We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List no More!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bucket List no More!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have read about this place for years in travel magazines and in tourist surveys. Made it a point to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary here. WOW! We were upgraded to an "eco" suite overlooking the King's Pond for 3 nights. It was so outstanding it was hard to leave the room. We took breakfast on the balcony every day. We arrived on a Saturday in time for the beachside buffet -- what a treat. Best buffet ever - seafood, sushi, so much more. Rented clubs and shoes and played a round of golf- had a 0800 start time and played solo and finished 18 hours under 3 hours. We did a couples massage in the spa -- best ever. This resort is truly in a class by itself. Our only other comparator is the FS in Costa Rica which is an equivalent property, but also offers a beach for swimming, You have to know coming here that it is expensive. $400 for the golf. $21 each for a Ketel One Martini and $16 for a Mai Tai. But the experience is genuinly priceless and will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian R, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and I am so glad we were able to live up to your expectations. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our upgraded "Eco Crescent".

The Eco Crescent started with ideas like replacing plastic water bottles with ceramic carafes and cups, which are refilled daily by our staff. These initiatives will ultimately help us to reduce our carbon footprint.

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your feedback and even though you were able to check us off your "bucket list" we hope to see you back very soon.

Warmest Aloha,

Florian Riedel
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    162
    60
    30
    14
See reviews for
515
924
25
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The room was so great I didn't want to leave it. Great sunset views across golf course overlooking ocean. Kept our doors open at night. Outdoor shower to die for! Service was embarrassingly attentive. Attention to detail by staff and management was exceptional. Every need was anticipated and satisfied. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Love the hotel as we have stayed twice with our young children.

Now our children are 9 and 12 and its just not the same.

The main reason is the required suite or 2 rooms.

The 1st floor suites withe outside shower are awesome, but they are 2500/nt.

So the resort has gone off the charts for most.

We were lucky to be there before the market set the prices.

Room Tip: Kings Pond for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stunning resort!!!!!!!!!!!! Highly recommend it to families or couples. I am looking forward to coming back with my husband!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Beautiful Resort and incredible service! We had a wonderful time and a beautiful room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lava Shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A must stay for anyone! A little bit on the pricy side but worth it! Consider you are on a cruise how much is that? The service is world class and the hotel is the best you will find. A must and a true gold mind for the cultrul seekers!

Room Tip: Anyroom get is great but an ocean front is fantastic...you may never want to go outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian R, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time here at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your glowing words of praise about our property.

Mahalo, Mahalo and we look forward to your next stay !

Warmest Aloha,

Florian Riedel
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallingford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was such a beautiful resort and the staff was fabulous! What a great vacation destination.
There is not a room that does not have a breathtaking view and all is set on the most manicured landscape. We had planned events that were so nicely put together every detail was great!!

I would highly recommend everyone stay here at least once in your lifetime!!

Room Tip: They are all great - I think every room has a view of the water and a pool of some sort. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.1 mi away
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai - The Place of `Uhane inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka'Upulehu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.