We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Aurora to your Saves list
Sol Aurora
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Katoro bb, Umag 52470, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Umag
Vukovar, Vukovarsko-Srijemska, Croatia
1 review
“rm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Modern hotel, very friendly staff, excellent restaurant with very good food for all gourmets and gourmands. Rooms very neat with a perfectly clean bathrooms and terraces. Very beautiful surroundings, the area around the pool and the pool itself is very neat. Great versatility to spend the day, from soccer fields to rent bicycles. Beach with a nice hotel, a mix of stone and gravels. The city is not very far away, can be reached by train, bicycle and on foot. It's perfect for a holiday with family, friends or business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear rm,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel and that you are satisfied with the offer and the quality of the service. It means a lot to all of us!

It will be our pleasure to host you again!

Best regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    77
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
84
73
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a week holiday in this hotel on an all inclusive basis
.
Room was fine and modern well appointed. Hotel was very well maintained and very clean. Lots of staff who kept the place immaculate. Food good quality and lots of variety. Entertainment program limited. Pool area busy and could not get subbed at times but not a problem as we hired them for a small charge on the adjoining beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Lazen,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your positive experience with us. We are very happy that you liked our services. Regarding your comment about our activities program, I am really sorry we did not fulfil your expectations as we are trying to offer a lot of opportunities – special activities for kids, during the whole day, and sport activities for adults. Our Guest Experience Department offers also the opportunity to participate in presentations of local culinary specialties, like cocktails, truffles or Istrian schnapps! In the evening, our guests can enjoy in a rich program, with live music and shows, dance performances, and magic shows.

I really hope you will give us another chance and visit us – we will do our best to make your stay even better that the first one! Once again thank you for your nice review.

Sincerely,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed more than once in this hotel. In the beginning it was a nice hotel. 4 stars, nice rooms, mini bar, the food was okay. Over the years I was also traveling a lot and I was mostly staying in hotels, so this review is based on comparison to other hotels and what Aurora once was. So, what Aurora became… The rooms are “worn out” today. The carpet on the flood needs a replacement, the fridge is empty now and dirty because they became an all-inclusive hotel. I guess nobody is cleaning the fridge any more. The curtains contains holes. Glass barrier in the bathroom that prevents spilling water all over the place while taking a shower is half broken. The entire room looked dirty and bathroom in some places also contained dirt. Bathroom door also looked like a door taken from some old house. You can see it’s old and over used. I guess hotel management should take a trip to some 3 star hotel in the Europe and see how they are not able to compete with them. Not mentioning the 4 star hotels where Sol Aurora should fit. I would say that they degraded by deciding to offer an all-inclusive. You can see that when you order a drink. They have only 2-3 kinds of beer and only 3-4 kinds of wine. Also, I should mention that they have only one bottle of each available wine. Hotel staff is nice and they apologize for that, but it’s not their fault. They just offer what they have and what the management decided to offer in the first place. The food is still good. Not bad, not excellent, but good. But, in the kitchen there are no more tablecloths!! That was a huge disappointment. The cutlery is placed on some cloth on the table used by everybody. Some people don’t care about hygiene and you might be eating after them on the same table. To make long story short, we can see that nothing has been invested in this hotel over the years and its obvious how they cut their expenses at the expense of service quality. Also, some 3 star hotels are offering free usage of computers in the lobby, but Aurora has a price for it. Now they are also charging extra for a plastic deck chair on the beach. There is impression that they want to squeeze the last cent from you without providing the service at the required level for a 4 star hotel. It’s too bad that nobody is maintaining this hotel at the certain level. Compared to other 3 star hotels, it’s bad and I wonder how they managed to keep 4 starts?!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear mavrotragano,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Istria, and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Constructive feedback is always helping us to keep on course and invest in our service.
I am sorry to read that during your stay in our hotel we did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned in your review, Sol Aurora offers an All inclusive service, and it is the only hotel in Umag with this special concept. We are offering to our guests the opportunity to enjoy in tasty and freshly prepared food and special culinary events. It is not only a concept based on a gourmet offer since we our guest can also enjoy in sport activities and free bike rent during the entire holiday. Regarding your comment about the beverage offer, we have a wide range of drinks, among them, several types of Croatian beer and good Istrian wine. Also, I have to emphasize that we are really taking care about the cleanliness and hygiene in the hotel - rooms, bathrooms and common areas are being regularly checked by our Housekeeping Department and therefore I am sorry you did not recognize it. Regarding the restaurant, we have introduced new tablecloths in order to keep up with the trends but always following the standards of a 4* Hotel category.

Once again, I would like to thank you for writing this review. We will certainly use it as an important feedback in our future investments. I hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to offer you a different experience.

Always at your disposal,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just came back from quick getaway in Sol Aurora,where we stay for 4 days.Umag is not far away from our home and if you are there you can easy visit also Novigrad,Porec,Rovinj and see more of Istra.Sol Aurora is like typical 3* Croatian hotel and it is really nothing special.There is nothing to complain and nothing to say that it was awesome.Hotel is located next to beach,food was fresh&ok,there is no SPA,gym or something to do if the weather is not god.If you need hotel just for few days&if you like Istra a lot I would recommend this hotel otherwise not.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Givencys,

We are glad that you have chosen Sol Aurora for your holidays in Istra and I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions.

I am sorry to read that you didn't entirely enjoy your stay. I can assure you that we are taking all the comments as beneficial ideas that will guide us in improving our services and all your observations will surely help us.
I hope we will see you again in the near future and provide you with the best service!

Regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Sol Aurora in August for 4 days and were very disappointed. It should not have a 4 star rating. The rooms and bathrooms needed major updating. The employee at reception (David) was not friendly and did not smile once when we checked in or checked out. He actually turned away from us to assist another guest when we asked him a question at check-out. The rooms were 2 star category at best with worn carpets, stains in the curtains, dirty shower curtain, rough and smelly towels and moldy tiles and bathtub. The housekeeping staff did their best to keep clean but all the furniture and content was old and worn down. The quality of the food was poor. One night (a cook-out by the pool area) was good but no one told us about this and we needed a reservation. Luckily on of the activities girls mentioned it to us by chance. The rest of the meals were bland and repeated the same thing over and over again. What you didn't finish for dinner was served again the next day for lunch and dinner again. The pool was large but not kept clean enough and the pool deck was already dirty by noon with spilled drinks, sand and brown dirt that seemed to be everywhere. Worst of all was that this so-called 4 star hotel did not offer pool/beach towel for their guests. Towels had to be rented for 100 kuna per towel (which was returned after you returned the towel). When we "rented" towels we were told to keep the same towel for our entire stay! Use the same towel for 4 days at a 4 star hotel!!!! Obviously the management does not understand that at a 4 star hotel fresh towels are readily available for guests any time they need one, without having to put a deposit on it. They need more pool chairs as by 8:10AM the chairs were all taken. The chairs should be washed down each day not encrusted with spilled juice or other matter. Same for the beach chairs, most were filthy in the early morning! And the management needs to bring in a pest control service to address the hundreds of bees all around the food/beverage area, which made it impossible to have a meal in peace! One positive thing I can say about the hotel is that the Activities Staff did a great job in keeping children of all ages entertained throughout the day! They were friendly and kind with the children. Apart from the activities staff this hotel needs to undergo a major renovation, implement a new guest service program as well as a new food service program before it promotes itself as a 4 star resort. 2 stars at best. We were disappointed and do not recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a true 4 star resort !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear PBAJ4,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. As far as your comments are concerned, we would like to confirm that they have been taken into consideration. We thank you for letting us know about them, because these comments help us improve our services. Quality of service and courtesy of staff is of utmost importance to us, so we have discussed the situation with the reception staff and their superior so situation like the one you described wouldn’t repeat. Considering your comments about dining-out, I have to write that it’s organized for the guests who are staying in the hotel one week or more and needs to be reserved on the reception. The staff of the reception didn’t inform you about it because of your short stay. I suppose there had been a misunderstanding with the staff on the pool. The towels for the guests are not rented, but given with deposit, and it’s possible to change them every day to get clean ones.
I would like to emphasize we are sorry you didn’t like your stay in the hotel and would like to use this opportunity to apologise for possible inconveniences you might have had during your stay here.
We sincerely hope these inconveniences will not prevent you from visiting us again. We would also like to thank you for your commendation to our activities team, they focus is to make our guests holidays memorable, especially for the children.
Best regards,
Vedrana S. Quality Manager in Sol Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked this hotel for a one week family vacation because of the reviews posted here. Having left the hotel after five days we really do not understand what most of the people loved about it.
The quality and service in the hotel is below average and definitely not 4 stars. It is not 'bad' but also very far from beeing 'good'. A perfect example of a mediocre hotel.

The hotel is quite big with couple of hundreds of rooms. The building seems to have been constructed in the late seventies or early eighties, partially refurbished about a decade ago. Due to the partial renovations many areas of the hotel still gives you the feeling that you are back in one of the eighties' Jugoslav hotels, especially the lobby area, corridors and main restaurant.

We booked two 'sea-view' rooms that faced the pool and gardens and the beach area. Both rooms were small but ok and clean. Below our room there was also a small stage for the evening 'entertainment' and music that pretty much spoiled our evenings. The 'entertainment' usually starts around 9pm and lasts until 11-midnight. But many people stay around the area with their drinks and this can be very loud. The renovation of the hotel did not include the replacement of the balcony doors and windows therefore we could clearly hear every word of the people chatting with their drinks even with closed doors, on the third floor. Some nights this only ceased after 1-2am making it implossible to sleep. I think all of the sea view rooms had this problem. Otherwise the evening entertainment was terrible, either bad disco music or some singer performing some hits poorly.

The other disappointing thing was the food service and terrible atmosphere of the main restaurant. The food was repetitive with almost exactly the same food every evening, not very wide choice either, with the SAME chicken, pork, fish, pizza every evening. Sometimes the fish was replaced with beef. Otherwise the quality of the food was not bad but after the third day we went to other nearby restaurants because we did not want to eat the same thing again. Additionally the main restaurant was always crowded, small tables and chairs, without the slightest attempt to create a good ambience. There is a possibility to book for barbeque night held twice a week, served in the pool restaurant which I highly recommend. If all dinners were like that I may have given this hotel one more star.

We never had lunch at the main restaurant as snacks were served in the pool restaurant. The food was almost the same.

All inclusive also included drinks. I once had a 'whisky' that did not taste like whisky at all but this was the case with all soft drinks which, unlike the food, were quite awful, we ended up buying canned coke and bottles of mineral water in a nearby store instead.

The staff were ok, some of them friendly, some rude but most of them simply did not care.

The environment around the hotel was also a bit disappointing. Dried out grass everywhere, no effort was made to plant flowers, etc. Pool area ok but very crowded and despite the heatwave of the recent weeks the water was very cold. Many times there were not enough sunbeds. I strongly recommend to go to the neighboring hotel towards the main road which is not built on the beach but has decent pools and better looking garden. (That hotel also looked a lot better and was cheaper but it was also full so we could not try.)

The beach area is the usual concrete Adriatic 'beach', not very nice but this is common throughout Croatia.

Also watch out where you park your car beacue if the hotel is full there is not enough parking in the hotel's parking area. Having found no parking places at all I parked my car at a corner of an intersection of the parking, not disturbing anyone and also other cars were parked the same way. Next morning I found my car towed away by police. After reclaiming my car (57 EUR) I questioned the front desk and they told that I should have found parking in the grassy area at the end of the road and cars from the intersection are often fined and towed away... disturbing it was but honestly, my opinion of this hotel was bad from the beginning and our rating is not based on this parking issue.

In short: I do not recommend this hotel at all. This hotel is not good and expensive. All inclusive is not worth it either because it results in worse quality drinks and food.

Room Tip: Mostly look somewhere else but do not chose sea view if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear hazaarulo,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your impressions. We are sorry you didn't entirely enjoy your stay with us.
The hotel was renovated in 2002 in warm bright colours; for its name is Aurora which in English means dawn. It is constantly maintained and our top management invests in its hotels every year. We are also sorry you didn't like the food, but I would like to emphasize that we have two week menus so the food wouldn't be the same every day and every week. The menu also changes seasonally. There is also a strive to satisfy different taste buds of our guests. In general, we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, and a great part of it is done by animation team. We try to balance the fun time and relaxing, so the animation program is put together so it wouldn't be too loud and doesn't last after 11p.m. so our guests' rest wouldn't be disturbed.
Melia Hotels International gives a great effort to ecology and sustainability, so this summer, when it became clear that the whole county is affected by drought, we started to save the water and didn't water the grass in the garden or around the hotel and undertook some other water preserving measures.
We were really sorry the city services towed your car but this is not in our jurisdiction if the state services punish improperly parked vehicles. But as I said, we were sorry about this particular situation and we gave you VIP parking for free.
Best regards,
Vedrana S. Quality Manager in Sol Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have been guests of hotel SOL Aurora Umag for 7 years. We are delighted both with service and with the work of the employees. A special accent must be on Mr. Samir Martinović’ (Hotel General Manager) and Mr. MIlan Grubić’s work. We have to praise all the other staff (waiters, cookers, etc.), too. We are fascinated with a very rich food offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some innovations, like an outdoor dinner, together with an unforgettable atmosphere, must be mentioned. Employees and their work are the main reason for our coming back to Umag and hotel SOL Aurora. Every year we communicate our impressions to Mr. Martinović and Mr. Grubić, who are giving their best in satisfying all the guests’ wishes, both in oral and written way. Hotel’s success is based on staff’s kindness, professionalism and accessibility. In hotel SOL Aurora Umag all mentioned must be recognized. This is why we will, as satisfied guests, be back to SOL Aurora in further years. We will recommend this hotel to our friends, as we always do.
Damir, Jasna and Natko Gluščić from Samobor, Croatia

Room Tip: We recommend room 259
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Damir, Jasna and Natko,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review.
Quality of service and courtesy of staff is of utmost importance to us. All together, the hotel manager, heads of departments and staff strive to be at the service to our guests and satisfy all their needs, so we are very glad you recognized it.
We will be very glad to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards for the whole family.
Vedrana S. Quality Manager in Sol Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aurora

Address: Katoro bb, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#5 Family Hotel in Umag
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Aurora is one of Croatia's first environmentally-friendly hotels. And because it is the only all-inclusive resort in Umag, Sol Aurora is a perfect destination for the traveler who wants to enjoy every aspect the hotel has to offer. Located directly on the beach, the outdoor swimming pool, which is shaded by an olive tree, a symbol of Istrian lifestyle, presents spectacular views of the Adriatic Sea. This Umag accommodation is the ideal spot for romantic getaways and fun-filled family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sol Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aurora Umag
Sol Aurora Hotel Umag

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.