We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
75-5995 Kuakini Hwy, Ste 1, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-327-0209
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is not a fancy location, but the food was really good and we would definitely eat there again. Lots of locals go there, so reservations are a good idea. It actually fills up quickly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    293
    106
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
1 review
“Best rack of lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I loved the lamb. Perfectly done and in a sauce that hinted of the Caribbean but was from New Zeland I think. I thought the sauce had tamarind in it but turned out it was cinnamon. They were memorable!!
The service was great as always- its always a fun place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columba
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Restaurant to Eat at More than Once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A Kona local recommended this restaurant for us and it was an excellent suggestion. In fact, we ended up eating dinner at this restaurant twice in a 7 day vacation. We had a large party at both of our meals and the food and service could not have been better. This fish dishes were superb and the fresh catch of the day is always offered in several different preparations. The poke was one of the best we have ever tasted! Other friends tried some of the meat offerings including BBQ ribs and double cut pork chops and all had nothing but great things to say about their meals. Try to save room for dessert and if you are looking for a cocktail suggestion that is not too sweet but still fun and tropical we highly recommend the "lemon drop". Do not miss this restaurant if you are in the Kailua-Kona area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Art on a plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The food in this place was some of the prettiest, most artfully arranged grub I have ever put in my mouth. That said, it was also really tasty. We were invited to join some local friends while we were in Kona on vacation. The place was busy, but our server was polished and did a great job. Our group of 8 tried three apps, and several specialty drinks. The ahi on chips was divine...We also really liked the kaluha pork spring rolls. We had a wide variety of entrees, but stand outs were the ahi tower and the coffee rubbed steak.The other stuff was great, but we all really liked those two items most. Of course, we did not find out about this place, which was close to our condo until the day before we left. We would have revisited a lot of times. MMMm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Went there with high expectation because of good TA reviews. Came out very disappointed. The service is good but the food is so sub-par. The Seared Jumbo Scallops I had were small and tough. As my husband's Seafood Trio - fish is bland and cold, crab cakes are fried! I'm mystified by all those good reviews. Perhaps I can not apply the standard I'm accustomed in the big city to Big Island. But Hawaii??

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.