We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous setting, idyllic island surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafodia Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lafodia Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Ive Kuljevana 51, Lopud 20222, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WATERHILL SPA FREE ENTRY
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lopud
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“fabulous setting, idyllic island surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

perfect location for a romantic couples holiday.
Top class accommodation.
Newly refurbished hotel.
Excellent service.

Room Tip: junior suite number 251 or 252 perfect. large balcony over looking adriatic sea and surrounding isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    184
    29
    19
    7
See reviews for
83
329
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Svolvaer, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Newly renovated luxury hotel on Lopod near Dubrovnik. Very friendly staff and high standard in our master double room on the 7 floor. With jacuzi on our terasse but sun on the terasse only in the start of the day, but with temperature about 25 c that is no problem of course. Lot of people at the breakfast, but in the evening few people in the bar inside and the club at the waterfront.But total it was a very pleasent stay this September!

Room Tip: If you want sun on terasse choose rooms facing the pool between east and west towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Pros:

Good location
Great modern rooms: quiet and effective air con, big comfortable beds, great bathroom, balconys with great views
Very clean
Friendly staff
Plenty of choice in the breakfast buffet
Pool and lounge area are fanastic
Nice beach bar

Cons

Some poor quality items in the breakfast buffet, cereal stale, bacon gristly, cheap jam, cheap yoghurt, watered down juices etc.
No free WIFI in the rooms
No coffee or milk in the rooms
Hotel has a bit of wasp problem in its grounds, they have plenty of wasp catching devices out there but they need more!
Entertainment was a bit lame, the "animation" entertainment team bugged us a bit too much to join in uninspiring plastic dart games, spin the hat etc.

The island

Lopud is very laid back, We found the best food and value at Peggies. The food and drink prices are about the same as the UK. The futher away from the hotel you get the cheaper it gets. Excellent seafood choices but most of the menu's aren't that comprehensive. Vegetarians will struggle on the Island, especially at Barbara's where the only Vegi option was cheese and a bread roll. But overall we didn't have a bad meal. We had a walk upto the fort which was hard work but worth it for the views. Sunji beach is also well worth a visit. Dubrovnic is lovely too, make sure you go up the cable car its worth it for the views and the war museum.

Overall I was really impressed with Croatia, I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Exciting to get the boat transfer direct to the hotel. When we arrived in our suite the views from our corner balconies were stunning. The room was very comfortable and modern. We were half board and the food was great with lots of choice, something to please everyone. Did some lovely walks around the island and to Sunj Beach. Also caught the local ferry across to Sipan and Kolocep Islands one day. Visited Dubrovnik twice - once during the day and once on an evening transfer from the hotel - it's a fantastic city. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have just returned from a week relaxing holiday.. staying at Hotel Lafodia on Lapod Island...it was breath taking.. The views from our room amazing..

Took a hike up to the fort..WOW..that was hard work..but well worth it.. the view was stunning..

Took a bike ride over to the other side of the island to visit Sunj Beach..excellent day fanstatic food..wouldnt recommend taking a bike..its quite a trek in the sizzling sun and very hilly..

Holel staff, Happy, Friendly, BUT Claudia the Thomson Rep..she is there to help you with anything, even though she was suffering a sore throat.

Things to remember.. Take your own T-bags & coffee (Tea herbal-Coffee strong)
When dining out..try to have the right money. (you never get your
change)
When just having a drink..watch your change..
WARNING no Cider on the island (weep weep)
Wasps..take wasp spray..

Would like to point out that, we took the early ferry 6.20am to Dirbronik, and forgot to order breakfast...So the hotel said we could have a evening meal instead free of charge...Bonus

Animation Team...(entaintment team)
Lovely people..They have a hard job trying to please all ages.. polo sport was funny.. Aqua aerobics.. was excellent..cocktail games..funny..evening entertainment was ok.. our group of 4 enjoyed it and took part in the evening singing and dancing plus the odd games.. it is Hard for the Animation Team to do anything due to the late season..Overall Great Evenings on the pier


Overall a brilliant-amazing-relaxing-pleasent-stress free holiday...

Excellent Holtel..
Excellent Staff..
Excellent Food..
Excellent Company..
Excellent friendly local people..
Met some nice and friendly people..

Room Tip: no problem with our room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We travelled with Thomsons from Gatwick to Lopud, if I had to find any fault with the whole holiday the only thing I could say was that it was a long journey from the airport to the hotel and we weren't offered any refreshments on the bus - a bottle of water would be enough, or a welcome drink on arrival. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly and everyone speaks perfect English.

Having said that - the hotel, staff, location, room, everything was just brilliant. The pool area is lovely and the hotel beach too - shingles though so painful underfoot - the sea is beautifully clear and the view over to the mainland is marvellous. Its a pity the hotel faces north which means the sun vanishes over the hills by very early afternoon.

Sunj beach - dont miss it! Once we discovered it, we were there every day!! Its not a long way to walk - there is a steep part but then after that its downhill all the way to the sea. We walked back too in the beginning but after a long day in the sun its nice to get the "taxi" (golf cart) back. Tip - the restaurant on the left hand side looking at the sea is the better of the two beach restaurants. The service is very friendly, and the food is great too.

The restaurants along the seafront are all really good - cannot find fault with any of them at all. However they are not at all cheap - they are definitely London prices if not more (on average we paid £70 for two course dinner with wine for two persons).

We were on b&b stay at the hotel and the breakfast was very good and there was plenty to choose from - scrambled eggs, bacon etc, or fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, freshly baked bread and croissants.

We also tried dinner in the hotel too, sitting on the balcony overlooking the bay, the food was very good there too but we preferred fish from the local restaurants, however the staff are so friendly and helpful - and all so very very TALL !! It was still a lovely evening.

The only restaurant we can find fault with is Peggy's - we read great reviews on Trip Advisor and looked it up. The food was very nice but we felt totally ignored. Also if you do decide to go there take cash as they don't accept any credit cards.

Don't miss the day trip to Dubrovnik as it is worth the visit. Its worth taking the hotel excursion instead of the ferry as the hotel boat takes you right into the Old Port, whereas the ferry drops you at the other harbour where you have to then take a 15 min bus ride to the old town.

We hope you enjoy Lopud and Hotel Lafodia as much as we did!

PS - its true that there is no coffee in the rooms - only tea bags - take a jar of Nescafe with you!

Room Tip: West wing pool side have good views of the "town",while East wing pool side have sunset v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Modern very clean quirky Hotel very recently refurbished. Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful views, lovely setting.
We went half board thinking that there would not be many places to eat on such a small island - if we go again would just go B&B as the food was only OK. There are some very nice restaurants on the short walk to the port.
The beach on the other side of the island is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafodia Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafodia Hotel & Resort

Address: Obala Ive Kuljevana 51, Lopud 20222, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Lopud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lopud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lafodia Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the city’s bustle, surrounded by sea and palm trees, Hotel Lafodia is the perfect place if you’re looking for relax in an exclusive location.This four stars hotel has become a byword for peaceful holidays amongst the clear waters that surround the Lopud Island which is better known as "The Island in the middle". You will be amused to be in such a nature and peaceful landscape, experiencing unforgettable moments of harmony and tranquility while relaxing completely. Wrapped in comfort, soothed by the sound of the waves, enchanted by the reflection of the sun on the sea……this is your holiday at Hotel Lafodia. No motor vehicles are allowed on the island to disturb its peace and tranquility so….. just forget about the noise and traffic of everyday city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lafodia Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafodia Hotel And Resort
Lafodia Hotel Lopud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafodia Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.