We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star in Croatia, former Yugoslavia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amabilis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amabilis to your Saves list
Hotel Amabilis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emila Antica 68, Selce 51266, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Selce
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“five star in Croatia, former Yugoslavia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

after visiting Yugoslavia every summer for 20 years, we've had enough of their unfriendliness and attitude and stayed away for good. After another 25 years we thought to give it a Chance and were pleasantly surprised. Amabilis deserves truely ist 5 star Status, top design, super clean and unbelivable friendliness of all staff with no exception. the Restaurant serves excellent seefood and the breakfast is out of this world!
secluded private parking inside the Hotel compound makes the stay even more comfortable.
since it has not 5.000 rooms, one feels at home, so cozy and even at highest Peak, the Hotel was fully booked, no waiting time whatsoever!
the beach is typically for that area, Stones and it is recommended to buy watershoes for $ 8 but on the bright side stoney beaches guarantee cristal clear Waters and plenty of fish!
Since ist only a 3 hours drive from Austria or 6 hours from Germany, an ideal Weekend getaway.

Room Tip: all rooms facing the Adriatic Sea, superior rooms have mor privacy than DeLuxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

New luxury hotel direct on the beach in walking distance to center of Selce as well Cikvrenica, very stylish complete in white, superior rooms with a big private sun terrasse woth a great view along 180 degrees the coast line and on the island of Krk!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My Wife and I are retired and we are fortunate enough to be able to travel the world and enjoy what the good life has to offer. We just returned from the Paul Gauguin Cruise in Tahiti (French Polynesia) to Croatia where we temporarily live. We heard about this new 5 star hotel (Amabilis) that recently opened in Selce, Croatia so we decided to check it out. The access to the hotel is a bit tricky, driving through dead end streets and other hotel parking lots but the signs are well placed except at the last turn which is at a T intersection once you reach the small road at the beach front. If you go right (the wrong way, which I did) you have to go far before you are able to make a U turn. Left is the proper way and the hotel is quickly reached. The parking lot is gated so we parked on the street and went to the reception where we were greeted by a very young man. I told him that we were interested in the hotel, he handed us the brochures and prices and I asked if we could have a look around and he said yes. I told him that the direction signs were great except that the last turn is not marked so it’s very easy to make the wrong turn. He informed me that people today use the navigational aids so it’s not a big deal. I think I’ve just been told that I am an old dinosaur. We walked into the bar/restaurant on the same floor. I must say that it is very impressive, all white décor with accents of black to set it off. Tables were decorated with fresh flowers, the kitchen is open, separated by a huge glass partition, floor to ceiling glass walls look out onto the veranda and the sea beyond. Very impressed, we walked by reception toward the exit as a burly individual in a white t-shirt with huge scowl on his face was walking in. As a matter of courtesy I said good day but there was no reply. We walked outside and started down the steps to see the beach area when from above we heard a very rude voice hollering “Hey you”. We looked up and it was the angry fellow that waked into the hotel as we were walking out, he continued to holler that we cannot be walking around the premises and must leave. I tried to tell him that we were interested in the hotel and that we had permission from the reception attendant. He was not interested in our explanation and practically threw us off the premises. Needless to say we felt humiliated and belittled so much for the Croatian hospitality. I don’t know what the rest of the staff is like but this incident was enough to put this hotel on our black list and never return again. By the way, while in Tahiti, we visited the Four Seasons in Bora Bora, Intercontinental in Pape’ete and the Intercontinental in Mo’orea. We were able to look around to our hearts content. We were so impressed with the Mo’orea hotel that we made reservations for next year. So you decide whether it’s important to be able to see the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviles, Spain
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

“Amabilis” is a magnificent hotel that creates a magic atmosphere of beauty, quiet and refinement. The rooms have been elegantly decorated with exquisite taste, delivering to the host a feeling of class and unpretentious luxury. From the window and the balcony, one gets the impression of floating on the water. The restaurant is gorgeous and affords an almost semi-circular view of the sea. In our opinion, this relatively small hotel largely outclasses many impersonal 5-star establishments.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have spent a couple of days of August in this beautiful hotel between Selce and Crikvenica, and we have enjoyed our staying to the fullest!

The hotel is excellent! It is the best hotel in the area. Brand new with spacious comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms (which are a bit small compared to the size of the room). Our room was on the first floor. Those rooms (deluxe) have a big terrace with loungers and direct sea view. The only problem is that you have to share this terrace with the rest of the rooms located on the first floor. If you are ok with this, it’s really worth it, but if you prefer more privacy, then go for a superior room on the second floor. Superior rooms are as big as the deluxe ones, they also have direct sea view but they have one smaller balcony each. Our initial booking was for a superior room but they have offered us a free upgrade to the deluxe type, something that we have really appreciated!

Upon arrival they have offered us an assortment of sliced fresh fruits.

Breakfast was very good and dinner was excellent. Fine dining, elegant setting, smiling, friendly and polite staff and magnificent view over the Kvarner Bay!

Another plus of this hotel is its small private beach, something that you cannot easily find in Croatia, since all beaches are public by law. Even those in front of the hotels.

There is also a nice indoor pool for a rainy day!

Last but not least, the hotel is not far away from Opatija and Krk Island. Both places worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with the big shared terrace. They really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is brand New and it is perfect in every way. We stayed there for 4 days in May 2013 and will go back with family and friends now in september.

The Hotel is situated on the Sea..it feels like living on a boat. The breakfast was very good and varied.
The village is nice and quiet. Some restaurants and shopping along the seaside.
It is worth going to Opatja if you want more advanced shopping and more people. A very nice Town.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and seaview..is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel!!!. We arrived late at night, and their staff prepared an amazing meal for us specially since we were all vegetarian. Service was on point. The rooms were spacious, modern and comfortable. The view was unreal.
The only bad thing I have to say is that they don't have a running spa, even though they have all the facilities for one (massage rooms, steam rooms etc) and no jacuzzi.
I would definitely go here on the way to visit Istria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amabilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amabilis

Address: Emila Antica 68, Selce 51266, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Selce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Selce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amabilis 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amabilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amabilis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.