We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
75-5995 Kuakini Hwy, Ste 1, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-327-0209
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 233 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stopped in for a last meal before catching the plane to return home. Everyone in our group ordered a different entree and everything was great. Friendly staff, excellent service in an island atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    250
    95
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews. It did not disappoint. Located just a few minutes from downtown Kona, it has a delightful open-air structure. We were greeted warmly by the hostess and server. The service was top notch. We had the Daily Special of Ono and Ahi on purple mashed potatoes.... our new favorite side. The meal was so delicious that we returned on the last day of our trip for a another tasty seafood meal. They didn't have the purple mashed potatoes on the menu but made a special effort to provide them for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This was our second and last time eating at this restaurant...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our second and last time eating at this restaurant. Our server was very friendly and the drinks were good, but the meal went down hill after that. The appetizer was horrible, mushrooms stuffed with canned crab that tasted so fishy we were unable to eat them. Now for our meals, I had scallops and the flavor was good but they were extremely under cooked; they were slightly cold in the middle. My wife had the pork chop; the flavor was good but it was over cooked and dry. The mashed purple potatoes were the best part of my meal. We will not go back to Jackie Rey's and cannot recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Just happened by and stopped to try it out. Pleasantly surprised by all the friendly greeting as we entered. Happened to show up during Aloha Happy Hour and could not have timed it better. Food and drink specials that can't miss. Loved it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It may not be ocean front but Jackie Rey's is one of the best, if not "the best" restaurant in Kona. Must try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.