We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Istrian food- hand made by Svjetlana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vodnjanka

Vodnjanka
Istarska b.b., 52215 Vodnjan, Vodnjan, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Vodnjan
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
ljubljana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Typical Istrian food- hand made by Svjetlana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have bring many times friends to this restaurant, which is not easy to find :) it is a small, friendly place were the tradition of making finest dishes is already a rule. I am always confident to make a good impression on my friends and my guest when bringing them to Vodnjanka. good "prosciuto", cheese, hand made pasta..and not to forget to good "medica" and wine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Totally worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place is a jewel. Having lived on seafood for a week we decided to try here. Oh my goodness from the starter onwards we were in heaven. Truffle pate to start with absolutely delicious the taste just amazing probably the best starter all holiday. I then had venison stew with gnocchi and my husband had pasta with beef stew. Gnocchi and pasta home made, beautiful. Now the pudding.... Home made cheesecake with figs...amazing. Go if you're in the area!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quite nice food but atmosphere at lunch lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We made quite a detour to come here for lunch after reading all the reviews. We had the venison with gnocchi which was good, and another pasta dish which was quite mediocre. We were sat inside and found it rather dark and lacking any atmosphere - maybe it is better in the evening? Otherwise it would have been nice to sit on the terrace if some shade could be provided. Service was very good and attentive.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a family meal today excellent food great service well priced we had pork tenderloin soup sheep cheese all excellent would confirm back here again recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This restaurant is worth making a detour to dine at. The food is simple but they know how to treat the local ingredients with respect. No need to list all dishes as others have done so here, go and enjoy this lovely place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vodnjanka also viewed

 

Been to Vodnjanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vodnjanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.