We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude stuff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Velike Stine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Velike Stine to your Saves list
Villa Velike Stine
Regi 44, Medulin 52203, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Medulin
Москва, Россия
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude stuff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms were normal - nothing special but specious, we didn't notice though if anybody cleanded them or not. The swimming pool is tiny and it's not possible to swim there indeed. The plus is that villa has wifi. Though nothing is important if you have a rude stuff. The old man with moustaches called him cheif was unbeleivably rude. Though he had our passports (we bought a trip to Venice via him paying more just because the agencies had not suitable days of trips - though this was ok) he threw us away of the hotel territory not allowing to wait our friends on the territory calling us with indecent words. I have never met such a boorishness and would recommend everyone to avoid this place. Moreover you can find better places for better price with more convinient appartements and closer to the sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
21
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are adequate, the pool and grounds are nice (although not really used). Not unreasonably priced although there is more value elsewhere. However, most importantly, the staff are incredibly rude and I would definitely recommend friends to avoid

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Although the pension itself is pleasant (we had stayed there once before) we are obliged to warn others about the dinners which the pension offers. We ate once at the pension. We were shown the menu in the morning - there were no prices set out in the menu. The food was good (but nothing overly special) and nicely presented but the portions were extremely small. The bill we received the next day was nothing short of shocking. My husband and I did not order very much – for the starter we had one prawn and one scallop each, we shared a small fish (gilt-head bream) between us with vegetables as a main and had a dessert and two glasses of local wine each. We were totally shocked to receive a bill for EUR 120 in the morning. The price per gram at the pension for the fish was double that which the restaurants charge. Each single prawn was itemized at 15 EUR (which can only be described as daylight robbery!) and each scallop was itemized separately as EUR 7. The vegetables did not come as part of the very expensive main – they were separately itemized and charged as well. It takes a lifetime to build a reputation and a day to lose it. In this case the pension has truly lost the chance of any more business with us due to the dinner. We are very happy to pay good money for good food. But all sense of goodwill was entirely lost in the manner in which these exorbitant prices were “hidden” from the guest till the outrageously overpriced bill arrived. It left us with a rather sour aftertaste. We had many wonderful gourmet dining experiences in Croatia – where the quality and quantity of the food and ambience were better and the price even in the upmarket gourmet restaurants was always less than half.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently stayed 1 night at this B and B; room ordinary and bathroom small; garden and pool also small but well kept. Owner seems pleasant but very misleading over dinner; before you've even opened your suitcase the soft-spoken Igor asks if you want dinner with only a vague description of the menu and no mention of the price range; it's only a simple B and B, but the dinner prices are sky -high and the unsuspecting diner is in for a big shock when he gets the bill . There is neither menu nor wine-list with prices on the dinner table; the food itself is simple but of good quality. So watch out, as the devious owner will try to catch you in his web of deception. Ask for the exact price of the food BEFORE you order anything! From previous comments I see that I am not the first victim, so I conclude that the owner has no intention of changing his ways. Plus, the overnight parking charge is 8 euros, when there is no problem with parking on the street outside - which I did. This unfortunate experience spoiled my stay in Croatia.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaVelikeStine, Owner at Villa Velike Stine, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
999molly is the third guest from the same room like ( dido2008 and Ibrahim h )
I realy hope the they are now happy with this three reviews.

Wholly untrue and completely misleading. The reviewer ( 999molly ) is motivated by anger and disappointment because thy didnt read the booking confirmation, and they didnt check the pricelist at the table before ordering the diner.
They booked the room for two persons but they liked to stay in 4 persons for the price of two.

Also they orderd the diner for 4 persons and not for two like they said and the order was:
Hot starter scallops in champagne 6 pcs, kvarner scampi 1kg, daily catch wild fish sea bass on the grill with vegetables, home made ravioli and chocolate cake with gold leaves.For drinks two glases of quality regional wine and water. ( price was 214.58 € )

We are still astounded at what awaited us in the room after they left. And of course they didnt want to check out on time but at 11 37 and the breakfat they orderd when the time for breakfast was ended.

We would rather this review were removed. How anyone can express a view like this about Villa Velike Stine staying here only one night. Therefore it is with sadness and regret that we have to post this management response.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I usually never write reviews but this time I decided I would because I felt I got ripped off at dinner. Don't get me wrong, the place is nice, the rooms are nice. He asked us if we wanted to have dinner at the villa. All innocently: I was planning on cooking fish tonight, would you like to have dinner here, I will have fish, a bit of scallops and langoustines. We said why not. That place is a very family run kind of thing, you would think you are in your own home. So we had dinner, but when the bill came I was shocked. One fish 1kg, which is way too much for 2, some scallops, some grilled veggies, 2 glasses of wine. 110 euros per person!!!!! The food was good, but come one, 220 euros for a dinner. We are not at a 5 star restaurant in Paris or London.
Also, the room we booked was for 2-4 people, but max 2 (on booking .com) so he charges us for the 2 extra beds. Here again, I am sure that the room we got is made for 4 people (it was big enough as it had a large living room, and next to the beds he "added" 2 night stands, so you could tell the 2 extra beds are there always. Even on the pictures on booking.com, they are there. You also have to pay if you plan on using the kitchen in the room! Its a rip off, so don't stay there. Its all about making money and ripping foreigners off.
FYI: When i put my 1st review on trip advisor, I received a nasty email from him criticizing me and my family and that he will talk to his lawyer to penalize us next time we enter Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaVelikeStine, Owner at Villa Velike Stine, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Wholly untrue and completely misleading. The reviewer ( Dido2008 ) and her partner ( Ibrahim H ) is motivated by anger and disappointment because thy didnt read the booking confirmation, and they didnt check the pricelist at the table before ordering the diner.
They booked the room for two persons but they liked to stay in 4 persons for the price of two.

Also they orderd the diner for 4 persons and not for two like they said and the order was:
Hot starter scallops in champagne 6 pcs, kvarner scampi 1kg, daily catch wild fish sea bass on the grill with vegetables, home made ravioli and chocolate cake with gold leaves.For drinks two glases of quality regional wine and water. ( price was 214.58 € )

We are still astounded at what awaited us in the room after they left. And of course they didnt want to check out on time but at 11 37 and the breakfat they orderd when the time for breakfast was ended.

We would rather this review were removed. How anyone can express a view like this about Villa Velike Stine staying here only one night. Therefore it is with sadness and regret that we have to post this management response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The place is not bad, and the location is good with nice views. The accommodation is clean. The pool is quite small.
The owner is however is a real scammer and dishonest. It is the first time I decide to write a review just to warn people. He charged us 280Euros for a dinner for two, hiding the menu prices and telling us "we are coking tonight". If we could afford a 280Euros dinner for 2 we wouldn't be staying at this place and I m sure he is aware of that. Again he is a scammer and you better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaVelikeStine, Owner at Villa Velike Stine, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Wholly untrue and completely misleading. The reviewer ( Ibrahim H ) and his partner ( Dido2008 ) is motivated by anger and disappointment because thy didnt read the booking confirmation, and they didnt check the pricelist at the table before ordering the diner.
They booked the room for two persons but they liked to stay in 4 persons for the price of two.

Also they orderd the diner for 4 persons and not for two like they said and the order was:
Hot starter scallops in champagne 6 pcs, kvarner scampi 1kg, daily catch wild fish sea bass on the grill with vegetables, home made ravioli and chocolate cake with gold leaves.For drinks two glases of quality regional wine and water. ( price was 214.58 € )

We are still astounded at what awaited us in the room after they left. And of course they didnt want to check out on time but at 11 37 and the breakfat they orderd when the time for breakfast was ended.

We would rather this review were removed. How anyone can express a view like this about Villa Velike Stine staying here only one night. Therefore it is with sadness and regret that we have to post this management response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A lovely charming b&b run by Igor and his family. This truly family owned and operated hotel sports less then ten rooms, and has a nice private pool area.

The rooms are, although simple, very cozy and all have a nice balcony facing the pool.

The service and food are both top notch, with excellent breakfast and a daily dining menu. In my opinion the food is the very best you get in Medulin and is up there with high quality resturants.

The personal service is awesome (I celebrated my birthday there, and they made both my favorite dinner and my favorite cake).

The location is good, in a quiet back street, with a 20 minute walk to the beach.

The only thing that could make this place even better is a bit more transparency when it comes to the pricing in the resturant.

Overall I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet vacation with excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Velike Stine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Velike Stine

Address: Regi 44, Medulin 52203, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Medulin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Medulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Velike Stine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Velike Stine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.