We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raguz family again in hotel "Letan"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Letan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Letan to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Letan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peroj 450, Vodnjan 52215, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vodnjan
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Raguz family again in hotel "Letan"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Raguz family members visited the hotel “Letan” in Peroj, close to Pula, in November 2012, and again in 2013. Thanks to the very friendly staff, and well equipped hotel, we decided to stay one weekend in November, every year, in this hotel. We had a great gathering of family and friends, and enjoyed excellent buffet meals with lots of good food and drinks.
During this weekend, Raguz family members planted a symbolic “Raguz olive tree" in "The Park of Kažuns", in Vodnjan, a small picturesque old town close to Pula, which also has an exceptional collection of sacral arts and relics in the Church of St. Blasius (Blaise). Kažuns (circular stone huts) are traditional Istrian houses using a special building method. "The Park of Kažuns" is unique in the world, and it was built in the spring of 2013, in the name of all farmers and residents of the Istrian region, in an area which is European designated as protected.
Great friends of the Raguz family, brothers Lorenzo and Livio Belci, from Vodnjan, who are famous producers of olive oil, and winners of numerous international and local awards, gave us a great gift - an olive tree which is 200 years old, from the traditional olive tree variety called Rosinjola. The old olive tree was replanted on this occasion for the purpose of regeneration of centennial trees and the protection and preservation of autochthonous olive tree varieties.
The “Raguz olive tree” was planted in the name of all our relatives who have migrated from Herzegovina to Istria, and for whom the town of Vodnjan is "a front door" for life in the Istrian region.
Hotel Letan also has its own olive trees, and we sampled their own wonderfully unique olive oil. Thanks to the Letan hotel staff, especially to Mrs. Maja and Mr. Ante. See you again in 2014!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ante-T, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Letan, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Raguz group, we are very happy to have your trust for the second time, we are very pleased that you stayed again in our hotel, and very glad that you were satisfied .
You know that you are always welcome back, with best regards we send our greetings.

Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Looks very nice, place to to sleep and hand your hat for the night. They charge by the person, $58/ night per person was the room I received. Place was booked solid. Breakfast was included, but EVERYTHING was salted to death. Eggs, bacon smoked, I was safe with the bread and a cream cheese.......if it doesn't come back up.
I asked for a very late, middle of the night check in due to being with Family nearby, so I showed up at 1:00am. The reception to great us was a little off, but got the job done. Asked for 2 pillows and he said he'll look........never saw him again. Air conditioning was a rating of 4 out of 10. The unit was broken and was trying to put out some cool air. Unfortunately it's 40 deg celc in Croatia right now and looking for something to cool me down.
The bathroom was below standard, tight quarters, shower was very tight to get in and out of, toilet flushes once every 10 minutes....don't ask....lol. At least it was partially clean. I won't stay here again.
But what a view once you drive to Adriatic coast...I guess that's why we are here after all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed in Villa Letan for 5 nights in early July and it was splendid. The hotel is quite new. It has got wonderful swimming pool which compensates relative distance from the beach.(around 800m) Rooms are spacious and clean. Each room has a private balcony. But there is no fridge in the room which could be a problem in hot summer. The hotel offers very good a varied dinners. Breakfasts are basic but sufficient. There is a little restaurant by the pool where you can get a bottle of local wine quite cheaply (try Malvazja). The village Peroj is quiet and remote. There are only couple of restaurants and minimarkets = good for a walk, bad for nightlife (if you like that). I would definitely suggest to walk to Fazana(3Km). The beach is much better there.
On the other hand the hotel itself offers a lot of activities - big pool, tennis court, spa, restaurant.....

Negatives: nearest beach is far and not worth the walk, no refrigerator in the room, staff seemed to be more friendly to german or french tourists (no wonder though!- many Czechs cannot behave)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ante-T, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Letan, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear mr. Jan K. we are very happy to be your host again , we are very pleased when you send us your reservation every year. We are sorry but unfortunatly, there isn't much we can do about the beach, but that s why we built a nice and big pool for our guests to relax under the sun . I' m sorry for the impression about not caring for Czech guests, we try to treat all the guests the same and not to have prejudices.
Hoping to hear from you soon, and to see you and your family again this summer, we send our best wishes and greetings

Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Raguz Family members and friends spent a great weekend at hotel Letan. It is a great hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. There are meeting rooms and spaces for small groups. We had a great evening in the “Hunters' room”. Thanks to the hotel staff and especially Mrs. Maja and Mr. Ante. See you again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A really nice hotel, very clean & spacious, lovely rooms, well equipped with good facilities (a really nice swimming pool, and a good tennis court) although use of the fitness centre is extra. The breakfast buffet was reasonably well stocked albeit a bit bland but the hot food was a bit luke warm. There are buffet dinners available which are reasonable for a simple dinner at a reasonable price and a restaurant for a la carte meals. Pretty good value for such a nice place at 99 euros for a double including breakfast. Not in the best location (in a little scruffy village in the middle of nowhere) but it is only a 10 minute walk to the local beach which is nice enough (small & pebbly in keeping with Istria) and close to Pula if you're driving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ante-T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Letan, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi, thank you for your stay, we are glad that you liked our hotel, and we would be very pleased if you would come again.
Just wanted to check, our fittness( gym ) is free of charge for hotel guests, maybe you meant wellness centre, which is paid extra , for use of saunas,jacuzy and solarium ?

Greetings
Ante T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My family and I just spent a pleasant long weekend in the Hotel Villa Letan. We originally chose the hotel because it was close to Pula but at the same time not in an urban environment.

Here are the things we liked:
- The hotel is in good shape. The wing where our room was located looked new or recently renovated. In addition, the staff we dealt with were very nice and pleasant.
- Nice pool. The hotel has a nice pool which we used a couple of times during our stay. It's not too big or too small, just the right size and our kids loved it.
- Location. Like I mentioned, the hotel is close to Pula, Fazana (important if you want to go to the Brijuni Islands), Medulin and the Kamenjak Peninsula. However, this being Istria, no area is really too far away. We took advantage of our trip here to visit neat places like Rovinj, Porec, Pazin, and Labin....all definitely worth a look.

Here are the things we didn't like:
- Bathroom. Though our room was decently sized, the bathroom itself was very small.
- Breakfast. KInd of bland. No fresh fruit provided, some of the pastries tasted like they had been recycled, out of plain yogurt two of the three times we ate there, and the entire restaurant only has one baby chair/seat. This last issue is kind of hard to understand due to the number of families with small children staying at the hotel.

In the end we enjoyed our time in the hotel and would certainly consider staying there the next time we go to Istria.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I requested their best room and what I got was one dirty, small and dark aprtment with dirty, old and falling apart furniture> Blankets and sheets looked like they where used for goats before being given to theri guests. Whatever you do, dont eat there. This could kill you as it nearly killed me. I had the most severe food poisoning after having dinner at Letan. House of horror!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vodnjan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Letan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Letan

Address: Peroj 450, Vodnjan 52215, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Vodnjan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vodnjan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Letan 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built 4 stars hotel with wellness center,fitness gym, outside pool and tennis court and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Letan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letan Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Letan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.