We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71487 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Full Breakfest !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Arriving in Twentynine Palms we were not expecting much but what a surprise. The reception staff was very friendly and we even got a little welcome gift water and cookies.
The hotel is a bit older but in good shape and so was the room we got, clean, nice and comfortable. The Pool area is also a good place to relax after a day in the desert. But what really makes this hotel stand out is the full breakfast. We never saw a cleaner breakfast room and never had a better BW breakfast on this trip. You get offered a rich selection of fruits, coffee,bagels, eggs, bacon ... and more. The two girls running the breakfast room are very nice and attentive. You can also order waffles or a smoothie. If you are looking for a great place to stay near Joshua Tree NP or on a stop over in Twentynine Palms this is the place to choose.
So in relation to the place it's in this hotel is worth a 5 points rating for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    98
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
76
132
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Joe at the front desk was our first impression, and it was great. The room was much larger than we expected, and it was obviously recently remodeled. The check out person in themorning was very friendly, too. We would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The Happy Hour is really nice - great snacks and free wine.
Breakfast is standard, with plenty of options - though the coffee could be a lot stronger.
Bathrooms are clean and soaps, lotion, etc. are really nice.
Beds are really comfy - but could use some newer pillows.
Only 3 things that fell short: 1) Please shampoo/steam clean the carpets in the rooms - they are truly disgusting, 2) Air out the rooms - they smell really musty, and and 3) Put a security door that can only be opened with a room key on the doors to the back building.

With those few adjustments, this could be a great hotel. The people are really wonderful - which is a huge plus.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the main building or the building just to the right of it. Back building is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBowie29, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for noticing our customer service! We try very hard to provide excellent service, knowing that friendly and reliable service makes all guests feel at home. I am sorry that your carpet smelled musty. I wish that you would have informed the front desk of that issue so that we could have offered you a different room. Also, I hope that you can be patient with us while we install upgrades to the property. We are planning to lock the upstairs hallways, and will also add improved air conditioning units to those areas.

I encourage you to visit us again soon and check out our progress!
Sincerely,
Jim Bowie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very happy with this hotel. We stayed here for our visit to Joshua Tree National Park, about 5 miles away. On check-in, we were given cookies and a bottle of water and upgraded to a King room (thanks BW Rewards!). The front desk staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They also keep coffee available in the lobby all day The room was large and clean with a sofa, workspace area, big flat screen TV, fridge, MW, iron/board, and hairdryer. Nice toiletries and a pretty granite sink. We especially appreciated that the free breakfast opens at 5:30 am so we could get a quick bite to eat and still get to the park for the sunrise. The breakfast menu changes each day and offers eggs, sausage, croissants, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, cereals, oatmeal and fruit. There's also a pool and jacuzzi onsite. USA Today is available in the lobby. There was plenty of parking at the hotel. Just down the road is a shopping center with a Burger King and a Subway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sexsmith, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just chanced to stay here in Twentynine Palms on a Wednesday evening. From a friendly check-in to the exceptional guest appreciation reception in the evening (only on Wednesdays) our brief stay was wonderful. We enjoyed talking with the staff to learn more about the area. After hiking in the Joshua Tree National Park we were looking forward to a relaxing afternoon and evening. Our stay here was exactly that. We'd recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had basically a honeymoon suite with in-room jacuzzi large enough for two. We discovered that a single-person jetted tub actually does a better job of working out the kinks comfortably, but this was nice after a long day hiking in Joshua Tree National Park. It was a huge room, triple the size of an efficiency apartment I lived in for 5 years, but they could have decorated it more attractively. It didn't feel luxurious, somehow, despite the amenities, and I think a little color on the walls, even a single piece of artwork or a wall mural, and a throw pillow on the couch would have made a huge difference in the impact overall. There were plenty of cushy towels. The bed was very comfortable. We arrived too late to use the pool/spa. The staff kindly allowed us to use the laundry room beyond the normal hours (it is in a separate building next to the pool, so wasn't disturbing anyone), but then my husband found himself locked inside, as it had no interior door handle! He almost broke our rental car's key getting himself out of there. The front desk person assured him it would be fixed immediately, but we didn't go back to check and see whether that happened. The breakfast both mornings was extensive: juice, milk, smoothies made to order, tea, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins,oatmeal, cereal, cinnamon rolls (unfortunately not that great), English muffins, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, croissants, taquitos, French toast sticks one day and biscuits with sausage gravy the other. Nothing really stood out as restaurant quality, but it was far better than what any other hotel gave us in their "complimentary" breakfasts.

Room Tip: We had a king suite with a jacuzzi, desk and comfortable office chair, a sofa, flat-screen tv (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was chosen for the proximity to Joshua Tree National Park. Mildly eccentric check-in from Sue made us smile - and the room made us very happy, as we got an upgrade! There are several separate buildings, so it's not just one block, and they vary in appearance too which makes it more interesting than many places. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the breakfast was very good; a selection of cereals, breads, muffins, fruit, and hot items. They also make waffles and smoothies to order. The views of the sunrise from the breakfast room were an added bonus! Well worth staying here.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room and the one teensy drawback was the noise from people upstairs (possibly du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms - Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites
Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
2.2 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
18.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 71487 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel in Twentynine Palms, CA is conveniently located on Highway 62, minutes from the Twentynine Palms Marine Base and Joshua Tree National Park. Our Southern CA hotel offers complimentary amenities, including a hot breakfast buffet and wireless Internet, as well an outdoor pool overlooking the tranquil desert gardens. Whether you’re seeking a relaxing getaway or outdoor adventure at the Joshua Tree National Park, the Gardens Hotel is the perfect Mojave Desert escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Best Western Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.