We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the staff that really made it great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Umag

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Umag to your Saves list
Sol Umag
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jadranska BB, Umag 52470, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Umag
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It was the staff that really made it great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel was good, comfortable and in a good area, with good views, convenient for the sea and for the town and with facilities at the level required. The beds in the room were big and comfortable and the shower in the bathroom gave almost instant hot water with a powerful flow. The food was plentiful, interesting and varied with fresh fruit and salad always available as well as cooked meat etc. The only negative in the dining room for me was that the coffee from the dispensers there was of a poor standard. The indoor swimming pool looked really appealing and was well-lit and was the warmest I have ever swum in.
Above all, what made the stay there excellent was the attitude of the staff. We were a large group of some 360 people of all ages and they coped with patience and cheerfulness in every area, from the reception through to the dining room, the wellness centre as well as the ladies cleaning the bedrooms. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: The sea views are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Phil J,

Thank you for your comments and compliments.
I am glad that we made your stay pleasant and that the group was satisfied with our hotel and service.
As I also answered to David, it was a pleasure for us to host you and your group.
Your compliments for the hotel, food, service and personnel made us very happy.
I am really looking forward to our future collaboration.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    105
    44
    13
    7
See reviews for
82
128
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We used the hotel as a center for a church family conference with 360 participants.

The location was fantastic - surrounded by a well kept park area with lots of mature trees providing space for kids to play or to stroll or relax in the shade. There are no roads nearby so it is quiet and traffic free. All the rooms either look across the gardens or along the coast (the mountains in Italy and Slovenia were visible!)

The terrace and pool area is well designed with attractive features and with ample space either in the sun or in the shade.

The indoor pool and wellness area was excellent (although a little crowded at certain times - primarily due to being here in April - before the outdoor pool and sea were warm enough).

The hotel rooms are well appointed with modern furnishings. The beds in the main hotel are large and comfortable. Each room had a strong easy-to-use safe.

The hotel serves excellent food - an incredibly varied buffet for breakfast and for the main meals. At times the dining room was somewhat noisy - but given that it is open for a long time for each meal it is possible to choose a quieter time to eat.

The absolute highlight at this hotel are the amazing and friendly people who work there. The staff were incredibly helpful - they responded quickly and thoughtfully to our requests - whether the management team, receptionists, restaurant and bar personnel or people cleaning rooms - they were great. As conference hosts we felt as though we were with friends and partners working together on a project.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear David J,

Thank you for sharing your experience from Sol Umag with other travelers.
It was our pleasure to host you and your group in our hotel Sol Umag.
Reading that you have enjoyed in all our services and in our beautiful surrounding makes us really happy!
Like you had great time in our hotel, I want to emphasize that we enjoyed in your presence and your work too.
Thank you for the nice words about our personnel. Our guiding line are our guests and their needs and therefore you can be sure that we will continue with the improvement of our services.
Thank you once again for you nice comments, because the best reward for us is when our guests recognize our efforts.
See you in August on the volleyball courts.

Best wishes to you and to all your participants.

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Located On the Coast of the Croatia, this is a peaceful time of year to visit, beautiful sunsets along the Rocky Coastline. The Resort is great for all outdoor activities, it is a resort for all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms Poolside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear kw696998,

Thank you for your review. It makes us very happy to read that our guests really enjoy in their holidays! I am glad you have found a place for a relaxing getaway. Hope you will be back soon to enjoy in our beautiful sunsets!

Best regards,
Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for a couple of days and the overall impression is very good. The rooms facing the sea have a beautiful sight at their feet, and this is a real plus because Sol Umag is the only resort that is on the sea shore in Umag, the others a much more distant. The other point of strengh is their SPA that is very complete and big, giving thus space to enjoy your SPA treatments.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Marco A,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.
It makes us very happy to hear that you liked your stay in Sol Umag.
Thank you for your nice compliments about our hotel. Hope you will visit us again and enjoy in one of our great SPA treatments again.

Kind regards from Umag,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very nice and clean room. Food in hotel was amazing.Environment was beautiful, we had a room with a view of green area and the sea. The stuff in the hotel is great! All you need, when you need it - they are there. Wellness was very good to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Tomonani,

Thank you for your review and the excellent rating. We hope you will come back soon in Umag and chose the SOL experience again. As always, we stay at your complete disposal!

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAGREB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel rooms are nice, clean... But the stuff in the hotel is great! All you need, when you need it - they are there.
Comunication between them is great and they are aware of all your need and changes througout departments.
Food in the hotel is great. All meals are deverse and they even have special diatery section.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TATJANA M,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our service fulfilled your expectations. We are glad when guests recognize our dedication because they are the main reason of our daily improvement.

It would be our pleasure to host you again in our hotel. Hope to see you soon.

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel rooms ware far from the price is making you believe you will get. Room service forgot to make up the rooms. The dining room was loud and you have to pay extra for nearly everything.
Good was the variety of food and the animation. Specially the evening shows where of high quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Uwe030,

Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experience from Sol Umag.
I am sorry to read that the room did not meet your expectations completely, I regret you did not share this during your stay, I am sure we could have found a suitable solution. Thank you for your compliments about our evening program and animation team.
Hope you will come back so we can assure a memorable stay for you!

Regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Umag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Umag

Address: Jadranska BB, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Umag 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW in 2013! This year, Sol Umag will welcome its guests with a new appearance and a richer offer. During the refurbishment of the interior, we were led by the principles of functionality and quality. Modern design, comfortable hotel rooms, 86 rooms in a separate facility (Residence), reception hall and hotel lobby are the reason to choose precisely this hotel. Other than the new interior, the hotel also boasts a completely renovated and attractive beach with various relaxation zones with canopies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Umag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Umag Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag
Sol Hotel Umag

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Umag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.