We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons Resort, Kona, Island of Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four Seasons Resort, Kona, Island of Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wonderful Resort! We loved this resort. It was one of the most relaxing places I have ever been. The grounds were kept immaculate. There are sea turtles that rest on the beach area every day. The way the chairs on the beach are set, it is very private and very relaxing. The staff brings you samples of cocktails...very small! They even stop by to clean your sunglasses from the salt air! Everything about this resort was spectacular....the rooms were spacious and clean, the staff was helpful and gracious, and the food was delicious. If you can only do one thing, make sure you don't miss the sunset on the beach. Most beautiful. Make sure you do not miss the sunset on the beach. Spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    141
    49
    30
    13
See reviews for
450
822
20
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to vacation in Hawaii. The most relaxed vacation I have ever had and to be honest the Four Seasons had a lot to do with that.

Room Tip: If you are vacationing without children get a room around the adults-only pool. Great time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel three times in the last five years. The hotel just keeps getting better and better. They continually upgrade entire areas of the resort including two new pools.

The thing that sets four seasons apart is the staff and the service they provide. They are incredibly friendly and smiling all the time. I think its the closest to royalty one can get.

I love Hawaii and have been there ten times in the last 5 years. This hotel is by far my most favorite across all the islands and personally is my favorite hotel in all of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Awesome is what are kids would say. They would've stayed another week if we let them. The oldest at 9, has already decided he's going to work there and drive a golf cart around. Our youngest was 3 when we went last summer and there was as much or as little as each of us wanted to do. You have to swim in the Kings pond at least once, and they have touch tank sessions and the staff is all very helpful from equipment to knowledge and information. And don't miss the eagle ray feelings - the boys got a big kick out of that! The breakfast buffet for the kids and the lunch buffet at the pool were the easiest and best for kids and parents alike.

Make sure you visit Holly at the Beach Tree Lounge and order a Freddie's Broken Flipper . . . We haven't found a good representation stateside yet!

Room Tip: Pick one on the first floor with the outdoor lava rock shower. If your with children pick a room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for your review and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for your recent family vacation.

I have been waiting a long time for someone to mention, "Freddie's Broken Flipper" on Trip Advisor. It is the hidden gem of the Beach Tree Lounge, right after the amazing service and stunning ocean views. The Hendricks Gin, Cucumber and Lime Leaf make the perfect refreshing combination to enjoy the epic sunsets.

The drink was named after the famous carved turtle that sits on the edge of the Beach Tree Bar. The ocean front and lounge area was damaged during the tsunami in March 2011 but "Freddie" held on strong, only suffering a slight break to his flipper. This inspired the Bartenders of Beach Tree to craft this amazing, not to be missed, cocktail.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With warmest aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the resport for 5 days around July 4th and now understand why people rave about this hotel. The resort is incredible and more than impressed us at every turn. I am generally not a fan of huge resorts and went on this trip expecting what we got at the Maui Four Seasons a couple of years ago--hit or miss service, over-crowded pools and mediocre food. We could not have been more wrong. The resort is huge but because it is so spread out, it doesn't feel crowded at all (they were almost at full capacity when we were there). The grounds are magnificent and spotless, and the service will blow your socks off. They cater to your every whim. For example, we ordered off menu at every beachside/poolside lunch and it was not a problem, and valet filled up our car with gas before we checked out so we didn't have to stop at the gas station. Our ocean view room was huge and stocked with all of the amenities you expect from a Four Seasons. The room had a lovely balcony where we could watch the sunset and was serviced twice a day. The property has several pools and lots of chairs on the sand, all of which are regularly serviced by pool/beach attendants that bring around fruit kabobs, smoothies, cold towels, etc. The food at the resort was the best we had on the island. I strongly recommend the Pahu i'a's Saturday night buffet. Not a huge fan of buffets, but the grilled lobsters and steak, fresh seafood, and sushi stations made this an amazing meal. Finally, there is free WiFi throughout the resport. Overall, this is an incredible resort, with service that is above an beyond anything I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Based on recommendations from friends, I had high expectations of this resort. It exceeded them. It has the nearly flawless service, tasteful decor and comforts that you would expect from a Four Seasons property. But the stunning, beautifully landscaped location right at the water's edge transforms the resort in to an extraordinary experience. And it works for the whole family. We spent spring break there with our young daughter (along with a lot of other families), and the resort's thoughtful features for kids --kids' pool, family pool, daily kids' activities, kid-friendly (but not dumbed-down) menu options at the restaurants-- help adults and children keep up a happy, relaxed coexistence that's truly feels like a vacation for everyone. The resort was full, but never felt crowded, with the possible exception of the restaurants which were short of bookings at mealtimes.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room with an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a great time and experience at this hotel. They did a wonderful job catering to the kids, and the level of service was extremely high. They left little gifts for the kids in the room, and had the kids names chalked onto the bathtub which was a very nice surprise. The room was excellent, and the facilities were wonderful. Kings Pond is really cool for easy access to decent snorkeling, and the Seashell pool is wonderful for noisy children to have a good time without worrying about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.