We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic gateway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Umag

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Umag to your Saves list
Sol Umag
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jadranska BB, Umag 52470, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Umag
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic gateway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very nice and clean room. Food in hotel was amazing.Environment was beautiful, we had a room with a view of green area and the sea. The stuff in the hotel is great! All you need, when you need it - they are there. Wellness was very good to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Tomonani,

Thank you for your review and the excellent rating. We hope you will come back soon in Umag and chose the SOL experience again. As always, we stay at your complete disposal!

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    105
    44
    13
    7
See reviews for
82
128
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ZAGREB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel rooms are nice, clean... But the stuff in the hotel is great! All you need, when you need it - they are there.
Comunication between them is great and they are aware of all your need and changes througout departments.
Food in the hotel is great. All meals are deverse and they even have special diatery section.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TATJANA M,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our service fulfilled your expectations. We are glad when guests recognize our dedication because they are the main reason of our daily improvement.

It would be our pleasure to host you again in our hotel. Hope to see you soon.

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel rooms ware far from the price is making you believe you will get. Room service forgot to make up the rooms. The dining room was loud and you have to pay extra for nearly everything.
Good was the variety of food and the animation. Specially the evening shows where of high quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Uwe030,

Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experience from Sol Umag.
I am sorry to read that the room did not meet your expectations completely, I regret you did not share this during your stay, I am sure we could have found a suitable solution. Thank you for your compliments about our evening program and animation team.
Hope you will come back so we can assure a memorable stay for you!

Regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranjska Gora, Bohinj, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed in Sol Umag from Sunday Sept.1st till Thursday Sept.5th,2013 and as this was kind of end season one would expect to be able to sleep at night without too much noise. Our room was directly above the music stage and music was extremely lound every night til 24h!!! On the last night we simply could not stand it any longer as it was really unbearable and we had to move to another room at 23:00. As we complained the next day, the response of the manager was really poor and unfrendly - she said that it is stated in all catalogues that there is live music at the hotel. But live music should not mean that you have live music in your room!!! No apology, nothing! As we asked if there were other more quite rooms if we were to come back, she said it is more or less everywhere on the see side view. How she handled our complaint was as disturbing (or even more) than the music. We came to relax to and had 4 sleepless nights.
Also comment about the restaurant, we had to queue every night (one station for the main course) and it was off season, I wonder how it is when there is high season.
Otherwise, the staff was friendly and nice beach, good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Martina C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
I must say, I am really sorry for the loud music that was affecting your sleep. In full season (15th of June – 15th of September) our hotel offers a night program with different musicians and shows every day. The performances are held from 20:00 until 23:30h. The majority of our guests like the shows and it can happen that the artist are guided by the audience and they are sometimes louder than usual, but we did not have more complaints regarding the shows.
I am sorry that you have waited 4 nights to report it, we could have solved it the first day since you had a room just above the stage on the first floor. We could have moved you to another part of the hotel that is located away from the stage but includes the sea view.

You stayed with us from the 1st until the 5th of September, and in that period is still a full season. I am sorry about the queue in the restaurant, it happens when all the guests come in the same time at 7 p.m. This is why we put the information in front of the entrance that recommended time for dinner is 8:30 p.m. for guests that prefer a quiet atmosphere.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a three star hotel at best... maybe.

The reception/lobby area is very fresh, bright, and modern. That's where it ends.

This hotel was expensive. The sheets were scratchy. The furniture/room was terribly outdated. The floors were uneven. The A/C didn't work. The bathroom hadn't been renovated since about 1975. The pool is small, and there aren't enough sun loungers. Oh, and don't expect to get one if you don't wake up at 0700 and reserve it with a towel. Loungers next to the water were not included in the price of the hotel, nor was wireless internet. How can a four star hotel charge for internet? Breakfast was crowded, and the selection looked stale.

Was it clean? Yes. Was it a four star experience? No.

Anyone who thinks this is a legit 4* has clearly never stayed in a true 4* hotel.

There's a serious lack of decent resort hotels along the Croatian coast, and this one only adds to the pile. Save your money and book private accommodation closer to town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Blondie385,

First of all, thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not met your expectations. Sol Umag was completely renovated in the year of 2003., and this year we have completely renovated our Residence Sol Umag.
Also, as you nicely noticed, we did an hotel investment, with a new lobby bar and reception.
About our pool area, I would like to add that it is not allowed to reserve the sun beds on the pool. Every sun bed that is not occupied for more than 30 minutes is considered free for other guests.
Thank you for your comments that will help us in further investments and improvements of our service.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had read good reviews on this resort on Tripadvisor and also I am a member of Sol Melia hotels and have somewhat a good perception of their hotels. However, we were disappointed with our stay. For us this was not according to our expectations.
What can you expect?
- A seaside resort mainly used by Germans. Thus, all staff speaks German (and Croatian).
- A great SPA. I had an amazing Indian massage. Highly recommended. So is the energizing TUI NA massage. Compared to Norway the prices were half the price for massages. The only negative aspect with the SPA was that both me and my husband felt that the receptionist somewhat questioned our pay ability as we charged the massages to our room.
- Rooms in the main building are ok, but nothing more. We had a junior suite with a breathtaking view over the Adriatic. However, the air condition did not work properly, so it was extremely hot in the room. We asked the receptionist to get it fixed, but it still did not work.
- Miniclub – We have tried mini clubs in several countries. RCCL (cruise line), being our and the kids favorite. This miniclub was different. The staff was amazing, but there was no signing inn for the kids, no queries regarding the kids name, age, special concerns, etc. Also we felt that we as parents had to stay close by the entire time (as there was one leader and many kids). Also they all jumped in the pool (our daughter doesn’t swim), etc.
- Animation in general at the hotel is great and every night there is something going on
-Breakfast/Dinner =) For us too many people. The majority of the waiters are doing a good job, but then there were a few that was directly rude. Also ordering drinks was too slow. We almost always got the drinks long after we had eaten our dinner.
Also when you check in to a hotel, one of the most important things for us is how one is greeted. Here the receptionist didn’t even look up and seemed bothered that new people came in. A hello would be all it takes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear solita14,

Thank you for this review and for sharing your impression.
I am sorry if your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Guests from Germany and Austria are the major part of our guests, but we also have guests from Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Switzerland, Russia and many other countries. That is why we are very proud of our staff, because almost all of them speaks different languages: german, italian, english, slovenian, russian...
I am glad that you liked our SPA center and that you enjoyed spending time in it.
I thank you for your constructive comments about what you liked less since they can help us in our improvements. You can be sure that your comments have been taken into consideration and will surely help us to put our services on a higher level.
Thank you for being our guests and hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gradiska, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A nice surprise at the arrival- reception comfortable and modern, accommodation very nice with a balcony only a small bathroom with very little space to put make-up and without a single socket. Highest praise for landscaping and counters with electric and eco bikes. We left hotel very HAPPY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Snježana A,

Thanks for your review!
It is nice to know that you had a lovely vacation and you liked the offer of the bikes near the hotel. HAPPY to welcome you again!

Regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Umag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Umag

Address: Jadranska BB, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Umag 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW in 2013! This year, Sol Umag will welcome its guests with a new appearance and a richer offer. During the refurbishment of the interior, we were led by the principles of functionality and quality. Modern design, comfortable hotel rooms, 86 rooms in a separate facility (Residence), reception hall and hotel lobby are the reason to choose precisely this hotel. Other than the new interior, the hotel also boasts a completely renovated and attractive beach with various relaxation zones with canopies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Umag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Umag Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag
Sol Hotel Umag

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Umag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.