We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hualalai Four Seasons - Excellent in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hualalai Four Seasons - Excellent in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

In late September we returned for our annual/anniversary trip to Hualalai and were not disappointed. This time we had two young kids with us, as well as guests/friends who met us for 5 of our 10 day trip. This is at least our 16th stay at the resort and it was 99% excellent.

The rooms are excellent, and we paid the "upgraded" fee for an ocean view suite and the view and extra space was worth it for our family. One of the restaurants was closed for renovation during our 10 day stay and the Beach Tree was more than accommodating for breakfast and other meals. The Hualalai Grille is now a steak house and worth a try (we ate there twice).

The resort manager was ever/appropriately present and gracious.

Yes, you will pay $$$$ for excellent service, location, and meals, but if you want a first-rate Four Seasons experience, Hualalai is the choice. We spend 4 to 5 weeks a year in Hawaii and while we like the remoteness of Lanai, and the beaches of Maui, Hualalai will always be our favorite spot.

If you golf, the resort course at Hualali is "ok", and Sid the "cart guy" is truly the reason to play a round there. But, if you want to golf Manua Kea, Kukio and Nanea are the best courses on island.

Aloha!

Room Tip: The Sea Shel Pool area is best for famalies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    140
    49
    30
    13
See reviews for
448
821
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First time at a Four Seasons, hands-down the most amazing experience with a hotel EVER! We were greeted at the gate by name, car valet parked, luggage taken to the room as we were escorted to a sitting room for the paperwork bit of it all. But not before enjoying a cool towel, fresh pineapple, and a mai-tai (that was quite strong) served in a coconut. We immediately felt welcomed, relaxed, and taken care of.

We were offered a tour of the property in a golf cart before being dropped at our room. The grounds are very spread out so you never feel crowded. With 5 pools and a beach, we never felt too-close-for-comfort to other guests. The fitness area was huge! lap pool, yoga center, cardio theater, free weights. There is also a Salt-water snorkle tank with no waves and free equipment. Demonstrations with sea creatures for kids, but super interesting for adults too. 4 restaurants including a sushi bar open late and of course, room service 24/7. Even after seeing the entire resort, our room was still breathtaking! An ocean-front suite, worth the splurge. Outdoor lava rock shower, private lanai, and the sound of the ocean to put me to sleep :) on super comfortable king size beds. Free coffee, Tea and Banana bread in the rooms. yum!

Breakfast buffet, although expensive at $35, but amazing. Bloody Mary was the best I'd had. Every meal on the resort was delicious, though we couldn't afford to have every meal there. Fresh towels and ice water the minute you sit down by any pool or the beach. Concierge is very helpful with anything you need, off-resort dining recommendations, new robes/towels, privacy when we needed it, chocolate covered strawberries on the house for the honeymoon, you name it! They were extrememly accomodating every step of the way.

5/5 stars in every way possible. Yes, expensive, but because they are the best. Excellence all the way.

Room Tip: The adult-only infinite pool was always quiet, a good place to have a room next to. But honestly, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my favorite hotel. Period. I am sitting on my bed motivated to write this review because I am so impressed and happy. They recognized our anniversary with (we got a beautiful view ) and are helping to make it a exceptional trip. The management really makes you feel like a king

The front desk Team, and management, (all are good but I specifically wanted to thank Tony and Jason) are genuine, friendly, and rock solid professionals. The staff, at all levels, are on the ball and truly interested in making your stay the best it can be. The Staff has Class and the level of training is truly evident.

The rooms are perfect (the outdoor shower and nearby self service laundry rooms are great touches), the gym and spa are without equal, and the food is broke da mouth good.

The cocktails are outstanding as well. Fresh ingredients and creatively made. I had a Bloody Maria (tequila) at the swim up Pool Bar and it blew my mind.

I have stayed at most of the resorts up and down the Kohala Coast and some are good but the Haulalai is the Best. The best by far.

This is my third trip here and it gets better every time - I would not go elsewhere, ever.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Starting with leis and tropical fruit drinks in coconut shell cups at check in - its all Aloha! Our room overlooked the beach and snorkel pond. Waking up to the sound of the ocean waves was a real treat. All of the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Snorkeling in King's pond with its massive number and variety of tropical fish was an awesome experience. We stayed six days / five nights and were given extended checkout of 5 PM as our flight out was 8 PM. Aloha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What else can I say. This resort is absolutely the best. Our room, just steps from the ocean, was perfect. Love the newly updated patios and cabana bed. Staff is excellent and we cant wait to return some day.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the kings pond area, sleep with doors open listening to the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Probably the most amazing resort I have ever stayed at. You will never want to leave. Definitely splurge for a full ocean view room. The best pool is the main pool by the Beach Tree, which is also the best restaurant. Also, the walk south along the water in between the lava rock is spectacular. There are way too many terrific things to mention, so I will just say this: Hualalei will spoil you for any resort you ever stay at in the future. Simply fantastic!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Four Seasons Haulalai for 6 nights and we are already planning our next trip back. Our experience was sensational from start to finish - the location is secluded, the property is large and well maintained, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the service is second to none. We were keen to explore the island and the concierge was particularly helpful in organising car hire, a helicopter flight, a swim with the dolphins etc. There was plenty to do around the resort e.g. we took stand up paddle boarding lessons, fed the eagle ray and played poolside games. The dining was reasonably good (though the main restaurant was under renovations). The only downside is the lack of a shuttle to and from the airport and Kona (where a number of the water activities take place); otherwise, our stay was faultless!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.