We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a quaint place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Bruno

Taverna Bruno
Belvedere 5 | Savudrija, Umag 52475, Croatia
052 759 592
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Umag
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $99
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A small family owned restaurant, with a hospitable and relaxing atmosphere. Our dishes are exclusively made with the best and the most fresh fish of the Adriatic sea, and cooked in the most traditional way.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food in a quaint place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had dinner there as a couple last month. The waitress was wonderful and treated us like royalty. We had the lobster which was a sspecialty of the house and it did not disappoint. Overall a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

If I take Konoba Nono in Petrovija or Konoba Buscina as a 5* benchmark, this taverna is just poor average. although it has been recommended to us as a good restaurant for fish, they had no first class fish (flying fish, frog fish or saint peters fish) available, but the orada or list available anywhere. even the waitress alone recommended us tartufi di mare as a starter, later after our order she apologized that this seafood was gone. a surprise was also shrimps salad as a cold starter with warm shrimps and no salad at all. for the salt and olive oil we had to ask twice. all in all, there are much better restaurants around Umag specialized on fish (eg Nono or Buscina) or restaurants with excellent work and presence of the owner himself (eg Badi in Lovrecica).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Croatian Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nestled between village houses and gardens, the cozy terrace of Taverna Bruno is shaded by a large kiwi vine full of fruits. The waitstaff are very pleasant with welcoming smiles and timely service. We selected anchovies, a green salad, grilled squid, fried calamari and shrimps, grilled vegetables, panna cotta and berry crostata and everything was excellent, flavorful, cooked perfectly and almost entirely of local origin. The wine suggestion was excellent as well. The only criticism we can think of is not unique to Bruno's but shared by many of the restaurants we saw or visited in the region, and that is the flourescent lighting. A soft candlelight would make all the difference in ambience once the sun goes down. Overall we would definitely return as well as highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesce, Slovenia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Istra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend love to go to Bruno's. This is for sure the best restaurant for fish dishes that you are going to find in this part of Croatia. The food is amazing, the service is great, nice wine and they will make you feel at home! I would really recomend this restaurant to everyone - I can garanty, you won't be dissapointed here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional food!! Strongly reccomend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Taverna Bruno is no doubt our favourite restaurant in Umag and the Northern part of Croatia in general. Not only the food is exceptional (best spaghetti con astice" = spaghetti with lobster I have ever had in my life!) but also the staff is extremely welcoming and efficient. I have been going there with my family for the past 15 years and we go back every time we are in the area. Option of staying overnight is also available, with basic but very welcoming and clean rooms available. Location is also great, 3 minutes form the sea and with a fantastic "veranda" where to eat and enjoy the food during the summer.
Strongly reccomend it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Bruno also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Bruno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.