We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, relaxing dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
75-5995 Kuakini Hwy, Ste 1, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-327-0209
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, relaxing dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Whether it's lunch or dinner, the food at Jackie Rey's is always wonderful, the service friendly and the wines and drinks menu top notch! Farm to table fresh; don't miss the fish which is always locally caught.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    293
    106
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Jackie Rey's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We went here after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. I had the greek salad and my husband had the Ono. everything was fresh and good. Hummus could have used a little more garlic. My husband wasn't a big fan of the purple potatoes with coconut, just a little too sweet for him but he said they were ok. I think a couple of people must have called in sick as there were no busboys and the staff was doing both. Our waitress was great and everything seemed to run smoothly, everyone was just a little bit busy. We'd come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Ohio
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is probably one of our favorite restaurants on the island for many reasons, great food, good prices,etc, and we usually visit atleast twice during our stay. However we just visited once this year. My husband had the mochiko crusted fish with sweet potatoes which was as usual light and tasty, I had what I usually have which is the strip steak, however this year it was different it had a skewer of shrimp which I was excited about and they were very tasty...but the steak on the other hand was disappointing, usually it had a blue cheese glaze which gave it flavor and this year it was missing, the steak was dry and bland, It pains me to say that because I love this place so much....I guess I will just stick with the fish from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa Village, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and fresh dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of my fav0rite restaurants. The staff is friendly and the food fresh,creative and wonderfully presented plus it doesn't break the budget

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Jackie Reys is easy to get to, off the Kuakini hwy. The food was excellent but a little pricey. Our waitress was very friendly but very busy the night we were there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.