We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smell of the truffles was intoxicating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vrh

Vrh
Buzet, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Buzet
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Croatian
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The smell of the truffles was intoxicating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The night we arrived, there was only one other table in service. We sat on the terrace, enjoyed an appetizer of sheep's cheeses and prosciutto, and ate pasta covered with truffles. It was a great meal, the waiter was the daughter of the owners and was very friendly, and the surroundings were beautiful.

It's a casual place, very comfortable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in the town of Vrh waiting for an evening truffle hunt excursion, and our tour guide recommended that we eat here. The restaurant was quaint and charming, with a large outdoor seating area where we sat, and the food was incredible. I had a goulash with gnocchi and my husband had a traditional Istrian dish called peka. The woman serving us was extremely nice and helpful. She let us kill a lot of time at the restaurant and was very informative regarding questions we had about the region. Both the atmosphere and food made this one of our favorite dining experiences in Istria.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service but please turn the music off...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stopped here for lunch when driving across Istria in the first week of September 2013.

The place is really nice. It looks better inside and certainly in the terrace area than from outside. We had-

Braised ox with potatoes plus glass of local red
Tagliatelle with truffles (2 of) plus classic local white
Steak with truffles and a green salad plus a glass of chilled beer

All the food was excellent. Well cooked, my rare steak was perfect and did not even need a steak knife to cut it!

The only downside was the local radio playing pop music. We asked for it to be turned off and it was so much better. Would have been 5/5 if it had been from the start. The place was beautiful, the sounds of nature were lovely.. did not need anything else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming little place in the Istrian hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Definitely recommend this place. We had stuffed fuži with truffles and they were great. The amount of truffles was very generous, which is not the case for most Istrian restaurants. The outdood terrace is very calm and relaxing. All in all a great stop if you are driving through Istria!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating, great service, tasty truffels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here in 2011 and loved the food and service so much that we decided to go back again this year. The reason for finding the service good was not only that it was friendly, but very helpful. We wanted to order a salad to our truffel dishes, but the waiter recommended not to do so as the flavour of the salad(dressing) ruins the lovely flavour of the truffels. He lost a sale then, but we came back and are sure to come back again when in Croatia.

This time the weather wasn't too good so we sat inside which was fine. However, the outdoor seating is great!! Enjoy! Do note, like a lot of other restaurants in this region, Vrh is closed Mondays.

By the way, Vrh means peak/summit in Croatian. It is a nice drive up there, especially on the small roads on the east side of the reservoir.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vrh also viewed

 

Been to Vrh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vrh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.