We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortynine Palms Oasis Trail

Fortynine Palms Oasis Trail
74485 National Park Drive, Twentynine Palms, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved This Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hike a must do. We hiked with our two daughters who did a great job climbing but some find it strenuous.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Almost Made It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Moderate trail with steps and upgrade. Not enough tome to go all the way to oasis but view from high point one mile in is spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good chance to take short hike to oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hike's trailhead is easy to get to (from the North side of the Park) and the trail is not overly strenuous. Probably even do-able for an interested 8 or 9 year old.The way in to the oasis is on a classic desert trail that is uphill for the first half and down hill for the second half which divides the "pain" (and reverse for the return). Fun to see from the ridge, approach, and get to an actual oasis. The down-side is that the oasis is basically "protected" and only really approached at 2 small sections n the edge.
If you have enough time and energy, take the Lost Palms Oasis hike instead that is also in Joshua Tree Park. Altho it is longer and there is a some scrambling down to get to it (and back up), it offers a generally gentle scenic trail and some exploring in the more extensive oasis territory.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our favorite thing at Joshua Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Fourtynine Palms Oasis trail the oasis was definitely the #1 highlight of our Joshua Tree National Park trip.

The hike is moderate and although only 3 miles roundtrip, be very careful on when you go. We started at 9am in July, and there were about 4 other cars in the parking lot. The others who were hiking this trail must have known to start early, and no one started after us. Although we were fine and were carrying enough water, the trail has no shade until you get to the oasis, so be prepared for that.

The end point is a magnificent oasis, like nothing I've seen before in a place surrounded by desert.

My wife and I took 2 nalgenes and 1 other water bottle and were happy for the water! Start early or closer to sunset to avoid the hottest parts of the day!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very easy to follow trail and not too strenuous. Was very hot and glad we had plenty of water and I had a large sunhat. Just as we arrived at the palms a coyote was standing on a rock just watching us as we approached then he walked away. It was amazing to see wildlife so close. We didn't see anyone on the trail, it was so peaceful. The shade of the trees was very much appreciated.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortynine Palms Oasis Trail also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Been to Fortynine Palms Oasis Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortynine Palms Oasis Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fortynine Palms Oasis Trail to your Saves list