We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Nice Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
75-5995 Kuakini Hwy, Ste 1, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-327-0209
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 241 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Service and Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Good service and food but a little more time between servings would have been better. Jon provided great friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    293
    106
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great big fresh portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We came here wondering why this was such a high ranked restaurant on Trip Advisor and we can see why it is! Great warm staff to immediately greet you. Not a big menu but both my husband and I didn't have a problem picking something out. He picked the scallops with sweet mashed potatoes ( he said these were the best potatoes he has ever had!) I had the pasta florentine with 6 big grilled shrimp. The portion was so huge that I had the rest the following day!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant. Incredible service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Me and my family went here while on vacation recently. This restaurant was great! The food was excellent and it was presented like I would expect at a much "fancier" restaurant. The fish was incredible. But the thing that really stood out was the service. Every person we interacted with was amazingly helpful. One of the best restaurants experiences we've had. I normally don't write reviews for restaurants, but I feel this place truly earned it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We didn't have a reservation on our first visit but the wait was okay as the bartender was both friendly and knowledgeable, even about wine offerings. And BTW, the wine list has some very nice selections. We both chose one of the fresh catches, mine being ahi and I believe she had ono. Don't let the fact I can't remember the exact dishes make you think I was not impressed - We share dinners and they were both incredible. Make sure you order the macadamia ahi tartare appetizer - simply wonderful. I'll post a picture of that. I think I have a pic of one of the fish entries as well.

We returned later in the week and she ordered one of the excellent fish dishes. Since we had been eating fish all week, I took the advice of a local and ordered the Rack of Lamb. Wow - they do a great job with that as well.

You can tell I like this place. I thanked the owner and told him he needs to keep his chef happy. He agreed and said he actually has two chefs. They are both top notch and have been there for about nine years. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the Fish Specials!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I am a regular at Jackie Rey's and have had most everything on the menu. I really LOVE the fish specials which are so creative and as delicious to eat as they are beautiful to look at. SO good. Thanks for such reasonable prices and excellent service. Always happy to get to Jackie Rey's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.