We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families with children, less so for guests seeking to relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Garden Istra to your Saves list
Sol Garden Istra
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Katoro BB, Umag 52470 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Umag
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good for families with children, less so for guests seeking to relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself, I would not give the hotel 4 stars, but rather only three. The room we had was spacious, clean, but a bit aged. The staff, especially at the reception was very friendly, nothing to criticize. Also the waiters have been friendly and helpful. However the dining room reminded me on a factory canteen, extremely big and yet still too many people, so that we had to queue in the evenings (and that out of season!). Not to mention that the dining room hall was very noisy with so many people. The food was presented in a good and widerrange variety ....that was perfect, although the quality was sometimes not 4-star-like. The bar in the reception hall was very much short staffed, so that you had to wait a long time to get your drinks .... and I mean almost half an hour!
The hotel was occupied mostly by young athletes, as was the case most of the time we learnt, regardless if in or out of season. We were unlucky, that a gang of those youngsters made it a sport to run after each other in the corridors of the hotel next to our and other guests' rooms and this happened not during the day, but late in the evenings, near to midnight. We told them to stop, but this did not help much. From the reception, nobody was following up our complaint.
All in all, the hotel was definitely, as mentioned before, not of 4-star-quality, but for families with small children, who like to run around in and outside the Hotel Sol Garden Istra, this hotel would certainly be pleasant. Less so, however, for couples who look for a quiet stay or in general elderly people. Would we come again? May be with our grandchildren, but not on our own!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Christian S,

We appreciate the time you have spent in writting an impression about our hotel and we are pleased that we have been this year's destination for your vacation.
Sol Garden Istra is a large hotel so it is necessary that the size of the restaurant is also in accordance with it. Because of the big number of guests, our restaurant is divided into several halls; Mediterranean and Banquet hall that are bigger and Istrian tavern, which is slightly smaller and has a more intimate atmosphere for guests that want privacy.
You've stayed at the hotel during the period of sports preparation in progress and that is why we hosted several sports groups.
I wish you had contacted me during your stay because I believe we could have easily solved your problem in coordination with other departments.
I hope you will visit us again, at least with your grandchildren.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    121
    51
    15
    15
See reviews for
181
85
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good hotel and very friendly staff. We have been several times and are always satisfied. Especially children uživaju swimming because the hotel has an indoor pool. Most prihajom for the winter holidays, and there is always something new. Even when the opportunity will come in the summer as they build slides. We were in March this year (2013) and were surprised because despite the winter vremnu built around the hotel. Food in the hotel is good and they also have a good lobby bar where you can at all times afford a drink and the dessert. They also have amusement machines on which the children enjoy. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: To inform or in pairs or family. They have several types of rooms all depends on the payment option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MNBS,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you are our regular guest and that you always leave Sol Garden Istra satisfied.
As you noticed, we strive to give you a new experience every year. Last year it was a big aquapark area with kids and sport clubs and this year we are building a large sundeck for guests who prefer to enjoy the pool sunbathing.
Thank you for your compliments about the food, I will pass them to our Chef.

We hope to see you this year during the summer period.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ant it's surroundings are offering a great spot for spending holidays, especially for young families. Great chances for long walks, fresh air and green areas are offering countless posibilities for outdoor activities. Hotel us clean and constructed in the way that offers plenty if activities even in rainy days (swimming , fitness...). Rooms bright and big enough. Food great and faculty very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Tjas,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you were satisfied during your stay in our hotel. I will pass your compliments to the rest of the team.
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crnomelj, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in hotel in February. We were satisfied with room (it was clean and arranged), I just expected bathrobe and slippers in the room (because the last time they were there). The food was very good and the stuff were friendly and compliant. We choose this hotel because of evening entertainment (live music) and we were nicely surprised (excellent one man band). Excellent location for relaxation. Excellent location for all those who wants to go to moto meeting in May and want some extra luxury. Definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Marija_Drago,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
We are extremely glad that the cleanliness, good food and friendly staff motivated you to visit us again.
Usually, we are providing bathrobes and slippers to all our guests. I regret you have not contacted me at the beginning of your stay because we could solve your problem immediately.
During the whole year we are trying to entertain our guests outperforming their expectations. Since you mentioned that you enjoy evening entertainment, we invite you to come in the summer period, when we can offer you a multitude of great music and dance shows.
Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komen, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were in hotel several times, but this time we were very disappointed. A bathroom wasn't clean and a frame of the bathroom's door was broken. Food wasn't fresh and good quality as usual, juice taste was like a water. Hotel don't have free wifi in the lobby yet. I don't know if we return in this hotel - only we will receive any positive ratings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Leaaaaa,

I am glad to hear you are our regular guest and this was not your first time staying here. Precisely for that reason your opinion is particularly important.
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness and the quality of the food during your last visit. I assure you that I am going to pass your comments to the housekeeping and kitchen department in order to improve our services. As our regular guest, you are the best qualified to compare our improvement.
I hope you will give us a chance to show you our efforts and enhancements in all the aspects.
During your next visit, I will be at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time.
We enjoyed our stay and this coszy and spacious room in Village resort very much. We loved the fact that it is situated very close to the Umag. We enjoyed in wellnes, pool and great food.
We will come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Lili711,

I am really glad to hear you had a good stay in our hotel. For us it is a great recognition because every year we are trying to exceed the expectations of our guests. Consequently, it is always a significant reward to receive compliments and positive feedbacks.
I hope to see You soon.

Kind regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Expirience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in this hotel severl times, but obviously it's crises also there. We went with family last wwek for 5 days. The room definitely wasn't check before. Some things were missing, some things weren't working (for example heating), the the hotel was only 10-15% full, but we got small, dark room, almost alone in floor. Under bed wasn't swept a long time. If you ask cleaners something, they were all the first day in a job (very interesting)....the chief cook was new one, because the food wasn't tasty any more...the salad wasn't fresh, ...so...disappointed...that I will really think if I will go there again ...because the price is every year higher, but the quality really went down..I think you do not deserve 4 stars any more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Gaby B009,

My name is Franka and I work as the Guest Experience manager in the hotel Sol Garden Istra. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
It is the highest recognition to read that you are our faithful guest and you visited us several times.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holidays the last time you visited us and I regret you didn't contact me during your stay because I would try to correct the deficiences and make your stay enjoyable. In cooperation with the reception we could have selected a more suitable room for you and meet your preferences regarding the food offer.
I will forward your feedback to the staff and to our General manager because the daily improvement is of great importance to us all.
Considering the location and the proximity of our hotel, I hope you will visit us again and when you do, feel free to contact me so I can welcome you personally and be at your disposal during your stay.

Kind regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Address: Katoro BB, Umag 52470 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Umag
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Garden Istra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.