We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park to your Saves list
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Special
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We just stayed here for one night on our roadtrip to visit some friends and we had a great time. It seems like the place may have been an apartment complex in a former life but it has been decorated like an old gold mine. The decorations might be too cheesy for some but I thought it was cute and I'm sure kids will enjoy it. We booked a Junior Suite with a queen bed and the room was pretty much a small apartment with a full kitchen. We didn't do any cooking but I appreciated the plates and silverware in the room. The surrounding area isn't all that exciting but if you're coming here you're probably more interested in the desert than the town. A good place to sleep, no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are glad you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    80
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
54
89
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Sunnyvale makes a refreshing change from chain hotels. It's set in attractive gardens, the creation and maintenance of which must be quite an achievement in the desert. The units are clean and comfortable, with a 'rustic' and interesting sort of design. The welcome and service were warm and friendly. There was a good coin-operated laundry on-site, but we didn't try the other facilities on offer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are glad to provide you with the refreshing feeling outside a hotel chain. Our close proximity to the Joshua Tree National Park makes it ideal for guests like you to enjoy the national park and the comforts of our hotel. Your home away from home. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

we stayed here five nights while visting our son, who is in the Marines. The landscape was beautiful and the place was very well kept. We didn't have any problems with the neighbors or noise. The beds were very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv in the living room/kitchen area AND one in the bedroom. The bathroom was nice and had plenty of hot water. There is also a pool, game room and gym, but we weren't able to take advantage of them. We highly recommend this place, especially if you are staying for a week or more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
college park, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Rooms were well equipped and comfortable. Full kitchen, refrigerator, microwave etc. Quiet neighborhood Friendly staff. Great value. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

This is a unique and charming motel. The location was great for our visit to Joshua Tree National Park. The accomodations were very comfortable. The kitchen facilities were nice even though we didn't have a chance to use them. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful experience in staying here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We came to 29 Palms to visit our relatives. There is not enough room in the house so my uncle recommended Sunnyvale Garden Suites. I've always trusted my uncle and once again, he hit a homerun.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The bed is very comfortable and I slept like a baby. The room has a living room so you can relax and watch TV. It also has a kitchen so I was able to heat up aunt's turkey.

If you visit the hotel now, you will also be treated with a christmas light show that dances with the music. You don't even have to step out of your car just park, turn on your radio, tune in to 88.7 (if I remember correctly), and watch the show from your warm, heated car.

Sunnyvale Garden Suites is probably the most unusual hotel I've ever stayed in. The whole property is decorated and landscaped like an old western movie set. As a beginning photography hobbyist, it's great! There's an interesting photo subject in every square foot of this property. I was able to take lots of pictures and got plenty of practice.

As I was taking some pictures, Tony, the hotel manager saw me and we started talking about photography. As it turns out, Tony is also into photography. As a newbie, I learned a lot from Tony which greatly improved a lot of my shots.

I also found out from Tony that the hotel is very close to the Joshua Tree National Park. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to visit. I will definitely come back and take some photographs at Joshua Tree.

Aunt's cooking, Joshua Tree, and Sunnyvale Garden Suites; perfect recipe for a relaxing weekend getaway.

I would recommend this place to anyone especially those who are into photography. You will have plenty of photo opportunity during sunrise, sunset, daytime, and at night. You can then head to Joshua Tree National Park to take more pictures.

Look for Tony! Very nice guy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Wow! The pictures you took are great. They don't look like they were taken by a beginning photographer. You have a gift of looking at things that translates into great photographs. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your pictures. We hope you come back in spring to take pictures of Joshua Tree National Park, its flowering cacti and wild flowers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Sunnyvale. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accomidating. At check in, we received a tour of the grounds. A nest was even pointed out for our childrens enjoyment! Our suite had an ample supply of cookware and dishes. Even the beds were comfortable! The hotel provides seperate receptacles for recyclables and our room had low water use toilets!
We have a large family of 7 and have a cat. We found nothing else in the area that even compares to Sunnyvalle. Great environmentally friendly extended stay solution!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I will relay to the staff that they are doing a good job.

We are proud that we are helping save the environment. All of the rooms have the dual flush toilets. These toilets saves over 60% in water usage. I believe we are the only hotel in California if not in the US that has this type of toilet. Also, during our kitchen renovations, instead of replacing our cabinets, we decided to save them and just re-finish and install new doors to them. It is a more time consuming and more expensive process but it is helping in cutting more trees. We am glad that our guests are appreciating our efforts. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in TwentyNine Palms, CA, just minutes outside the main entrance to the world's largest military base, Twentynine Palms U.S. Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC). The MCAGCC marine base is only 4 ½ miles to the north. This makes it perfect for 29 Palms military lodging. The 29 Palms entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, one million acres of unspoiled Mojave Desert wilderness is located about three miles to the south. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is conveniently situated central to the 29 Palms shopping and dining. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel offers the only fully furnished hotel accommodations in Twentynine Palms, including all services and amenities one would expect at any fine hotel. Our junior, one and two bedroom suites are over-sized and roomy. They are beautifully decorated with an eclectic style of new and early 20th-century furnishings. Every spacious executive suite is fully equipped from A to Z: kitchens, high speed internet (wired and wireless), 24” or 27” TV and DVD players. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is the only “extended stay hotel” lodging in 29 Palms, however we welcome many overnight guests as well. Our large one and two bedroom suites are excellent for group meeting and gatherings. The extra comfort we offer will be very much appreciated after a long day of work, or a full day of hiking, rock climbing or just plain adventure in the Joshua Tree National Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyvale Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Sunnyvale Garden Twentynine Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.