We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and inexpensive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BaLe Kona Restaurant

BaLe Kona Restaurant
Pailani Road, Kona Coast Shopping Center, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 233 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Restaurant details
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and inexpensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wow what a find. Pretty sure restaurant was full with locals which is always a good sign.

We tried the Pho which was amazing, most restaurants can't do this noodle soup justice but theirs was incredible. Also had spring rolls and husband had spicy lemon grass chicken noodles, wasn't that spicy but you have all the condiments to add some heat at your table. Finished with a mayo bubble tea. This all came approx. $20!

Will go back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
traverse city, mi
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Bargain Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In a location of high food prices this place offers better than average plate lunch level food at very reasonable prices. They even have a $5 mini menu with lots of choices for light appetites. Many foods to experience with a low cost. have also been to Ba-Le on Maui that was equal to this store. Order at the counter and a server brings it to your table. Many locals eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches – better eaten at home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have eaten at BaLe now four years in a row. While the quality of the food has remained pretty much stable and very good, the cleanliness of the restaurant has degraded visibly over the years. The floor is sticky, the chairs are apparently meant to be avoided (see attached pics) and do not even bother looking behind the counter. Last year I gave BaLe 4/5 because of the dirty chairs. I am afraid I have to lower the score this year again...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved the Bahn Mi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Tried to go to the Ba-Le in Hilo, but it was closed.

Their spring rolls weren't the greatest, but the Bahn Mi was very tasty. Didn't try any of the pho or bun dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spring for rolls and noodles! No regrets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Yummy! Wish we had a BaLe on Kauai! I did a take out and walked back to my hotel to eat it! It was still hot and so good that I at the whole dish by myself.......no sharing.....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BaLe Kona Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to BaLe Kona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BaLe Kona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.