We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut crusted onion rings, Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bongo Ben's Island Cafe

Bongo Ben's Island Cafe
75-5819 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Bongo Ben's)
+1 808-329-9203
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Café, Grill, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walua Road
Transit: The Big Island, "Hele-On", public bus and Kona Trolley stop right in front of the restaurant.
Description: Bongo Ben's Island Cafe has quickly made a name for itself as the "Go-To" place for an extensive menu and delicious food, outside ocean front dining with great sunset views, upbeat local evening entertainment, and an Aloha fun-friendly atmosphere! We are honored to be voted "2013 Best Breakfast West Hawaii" from the voters at the West Hawaii Today, but you'll love our lunch and dinners too!
South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Coconut crusted onion rings, Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I ordered the coconut crusted onion rings and my wife had the hawaiian chicken sandwich. I never thought that I would like onion rings and coconuts together but Bobngo Ben's made me a believer! The sauce they serve with them was perhaps better than the rings. Now that's saying something. My wife said the Hawaiian chicken sandwich was one of the best she'd ever tasted. I definitely recommend Bongo Bob's to anyone staying in Kona. As if you needed yet another reason to go to Hawaii! Oh, and the view's not bad either!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    252
    68
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

During a recent visit I had breakfast here several mornings. This is an extremely busy place and you sometimes have to wait to be seated, but be patient as it's well worth it. Once seated it may take some time to be served but that's only because everyone is eating here. All of the wait staff are moving as fast as they can. I strongly suggest any of the omelets on the menu. They use very fresh and tasty vegetables and the onions are to die for. If you are in a hurry, don't come here. Plan on staying a while and enjoying the ocean view. The wait will be well worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good atmophere, overlooking the ocean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was a good fine. Exciting atmosphere, fun wait staff, very good food options.

The fish taco was very flavourful, big portions, and with salad, very healthy!!

The view is fantastic, overlooking the beach, and sunsets! Happy hour ends at 6, and across the road is a Hyper Shave Ice stand selling a dairy based shave ice type dessert, that too is yummy!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Open Air Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Watch the ocean, surfers, tourists and locals from the bar facing the street as you chow down on Bongo Ben Egg's Benedict, fresh Kona coffee and fist size biscuits that are baked fresh daily. Bring your receipt the next day and receive a free stack of pancakes. The servers are friendly and sometimes spread out too thin for personal service. A very popular restaurant for lunch and dinner too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ok place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The food was good and our waiter was entertaining. Recommend the strawberry spinach salad.

On the downside the washroom was up a winding staircase outside of the eatery. It needs to be freshened up big time.

All in all, decent place to eat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongo Ben's Island Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bongo Ben's Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bongo Ben's Island Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.