We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vela Vrata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vela Vrata to your Saves list
Hotel Vela Vrata
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Setaliste Vladimira Gortana 7, Buzet 52420, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Buzet B&B and Inns
Den Haag
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is really a very beautifull just renovated hotel in the old town of Buzet on the hill with stunning views. We got a very big appartment next to the hotel with our kids, it was very cozy and big, our kids could sleep on the bedsofa which was very comfortable as well. Swimmingpool and Spa are also worth visiting. The receptionist made sure that we got a parking spot when we arrived late, it was very busy but he made sure that we got a very good place. Next to that our compliments for the staff, we forgot our passports when checking out, we were already 1/2 hour away and they made sure that we got them back. We can really recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

we loved our staying in hotel vela vreta last week. we both or in styuling and antiques, and this was really a pleasure to see how wonderful everthing fits together in this hotel.
The restaurant was really good and the staff is super friendly !!!
we love to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryne, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ordered 2 nights with double bedrom, when we got there the hotel was overbooked so we got an apartment which was great. Hotel was opened in 2011 and everything seems to be well built, with nice decorations and quality. Good beds, breakfast was excellent, very helpful staf, by car you reach most of Istria within an houre drive. They have a very good resturant where I got the best beef in a long time. After 2 nights here we booked 2 more and would deffintly go back here if going to Istria, Crotia. Only thing I could would change was to turn up the heat in the swimming pool if it is for relaxing, for swimming the temperature is nice but a bit smal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel Vela Vrata was just perfect. Dejan, super nice receptionist/head waiter, checked us in and told us there was an indoor pool and spa. The room we stayed in was so comfortable and modern, the bathroom was clean and the shower was a nice change from all the bath like showers we've been using. My husband and I went down and found out that we actually get a key to the spa where we can enjoy the sauna and hot tub to ourselves. It was a nice treat to our long day coming from Plitvice Lakes. We didn't really have dinner plans so we asked Dejan what the best restaurant with truffles were and he introduces us to the owner of Natura Tartufi (makes truffle products) and he actually recommended the restaurant at Hotel Vela Vrata. We ended up eating at that restaurant, ordering the lamb chops and steak w/truffles. Delicious. We talked to Dejan about our plans for the next day and he ended up making appointments for us at Natura Tartufi to do truffle tasting, Ipsa Olive Oils to do olive oil tasting and later we did grappa tasting at Aura. We didn't realize how close the other hilltop towns were so we saw a lot our first day and because we liked Vela Vrata so much, we ended up staying one more night. The breakfast buffet was tasty and the staff were very nice. We enjoyed the pool as well which was on the 2nd floor, showers were similar to the ones in our room which were nice. I would highly recommend staying at Vela Vrata.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here during a cycling / hiking trip with an overnight in Buzet. The hotel exceeded our expectations - very modern style in a heritage building. Rooms were spotless, and quite spacious, and had a bath with shower over. Very quiet too. breakfast was included in our rate, and was good quality. Wonderful place, would recommend highly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the centre of the old town of Buzet (which is up a hill from the new town). Parking was outside the hotel. The upper town is very small and quiet. The hotel is very modern and new. The rooms are very nice.

We were disappointed however as we booked the hotel to eat at the hotel restaurant which was closed the night we stayed. Also the spa area was out of order and the shower in the pool wasn't working. We would not have expected that from a 4 star hotel.

The breakfast was very nice in the hotel restaurant. There is seating outside the hotel with a good view of the town.

Overall a lovely hotel but let down by the services not being available during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our home base for 3 wonderful days exploring the best of Istria. The hotel itself is very well appointed and the pool and spa provide very welcome relaxation. The restaurant offers highly interesting locally-sourced dishes (the wild asparagus ice cream is a must) prepared by a very proficient young chef. We greatly enjoyed the total experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vela Vrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Vrata

Address: Setaliste Vladimira Gortana 7, Buzet 52420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Buzet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buzet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vela Vrata 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vela Vrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vela Vrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.