We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
75-5995 Kuakini Hwy, Ste 1, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-327-0209
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 233 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Mukilteo, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This casual and busy restaurant and bar was busy every night we drove by and was recommended. We had dinner there twice as it was just a 1/2 mile from our condo. Fish and vegatables were done well, great grainy bread is served. My Ono was a bit overdone and I should have sent it back as I am sure they would have fixed the problem. Good experiences both times and friendly staff. I will go back next vacation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    250
    95
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We made a meal of about 7 shared appetizers at half price during happy hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Didn't have any of the full diners at Jackie Rey's but instead opted to combine a bunch of the appetizers, which were half off during happy hour. Some very amazing tastes! The restaurant is a bit away from the main tourist area, and is open to the outside, but no view to speak of. Parking is free. Yes, I would eat here again! Hard to give a review of the dinners, since we didn't have any, but since the appetizers were so delicious, I can only imagine their other food is equally good. Many selections of fish on the menu, but other dishes available as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This a local spot with great food, drinks and atmosphere. It is reasonably priced for the quantity. Very friendly service. Gets crowded fast in the evening; recommend reservations.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food was delicious. Two of us had elegant meals with great presentation. The third had a fish sandwich which was very tasty but the fries were the star. The best french fries on the island.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A must stop -very cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We tried to grab dinner without a reservation or call ahead and learned the wait was over an hour on a Wed night. We luckily scooped up a couple of seats at the bar. The bartenders service was excellent, the food was wonderful and presentation beautiful! Great cocktails too! The atmosphere was lovely, very relaxing. Like a tropical diner with five star food presentation!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.