We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average vacation,terrible food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Coral

Save Saved
You added Melia Coral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Coral
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katoro bb, Umag 52470, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Umag
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average vacation,terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel was clean,but it was not definitely 5 stars.reception was modern,but the other equipment older.pool was just 1,there were not 3 pools as offered.we should have had a room with a balcony,but the balcony was just a big French window with banister.so we wanted to change the room and they charged us extra.breakfast was quite good,but dinner wasn't.the most disgusting food was in Taverna.tomato soup was with rice,which was not boiled at all.Bruschetta with humus was not a humus,neither bruschetta,it was made of oil and maybe olives and it tasted terrible.bruschetta were 6 pieces of toast bread.we asked for ice coffee with cubes of ice,without sugar and cream and they brought us coffee with ice cream and whipped cream and sugar.we returned it and they told us that they don't do any other.and they charged it.staff tried to be nice,but not helpful.this hotel is more for couples,especially elder,not for bunch of friends or singles.most of guests were Italian and Croatian.about the dinner,there was the rest of food from breakfast,especially cheeses and salami,ham...warm dishes were 50%good,50%bad,more like in 3stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear VeronikaXX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Guest’s satisfaction is extremely important for the entire team and that’s why we take note of all your comments in order to improve our services. You can be sure that your comments were already been discussed with the persons involved. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Our hotel team will be pleased to ensure that your next stay with becomes a memorable one. In case of additional information needed, you can contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    42
    15
    4
See reviews for
27
149
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We absolutely recommend the hotel:
Incredibly nice and helpful staff
Very good location for restful holiday - very nice and green area 15 min from center of Umag by bike or little road train running every 15 minutes
Hotel interior and exterior recently reconstructed, rooms, hall, restaurant. The pool and garden area especially pleasant
Close access to beach - 100m through a nice park
Large variety of food at every meal - vegetarian, sea food, healthy food
Very professional Ayurveda massages
Other types of spa services, fitness and courses available
Tennis academy across the road and ATP stadium close by

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Katarina P,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing with us your Meliá experience. We are happy to read that you appreciated our property and the service of our staff. We work to surprise our guests with something new every time they come back to visit us. I will share all your comments whit our Team and forward your compliments to our wellness center staff.
We remain in expectation of your next visit to!

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Its a nice, modern and upscale hotel, with mostly upscale clients. We stayed there as a motorcycle travelers and had a nice stay. Rooms are great, its a very clean and fresh hotel. Price performance is acceptable. Breakfast is great. Sea room had a nice view, staff is kind, helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Gregor – ELO,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Meliá Coral. We were delighted to see that our property was perfect for your stay. Thank you for your compliments and nice words.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in future occasions.

Regards from Umag,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks in July at the Coral Hotel, we had read the reviews and choose a room at the rear of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and the excellent fitness classes, we joined the spinning sessions with Gaja to try and keep fit, we did it every day because of the fun we had. She ran a number of classes to a high standard, would recommend joining any of them. We went to the beach every day and found the sea breeze lovely, the sea was nice and warm, would recommend using googles or snorkel in the sea, lots of fish to see.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear AllistonHyde,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback of your recent experience at Meliá Coral.
I am especially proud you were caught by the friendliness of the staff, as we always aim to our Passion for service, which then brings out this great memories about your holiday.
I will pass to Gaja your praise, I am glad you had fun with her during the spinning classes. It is what makes all efforts worthwhile.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After spending 10 days at Melia Coral with my family, I can say it is a great hotel. It has very nice location, just few kilometers from city center, yet in a quiet resort full of pine trees. During our stay we were focused mainly on sports and activities and were satisfied. 21 tennis courts are located just on the other side of the road. There is also very nice running path located few meters from the shore in the forest next to the tennis courts. The hotel also offers some activities, e.g. yoga, pilates, spinning, aqua gym etc. We tried pilates and yoga and were very satisfied. We were especially thankful to instructor Gaja, who was very kind and skillful, and taught us how to perform many different exercises. Private beach, that hotel offers is nice, adults only also, and during our stay, the sea was suitable for swimming too.
Cuisine was outstanding, rooms and common areas nice and clean. Overall feeling is good, the hotel is worth its 5 stars.

Room Tip: When booking, pay attention to what type of room are you booking. As the hotel has various types of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Quaz_13,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your vacation with other guests and travellers.
I am very pleased to hear you liked the hotel‘s interior, but also its surroundings.
Also, I am glad you liked the cuisine and the cleanliness of the rooms because these are the points that we always take special care of.
Furthermore, we are always emphasizing the sport side of the vacation, which plays a big role here in Umag, so I am glad you recognized it too.

Regarding our sport trainer Gaja, we will pass your compliments to her, because the employees are the ones who can make your stay truly memorable. I am sure she will be happy and satisfied.

Kind regards and till your next visit,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is really nice and a great place to stay in. We had premium room with sea view, which was fine, clean and quiet. Wi-fi internet is free in all around the hotel. The staff is very friendly kind and helpful.

The only thing that really bothered me was the really cold water in the pools (inside and outside). We stayed here in July, but sea temperature was around 19ºC, and in pools wasn't much better. I have been in water 2 times in 3 days :( I knew about the cold sea, so I expected heated pools.

Because of that I probably won't come back here. Warm water to swim is a must on my vacations.

Room Tip: We had a premium double room with sea view in 3rd floor. It was quiet and you could see a little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear PetraMo,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. I am always pleased to hear our staff made someone’s holiday enjoyable and pleasant.

However, it is a misfortune to hear that you were not satisfied with the temperature in the pools. Unfortunately, the water in the pools depends on the water in the sea and in July it was a bit cooler regarding the temperatures of the water in general.
In Meliã Coral we take each comment into consideration and yours will be taken seriously in order to adjust the temperature better and assure a comfortable stay to guests who are also considering the water temperature a must on their holidays.

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Melia Coral in Umag. A great property to stay in. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Every time I needed something, they were ready to help. Breakfast buffet is well served, clean and abundant. Pools are nice and the "Adults Only" policy made it very good for business travelers and/or couples looking for a quiet place. The main restaurant was also excellent, with a good choice of food and again, great service.
The only let down and reason why I didn't rate it as Excellent is the room size. Mine was on the small size (with a great view, yes). There wasn't enough room in the bathroom to have a nice shower (bear in mind this is a 5* hotel) and after every shower there were puddles under the sink. The toilet also didn't flush properly, but it was manageable.
On the plus side, the wi-fi was available and with good signal throughout the property (indoors only). However, a login with password was needed every time the device was locked.
The beach club looked great although I couldn't spend a lot of time there. No beach, but a concrete terrace with stairs to the sea is what you will find, but it is what it is in Umag, not the hotel's fault I think.
A very good stay overall and if I go back to Umag I will definitely stay with them!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear vsalas,

Thank you for posting this kind review and sharing it with other business and leisure travellers. Our Team will be delighted to hear that you praised their friendliness and service.
I am sorry that your room didn't completely fulfil your expectations and I wish you have shared this during your stay, because I am sure we could have found a solution.
We are especially happy that you like our concept ''Adults Only'' – it is really suitable for travellers searching for a quiet and relaxing holiday.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next journey in Umag.

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coral

Address: Katoro bb, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Coral 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Coral is a five-star hotel located in Istria, just steps from the Adriatic Sea. With innovative services and facilities aimed adult only guests, as well as personalized attention that will satisfy the most demanding of guests, Meliá Coral is an ideal destination for a relaxing holiday. The hotel offers numerous leisure interests, including both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and an Asian-themed wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Melia, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Melia Coral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Coral Hotel Umag

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Coral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.