We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Las Palmas Restaurant
73741 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
760-367-9099
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Mexican, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Pretty decent food, slow service, but overall a genuine locals- oriented Twentynine Palms experience. Met my craving for Mexican food, but not much else.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Large portions and a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Try their enchiladas with the green sauce. They are a large portion packed full of meat. Also the chicken salad is very good. Very friendly service, and a local favorate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good In a Pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good comfort Mexican food that comes in handy in a pinch. The owners are very nice and make the dining experience a positive one..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet at $12 a head?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This represented fantastic value for an immense range of good and genuine Mexican food, an "all you can eat" session for the post wedding brunch party of 24 people
The equally authentic looking guitarist I could have done without, His ability to tune his instrument, sing, stick to a rhythm, and know when to disappear left a lot to be desired...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not as great as touted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was recommended by locals, and given the southern California location one would expect exceptional Mexican food. It's fine, but it's not great. The margaritas were weak.
On one hand the staff seemed nice enough. On the other, at one point I was brought a second margarita that I did not order. I said I did not order it, but the server said I could have it because they had made it anyway. Then when I got the bill they had charged for it.
Easy mistakes to make, maybe, but given the average state of the food, it worked in to my rather average view of the place overall.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palmas Restaurant also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Been to Las Palmas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.