We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We visited the Four Seasons on the Big Island back in September 2011 for a company conference. I honestly cannot stop thinking about this wonderful piece of paradise! If you have a bucket list you MUST put this place right at the top! It is the most beautiful place I have ever been! Of course any trip to a Four Seasons will change you for life because no place will ever measure up again. We had a beautiful room overlooking the infinity pool and the ocean. The rooms were beautiful and the bed and all amenities were superb. The food was wonderful and the service cannot be beat. I would highly recommend this piece of paradise. I feel so fortunate that we were able to visit Hawaii for our company conference and would love to go back some day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    140
    49
    30
    13
See reviews for
448
821
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you truly want a 1st class experience, this is the place. Adult popsicles on the beach, suntan lotion at the cabana's, wonderful views and a staff beyond imagination.

Low key, relaxing and well behaved people everywhere

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Breath taking rooms w view by King's Pond, wonderful experience with nature and the staff were all very accommodating and courteous.

Must return with kids soon! Worth the extra $$$

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Four Seasons Hualalai is hands down the best hotel i've been to and I think back to my time there at least once a week! I've been there twice now and hope to go back at some stage in the future.

Our rooms were perfect with beautiful views, the staff were friendly and helpful and sitting around the pool being offered ice lollies, sunscreen, water, mist spray etc is just bliss.

The buffet breakfast is INCREDIBLE, I think i tried absolutely everything on offer and enjoyed it all!

Being able to run/stroll along the beach and be able to see turtles, dolphins and whales just blows your mind away- truly unforgettable! Would recommend in a heart beat to anyone who asks. Wonderful

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This property is beautiful and from the moment you drive in the staff is waiting to server you at a level few expect. They embodie the Aloha spririt and what it means to vacation on Hawaii.

Room Tip: the 600 units have a great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have read about this place for years in travel magazines and in tourist surveys. Made it a point to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary here. WOW! We were upgraded to an "eco" suite overlooking the King's Pond for 3 nights. It was so outstanding it was hard to leave the room. We took breakfast on the balcony every day. We arrived on a Saturday in time for the beachside buffet -- what a treat. Best buffet ever - seafood, sushi, so much more. Rented clubs and shoes and played a round of golf- had a 0800 start time and played solo and finished 18 hours under 3 hours. We did a couples massage in the spa -- best ever. This resort is truly in a class by itself. Our only other comparator is the FS in Costa Rica which is an equivalent property, but also offers a beach for swimming, You have to know coming here that it is expensive. $400 for the golf. $21 each for a Ketel One Martini and $16 for a Mai Tai. But the experience is genuinly priceless and will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian R, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and I am so glad we were able to live up to your expectations. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our upgraded "Eco Crescent".

The Eco Crescent started with ideas like replacing plastic water bottles with ceramic carafes and cups, which are refilled daily by our staff. These initiatives will ultimately help us to reduce our carbon footprint.

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your feedback and even though you were able to check us off your "bucket list" we hope to see you back very soon.

Warmest Aloha,

Florian Riedel
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The room was so great I didn't want to leave it. Great sunset views across golf course overlooking ocean. Kept our doors open at night. Outdoor shower to die for! Service was embarrassingly attentive. Attention to detail by staff and management was exceptional. Every need was anticipated and satisfied. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.