We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we tried it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Thai Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Original Thai Cuisine
75 Kuakini Highway, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
(808) 329-3459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Glad we tried it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had heard negative reports about service here, but the place has many positives. The entire staff was very friendly and gracious without being overbearing. Yes, we had to remind the server about a forgotten Thai Iced Tea, which by the way, was excellent. But in their defense, it was busy and she seemed to be the only one working the dining area for the better portion of the time we were there, and despite that, she performed admirably, and all in all the point to remember is that they were just plain friendly, which goes a long way with us, The best part was the food and the options of mild to spicy seasonings,and just one item we enjoyed was the Summer Rolls as an appetizer. We love Thai food and is nice to have a place to want to go back to!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place has excellent food and fast service. The food was authentic and they have daily specials. Some of them looked real pricey. If you are in a wheelchair and travelling alone, you cannot use the rest room here since there are two small steps on the way to the unisex restroom.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food for sure, others touches need work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Food was good. Restaurant could use more space and faster service. No kid friendly choices. Would be great for leisurely date night. Flavors were on time, other touches really could use update and work. Would visit again if kidless and in the mood for good Thai.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We found this place by accident, while looking for another business in Kailua Kona. Since it was lunch time, we decided to give it a try. What a great find! Our waitress was kind and helpful as we made our selections. We both ordered lunch specials, which were well prepared, with sizable portions. The restaurant appeared to be a bit understaffed for the number of customers in the dining area, but no one seemed to mind, including us. We were not in a rush, and our meals were well worth the wait. This was a great dining experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food, Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Panang our favorite is awsome, all curries awsome, salad is great and the coconut milk soup is addicting. We have been enjoying the food and friendly service for 3 years. Family owned and operated, it's our favorite place to eat on the big island. It's very basic as far as atmoshpere but the flavors you will experience are amazing. They don't serve alcohol but you can bring your own.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Original Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.