I went to stay at this hotel in September 2013, the rating in last year’s Thomson Couples brochure was very good. It states that the hotel is just 500m from the resort centre, this is true although the resort centre is very small and consists of cafes, bars and souvenir shops on a stretch of about 500m. It also states there is a miniature rail service that runs along the front, I was down there every day and did not see or hear one.
The standard of food in the restaurant is very very poor for a Thomson’s couple’s holiday and if it was served up in a prison would probably cause a riot. The chef on the carvery would conceal masses of inedible fat, gristle and skin beneath a slither of meat and then put it on your plate, complaining is futile and nothing will be done about it. I tried to survive the week on the soup for lunch and the vanilla ice cream for the evening but it was not to be as they ran out of the vanilla and it did not reappear untill my last night, still there is always a positive if you look hard enough and I have not put on any weight this holiday.
Snacks of a day time as laid on by all the other couples hotels I have stayed at again are nonexistent!
Bar stops serving at 11pm not as with most hotels which are normally 12 midnight!
The choice/no choice of drinks is totally abysmal with one white wine, one red wine, three cocktails, soft drinks and some local spirits. All the drinks are warm and the beers are almost always flat. If you want Rose, Cava or a more varied choice as offered by all the other couples Hotels then don't book this one!
Barmen are quite quick to tell you that you can serve yourself with white or red wine to save them the hassle. The brochure mentions a pool side snack and drinks bar, this is actually a shed and is just for drinks, is self service and infested with wasps.
If you do still go to the hotel after reading this, you will find your fridge is stocked with a bottle of water. This bottle will not be replaced if you finish it before the end of the week, just remember "When its gone its gone".
Entertainment is very poor, the singers are quite good for the night time, although they had no outside entertainers in at all the whole week and the pool side quizzes are a bit of a joke as you have to leave the pool side to take part! I thought pool side quiz was one that you could do at the pool side???
The room I had was very good as I had paid £448 extra for the suite with sea view, that’s where it ends, good room "Full stop"!
Buses to Pula are from the stop just across the road, although they only run every 1.5 hours and the last bus back is about 8pm otherwise it will be about £30 in a taxi.
The WIFI at my end of the hotel was quite hit and miss although the signal was quite good in the reception area.
To sum up I would say overall it was not good. The last hotel of Thomson’s that I stayed at in Majorca that was actually better overall than this one was taken off the Thompson line up the end of the year that I stayed there.
Standard rooms are cramped, Suites are spacious, have plenty of wardrobe space, a side balcony and b...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that your overall experience wasn't satisfying and that most of our services weren’t in line with your expectations. In regards to the miniature train service, please note that we have the train that operates along the beachfront; hence, we are sorry that you didn't ask our receptionist to show you the train stops.
In regards to the entertainment/animation part, please note that as per our concept „couples only“ the entertainment is very low key which means that all activities are unobtrusive and their task is to create a relaxing atmosphere as an additional value to the overall holiday.
Your comments related to our gastronomic offer will be shared within our management team and our Food & Beverage Manager.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future in one of our facilities!
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.