], on the beach. We walked the beach in the morning at sun up, and again at sun down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited this property January 2011. I know I'm a bit late but I didn't think I could review a place I didn't actually stay. We unfortunately were staying at the Hilton nearby aka Disney World complete with monorail. (not for us) Luckily a friend recommended having dinner at the Four Season and especially recommended their beach side buffet dinner. Being from the New York City area we are ok with expensive food as long as it's really good. And it was. So many selections to choose from and all done very well. I'm not a big eater but I like trying different things and this was perfect! You can't beat dinner by the ocean on a beautiful night after spending the day at the top of a volcano covered in snow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.