We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking

Viking
Limski kanal | Sveti Lovreč, Vrsar, Croatia
052-448-223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Vrsar
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great setting and perfect lunch on a perfect day. We shared a fish platter for 2. Our guidebook recommended and it was a bit tricky to find on the GPS but basically it is at the head of the Lim Channel.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“A tourist "trap" that actually serves good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Viking Restaurant gets most of its business from people who arrive on many of the boat excursion trips from Porec and Rovinj. They also pick up business from Croatians in search of the fresh oysters from the nearby farms in the stunning Lim Fjord.

On our only visit to this restaurant I really wasn't expecting anything very much. The service was "as usual" in Croatia; sometimes good, sometimes bad, but what did surprise us was the food. The calamari was a delight. The oysters were extremely good. The calamari though was lightly cooked to retain the flavour and very tender and delicate to eat.

The salad was good also.

So if you find yourself at the end of the beautiful Lim Fjord, take the time to sample what is good quality food, from a busy restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The right place for oysers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The restaurant Viking in the natural park of Lim fjord is the best place in Istria for oysers lovers. Eating fresh oysters coming directly from the sea just few meters from the restaurant is an fabulous gastronomic experience. Don't miss the fish soup made of different types of adriatic fish, scampi and vegetables...amazing!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikeka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Viking in search of the renowned Limski oysters and were not disappointed. Lovely oysters followed by coquilles St. Jacques and an excellent mixed fish grill for two. Price was excellent and good, friendly service. Nice setting on the banks of the Lim Fjord. It was busy despite it being out of season. We will definitely return.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and nice location but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice place overlooking Limski kanal. Food was good especially fried calamari. Prices are ok considering location but what really ruined our lounch was bill. They charge couvert 9 kuna per person and when we asked what couvert actually was not too polite waiter said it is bread (just ordinary supermarket bread) and olive oil. We did not asked for bread and have not eaten any, and to charge olive oil it is just plain greed in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking also viewed

Vrsar, Istria
Vrsar, Istria
 
Vrsar, Istria
 

Been to Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.